We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brown's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Brown's
Ranked #2 of 18 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Arrived at Browns on Saturday afternoon. We were pleasantly surprised by our room which had a unique and quirky feel to it. It was on the first floor at the rear and was perfect. The bar and front room are very welcoming and its nice to see locals using the bar aswell as residents.

We enjoyed Laugharne and Dylan Thomas' Boathouse. We will return to Laugharne in the summer and again stay at Browns. The pub next door, The Three Mariners is where guests at Browns take breakfast which was very adequate. Laugharne has some nice gift shops and craft shops and is a charming village.

One night wasn't enough

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear and was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keen-holidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Looking forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    102
    40
    19
    7
See reviews for
26
235
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed at Browns last Friday night as a romantic getaway! It was absolutely wonderful. The hotel has so much history and is so cosy with leather sofa's, exposed beams and a log burner. There isn't a restaurant but we had some lovely food there which we ate at the bar. Breakfast is served at The Three Mariners which is next door and was great.
The bedrooms are absolutely superb. So relaxing with gorgeous beds and a fabulous rolltop bath, beautiful furniture and soft furnishings and a flat screen TV on the wall.
We had a lovely walk around Laugharne the next day!
Cannot say enough about this place and the Manager and staff.
See you soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
And you perhaps, are our new favourite guests! Thanks for a great review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trecynon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for one night (November 2nd) our room was Llareggub and a few other people have left reviews on this room. Very comfortable bed, very well appointed! Loved the ambience of the whole place. As per the title, if your looking for a place to escape normality you couldn't do much better than this! One or two minor gripes but this doesn't detract from my opinion of what is an excellent example of a boutique hotel. The gripes being the bath looks lovely and whilst it suited my partner perfectly, I found it somewhat more cumbersome! Also, I had read on the website of iPod docking stations being part of the room furnishings but there wasn't one present in our room. As I said though it's just me being picky! Breakfast was a short stroll in the sister pub over the road and was very tasty! I would and will definitely stay here again! Thank you for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: Llareggub was our room, very nice as I'm sure all the rest would be!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a super over night stay at Browns in Laugharne. The room was comfortable and classically designed. A lovely roll topped bath contributed to a relaxing time.
All areas were clean and tidy. Quality coffee, tea, hot chocolate and homemade biscuits in the room.
Welcoming people and the memorabilia of the great Dylan Thomas enhances the visit. Trully a great escape. Ample breakfast with excellent selection.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisagbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
We love reviews like this. Thanks and hurry back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel looks amazing but unfortunately doesn't function quite so well.

The rooms are luxurious with an enormous roll top bath, a range of lighting, wonderful design and lots of space. The first impressions were amazing and the room was great for spending time in. The food, served next door in the pub, was great too.

Unfortunately the bed was rock hard, probably the worse I've ever had in a hotel and the pillows were incredibly lumpy. I'd prefer a hotel where the sleep quality rather than room quality came first if I'm honest.

Room Tip: Try not to be above the bar on a weekend night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Serbask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Hi Serbask,

Thanks for your review. I have to say, we've never had a complaint about our beds before! Recent reviewers even went as far to say, '...big comfy bed...', 'Bed=supremely comfortable,' and '...superb great 'comfy' bed.' All our mattresses are of the same quality and seriously top of the range, but not everyone's taste is the same I guess!

Best wishes,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is our second visit. It would have a five star review but for the fact that this place has no restaurabnt - and there is very little choice nearby, apart from the excellent, but quite pricey, Cors restaurant. There is nothing at all in the mid-range. On both our visits, breakfasts were poor to bad. The Muesli was dull. The "homemade" maramlade and jams must have been made in a home that had an extraordinary skill in imitating cheap catering stuff (they coulddn't, by any chance, be REAL cheap catering stuff could they?). I had 2 cooked breakfasts which were fine and 2 which were dreadfull.

Room Tip: The Browns rooms are better than The New Three Marriners
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGraley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi MGraley,

Thanks for your review. Whilst we don't have a restuarant per se, we do serve homecooked pies (steak & ale, lamb & mint, chicken & mushroom; bacon, laver bread & cockles and cheese & onion), soups and puddings in our bar which are proving extremely popular (and all for under a tenner), and our sister pub, The New Three Mariners next door, serves pizzas and pasta. In terms of breakfast we have had inconsistencies but are working to resolve the issues. Maybe we'll get a 5* review next time!

Very best wishes,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

What an amazing place, full of Welsh history. Even though I'm Welsh I had never visited Laugharne so was very excited at the prospect of staying in the hotel where Dylan Thomas used to drink. The room we stayed in Llareggub, (bugger all backwards) was lovely, it was situated on the first floor. The bed had loads of pillows on which is what I love, good quality heating and adjustable heating in the room for which the receptionist showed us how to operate when showing us to our room. FREE wi-fi which is always an added bonus. We went out for dinner in the evening to the hotel's sister pub, not before having a tipple in the bar, I had their local cream whisky MERLYN with ice, and my boyfriend had their own real ale, which he said was perfect!

The bathroom was lovely and clean, good quality towels, if I had to fault the bathroom, it would the small leak under the toilet which I informed the receptionist the following morning and said she would investigate.

The breakfast was served at the local pub which I loved as there was either a choice of a traditional Welsh breakfast or your traditional english as well as eggs florentine on Laugharne bread.

We then went for a long walk around the town visiting Dylan Thomas's boat house, the cemetary and the harbour.

All in all a lovely weekend, I would certainly recommend Laugharne and Brown's Hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest if you are a light sleeper to ask for a room at the back of the hotel due to the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahburridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon T, Manager at The Brown's, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi Sarah, thanks so much for your review. You're welcome back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
13.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
4.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.5 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.0 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#10 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown's

Property: The Brown's
Address: King Street, Laugharne SA33 4RY, Wales (Formerly Browns Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown's 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brown's will forever be associated with Dylan Thomas. It was his favourite 'watering hole' and he gathered most of the material for his iconic play, Under Milk Wood, from the stories he heard in the bar. In 2012 the hotel underwent a complete refurbishment and offers 13 luxurious rooms with organic Welsh mattresses, en-suite bathrooms and LCD HD TVs. As well as the fully restored bar there is a reading room, conference room and a free car-park to the rear. The bar stocks drinks from the Penderyn Distillery range as well as Welsh real ale and there are tasty bar meals on offer. We have live music on Sunday afternoons and regular evening events. The Grade 2 listed 'bar with rooms', which was built in 1752, stands on Laugharne's King St, a short distance from the castle, estuary, gifts shops and cafes, the quirky Tin Shed military museum and the Dylan Thomas Boathouse - the poet's, 'sea-shaken house on a breakneck of rocks', where he lived for the last four years of his tragically short life. It is now a museum and tea room and is open all year round. Laugharne is not just for literary types - it sits on the Wales Coastal Path and there are several walks in the area from where you can view the herons and egrets down on the timeless estuary. We'll leave the last word on Laugharne to Dylan: '... a mild beguiling island of a town... there is nowhere like it anywhere at all.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your The Brown's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brown's Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing