We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and the best place in Wales”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laugharne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cors Country House
Ranked #6 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Food superb, as always, with the perfect blend of infomality and great service. My favourite place to enjoy superb food and Nick and his team's hospitality.

Hidden away in a 'secret valley' in the centre of Laugharne; this is the best place to explore the castle, Dylan Thomas' house and his boat shed. Set in wonderful grounds, this is a weekend, night away, or a meal you will treasure.

But if you're looking for stuffy, formal settings, and 'hotel' themed rooms, then don't stay and ruin it for those of us who love the quirky, superb originality of the Cors.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank W L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 94 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nick you are a one off and your team compliment you superbly, we had an evening to remember during a recent visit, your place is divine, your food exquisite and your hospitality heart warming. Far from the ordinary but chic in it's own way the atmosphere generates a welcome that you simply do not want to leave. We would drive the 240 miles between us without a thought just to savour the delights on offer. Keep it going this is too good to be without :) We really hope to visit again soon as we can.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GazzVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We found this gem through Alastair Sawday's 'Special Places to Stay', and that's exactly what it is. Hidden away in a wooded valley, the house is Georgian, utterly charming in a 'Last Days of the Raj' sort of way, full of an eclectic mix of antiques, contemporary art and kitsch. It's right in the heart of touristy Laugharne, former home of Dylan Thomas, yet wonderfully secluded. The highlight is the stunning garden, which owner Nick Priestland has created out of a waterlogged site - 'The Cors' means 'The Bog' - and turned into a lush, green paradise, with enormous gunneras, ferns and palms punctuated by winding paths, water features, bridges and sculptures. Even on a wet day it invites exploration. The rooms are very simply furnished - perhaps too simply for some people's taste, and if you need a plethora of lighting options, sockets and entertainment facilities, The Cors is probably not for you. But our shower room was modern and luxurious, the water hot, the room warm on a dreary evening and the bed comfortable - we loved it. A vase of fresh white roses on the windowsill was the perfect finishing touch. It's a restaurant with rooms and Nick is the chef - see separate review - but he took time to greet us late afternoon with a pot of tea in the bar - much appreciated - although tea-making facilities in our room is perhaps the only mod con that we would have liked to see. We were touring South Wales and stayed in five different places, two much cheaper than The Corrs, and two considerably more expensive - this was by far our favourite. Would love to visit again and would certainly recommend it to anyone in search of a romantic retreat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

absolutely loved our stay this weekend, all thanks to tripadvisor reviews. the best food we have had in ages, the most charming host, all in a wonderful setting. fortunately we dont live too far away, so we will return :) hopefully soon

Room Tip: only 3 rooms, so if you are planning to have a meal & stay, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsDWestWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Beautiful garden. Beautiful house. Nick isn't but Sarah makes up for that. Oh and Nick's cooking is sublime. We will stay overnight next time as The Cors is a very special treat - and the wine list is very tempting

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David64213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Miss Marple/Cluedo surroundings, absolutely superb food, probably the best i've ever eaten we all loved this place and can't wait to visit again :) I had the Smoked Haddock Creme Brûlée as a starter and the Beef as a main and both were simply superb, only open three evening a week so make sure you plan ahead and make a booking !!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brynheulwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Always a treat to visit The Cors which we try to do in summer as the garden is just so beautiful - one of those that looks as if it just grows, and yet you know perfectly well that loads of time have been devoted to it. The food is divine - at least I assume it would be as I always plump for the lamb which is just about the best I've ever tasted - although it is £22 now and used to be £18!!! Flipping inflation. I had a sherry, actually two, which is just poured into a glass, no nasty little measures and mini schooners. The coffee is amazing value - £1.50 for a big cafetierre and strong with it. As others say, it is quite expensive but no more than you would pay for a decent meal anywhere and the surroundings, welcome, garden, etc, etc, make it more than reasonable. We'll certainly be back whether they want us or not.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Landsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Laugharne hotels
0.2 mi away
The Boat House Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
385 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#3 of 15 in Laugharne
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Broadway Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Keepers Cottage
Keepers Cottage
#4 of 15 in Laugharne
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#13 of 15 in Laugharne
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cors Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cors Country House

Address: Newbridge Road | Laugharne, Laugharne SA33 4SH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation (Licensed) with 3 letting rooms in village location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Smart casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cors Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Laugharne
The Cors Restaurant And Rooms
The Cors Country House Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing