We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love this place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laugharne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cors Restaurant & Rooms
Ranked #5 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Wales, Uk
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just love this place”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Always a treat to visit The Cors which we try to do in summer as the garden is just so beautiful - one of those that looks as if it just grows, and yet you know perfectly well that loads of time have been devoted to it. The food is divine - at least I assume it would be as I always plump for the lamb which is just about the best I've ever tasted - although it is £22 now and used to be £18!!! Flipping inflation. I had a sherry, actually two, which is just poured into a glass, no nasty little measures and mini schooners. The coffee is amazing value - £1.50 for a big cafetierre and strong with it. As others say, it is quite expensive but no more than you would pay for a decent meal anywhere and the surroundings, welcome, garden, etc, etc, make it more than reasonable. We'll certainly be back whether they want us or not.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Landsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
57
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We keep going to this amazing restaurant and have also stayed overnight. We have never had a bad experience. It has always been brilliant service, excellent food, great atmosphere and beautiful garden! We warmly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daffodil542
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went 27th June 13. Beautiful gardens, attractive building, nice chap who runs it. Michelin prices, great reviews. All seemed to bode well. However, the food was extremely average. When you pay £25 or more for main courses you expect it to be good. Presentation was dreadful, content was awful, taste was, at best mediocre. Reading the menus, it sounded exquisite but what you got - honestly - you could have done better yourself. A beautiful sounding £25 steak dish was tacky skewers. The meringues for dessert were bought. The taste was at best ok. We went to an Italian cafe in the main square a few nights before and, whilst setting was not so good, food was much better. Don't be lured to Cors by glossy menus and lovely gardens: if you like good food you will be very disappointed. This is my first review ever, prompted by Cors!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gareth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nickpriestland, Owner at The Cors Restaurant & Rooms, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Have you lost your mind?

I note this is your first review, so if I were you I wouldn't give up the day job.
Firstly, you need to get your facts straight, the fillet of beef was exactly that, pan fried with green pepper corns and cost £25, the brochette (skewers to you) was also made from beef fillet but cost £18.50.

Secondly you seem to be in the minority with your opinions and if you think the food was better elsewhere it sums up your taste or lack of it.

Please feel free to give us a call if you would like to discuss.

Many thanks,
Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Superb evening meal set within an amazing "arty" décor. Service was laid back and in keeping with the whole setting. Took us a little while to identify the building as no sign on the front wall - only recognised it from the photos on the web of the garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

During our visit to Laugharne, we had the pleasure of having dinner at The Cors Restaurant. Our friends had booked the table weeks in advance (suggested) and the four of us enjoyed a delightful culinary experience ... from starters to dessert. I recommend the Welsh Lamb.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oilman1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Hospitality....Fab
Accomodation....Fab
Food...Fab
Gardens...Fab
Location...Fab

Weather... : (

All in all....I liked it!

The endorsement so eloquently expressed by Estellewales sums up my, and my partners, feelings for the place. An absolute gem to which we will be returning..Had doubts about extolling its virtues in case I can't get booked in once its discovery is more public!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had the good fortune to choose The Cors Restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary on Saturday June 1st. From the moment we entered the driveway which leads to the house we knew we had discovered a little gem.
The gardens are so welcoming and radiate tranquillity, a place to relax and enjoy life.
The Victorian house just oozes character and it doesn’t stop there. When entering we were warmly greeted and shown to the bar area where we indulged in a pre- dinner drink.
We were then asked if we would like to choose our table and were given plenty of time to select from the exceptionally well balanced menu. You don’t have to wade through oodles of starters and mains in what is a very select menu. A lot of time and thought has been given to the menu and the prices are excellent.
The dining room has a quirky romantic atmosphere and this is mainly due to the marrying of old and new resulting in a perfect and unique blend.
The food is exquisite and the presentation is perfect. It is simple and elegant. Now we come on to the owner and staff without whom this place would be lost. It is Nick’s charm and personality and enthusiasm for everything, washes over and infects you. His artistic prowess is evident in the garden, the décor and in the menu.
This is all complimented by Adam, Nick’s brother whose smile lights up the room. He is so gracious and eager to ensure you have a memorable evening.(which we did). Nick’s extended family who help him in the restaurant are gold plated assets and make The Cors magical.
As Arnie would say not “I’ll be back” but “We’ll be back”.
The Cors Am Byth and for those who don’t speak Welsh The Cors For Ever.
By the way we are from Swansea

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank estellewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
12.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,192 reviews
3.6 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
4.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Brown's
The Brown's
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
368 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Laugharne
696 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#7 of 15 in Laugharne
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cors Restaurant & Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cors Restaurant & Rooms

Property: The Cors Restaurant & Rooms
Address: Newbridge Road | Laugharne, Laugharne SA334SH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation (Licensed) with 3 letting rooms in village location. With car parking. Smoking in designated areas. Smart casual dress for meals. Vegetarians, Special Diets, Organic Products catered for. Eating outside is possible. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Cors Restaurant & Rooms Hotel Laugharne
The Cors Restaurant And Rooms
The Cors Restaurant & Rooms Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing