We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Boathouse” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boat House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 18 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Boathouse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Anne made us most welcome and the Boathouse was a fabulous place to stay. It is central and Anne has lots of information about great places to eat and thigs to do. We did the Figure of 8 walk and loved it. Would have happily stayed another night if they had space. The breakfasts overspilled the table and the rooms were very stylishly decorated and accessorised. Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5CPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
110
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We decided to spend and impromptu night away whilst out on a day trip and found The Boathouse in a moment of serendipity. It's not only books that shouldn't be judged by their cover. The unassuming facade of The Boathouse does not do justice to the cosy, beautifully furnished interior. We were warmly welcomed by the owner Anne who showed us to our room and offered advice on where to eat that evening. The decor of our room was clean and modern and furnished to a high standard whilst retaining some of its origional charming features. There were plenty of complimentary refreshments in the room including tea, hot chocolate, instant coffee as well as ground coffee complete with cafetiere. The super king sized bed was very comfortable and the ensuite bathroom a pleasure to shower in. There was plenty of choice on the breakfast menu which catered for all tastes. At £70 for the night, it represented good value for money and we would highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: Choose the Towy room if given an option but all rooms looked lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cherie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Anne is a thoroughly professional host. Well appointed rooms. Fabulous breakfasts. Definitely worth another visit. Laugharne itself is an unusual and moving little town - and absolute must for Dylan Thomas enthusiasts. Visit the Tin Sheds museum for a fascinating glimpse into all sorts of war time paraphanalia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Anne runs a tight ship here. Rooms are very high standard and everything is A1. Breakfast is great and sets you up just right. If only all the places I stay at were this good. B&B is a bit of a pandoras box. Laugharne is fantastic greta walks.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
254 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 627 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have long had a passion for Wales, its mystery, its history, and its people. Visiting Wales is visiting the heart of a poem. The land, the sea, the stories, the myths, and the wonderful people all make up one of the loveliest places on our planet.

If you are going and want to enjoy true Welsh hospitality (and the Welsh have been welcoming visitors into their homes for a long time), do stay at Anne's lovely bed and breakfast The Boat House.

You can see Laugharne Castle from the house and stroll by the sea. Relax on the sofa and watch some television (flat screen!). Pluck a book out of the book case and read . Watch sea birds. This is a place that restores the calm and balance we all need in our lives.

Anne offers warmth and hospitality and plenty of good things to eat. You will have coffee, tea, and homemade biscuits as soon as you arrive. Your room will be beautifully decorated and in fact, the whole cozy home is decorated in neutral , relaxing colors with some colorful local art.

After a restful night's sleep in a comfortable bed, wake up to Anne's huge array of breakfast goodies. Vegetarians will be glad to know that you can gorge on big delicious homebaked fresh muffins and scones and fruit trifle and need touch no meat at all in order to get stuffed! Coffee and tea are available.

What kind of bed and breakfast is this? One where you will want Anne for your auntie and to move in and live with her permanently! You will feel very much welcomed and at home.

Room Tip: Any room is wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terril435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This B&B looks very unassuming from the outside but don't be fooled! The rooms are amazing, we had a twin room and it was huge with bottles of water, biscuits and a range of tea and coffee thoughtfully left. Bathroom was spacious and clean and the landlady Anne is very friendly and even lent us a camping chair and blanket as we were lucky enough to be there on the same evening that a production of Much Ado about Nothing was being held in Laugharne Castle.

The breakfast was simply to die for. Literally the best I have eaten anywhere in the world. There was a large choice from fried full English to Kippers. There were freshly baked scones made that morning fresh and a sumptuous fruit trifle. I couldn't eat for days and will definitely stay longer next year just to sample some of the other choices!

Laugharne is a beautiful part of Wales and not to be missed and you would be a fool not to stay in this delightful establishment!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonEnglandHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

This place is set in the most beautiful place of Laugharne which restores peace to the soul. No wonder Dylan Thomas found it a great place to write his poetry. The B&B is run by a lovely lady. Our room was amazing and huge! Everything was of the best quality and we were made very welcome. The breakfast was the best I've ever had in a hotel. Very definite recommendation.

Room Tip: Towy room is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank menopaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
4.5 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
4.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
12.7 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#2 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Keepers Cottage
Keepers Cottage
#3 of 18 in Laugharne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.2 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#10 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boat House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boat House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Gosport Street, Laugharne SA33 4SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Boat House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Boat House Bed And Breakfast
The Boat House Hotel Laugharne
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing