We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ambition fulfilled”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brown's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Brown's
Ranked #2 of 18 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An ambition fulfilled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I've been promising myself a trip to Brown's Hotel for the last three years simply for its Dylan Thomas connections. Last year it was closed for refurbishment so it was top of the places to visit for this year. We popped in tonight for two pints and a couple of glasses of wine. The refurbishment is tasteful blending old and new in the bar and lounge. I took the Brown's Hotel themed brew although I noticed there was also Old Speckled Hen on draught. Harvey was allowed in the bar and was kindly offered a bowl of water. Instead he had a pleasant sleep under the table.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    105
    41
    19
    8
See reviews for
28
240
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just returned from a night's stay at Brown's Hotel. From the moment we walked in the staff were very attentive. Very friendly receptionist and the guy in the bar (Sam?) couldn't do enough to help. Ordered bar meals that were gorgeous. The room was fantastic with beautiful, high quality furnishings. We will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazza0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just returned from two nights in Browns Hotel, the room size and the quality were excellent, the bar and the small lounge were also very welcoming. There was plenty of car parking and the breakfast choice and the quality was suburb.
By far the best thing about staying in Browns was the staff, from the moment we checked in to the moment we left they couldn’t have been more helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneHowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potsdam, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We first tried to book with them - they were full and offered a stay with the Three Mariners next door. Well the room over a Pub-Night was not our thing and luckily the next night they were able to offer us a room here! Really beautifully redone rooms with a lovely modern and at the same time retro touch. We had a nice day and relaxing night... Breakfast is offered in the Pub next door and although it was okay they could work on updating that bit as well to come to the same level as the rooms are already. But the staff is throughout friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: If you can effort it go for a bigger room they are just grand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

First of all...WOW!! We were very lucky to have stayed here for a 'minimoon' after our wedding. We got married on Easter Sunday and drove up to Browns the day after. After such a busy few weeks, Browns was the perfect place to relax and enjoy married life together. The room was outstanding, clean, modern, retro touches with a beautiful bathroom. It was maintained well with supplies of tea/coffee/welshcakes and fresh towels. Breakfast is served next door, which doesnt proove a problem. We stayed at the same time as Laugharne festival so the staff were extremely busy but we found no problems with waiting times or food availability. Browns does offer light bar meals which was perfect after the long drive- we had the Antipasti and veg sausages- Beautiful! To experience the most succlent steak, do book a table at 'The Cors'- outstanding food!
We will definately return to this bespoke b&B in a beautiful area. Charlie was a lovely host and very polite. I would like to thank the two Natalie's also, great ladies and always around for a chat!! We have already recommeded to friends who will be booking soon. Thanks, Natalie & Ben

Room Tip: Ask for the top suite- Talgarth!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissT87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Booking into Browns Hotel was a last minute plan. I had not been very well and other stresses had taken over so we decided that one night away from it all was what was needed.

We booked a basic double room but were delighted when the friendly lady on reception told us that we had received an upgrade to The Strand Suite! We were offered help with our bags which we didn't need and were shown to our suite without delay.

The room was spacious and decorated in the style of how it would have been when Dylan Thomas was a regular visitor yet with modern touches of luxury and also of technology. Our view from the window was onto the front of the hotel through a large bay window. Downstairs there was the quietness of the Reading Room and the friendly ambiance of the Bar where one could order drinks and bar snacks.

Breakfast the following morning was served next door at Brown's sister hotel 'The New Three Mariners'. While the choice on the menu appeared to be quite extensive, I overheard the waitress telling some other guests that the smoked salmon was not available and as this was a component of many of the dishes, it did restrict the choice.
My partner had the full Welsh Breakfast which was a little disappointing as it did not contain any cockles or laverbread as one might expect. The quantities were also small with just a half a mushroom, half a tomato and half a slice of black pudding and none of the sauted potatoes as described on the menu. Service was quite slow but the food was fairly good once it was received.

Laugharne is a lovely place to visit and my partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our night at Browns. Our only regret was that it was just for one night!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie_and_Andrew2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Myself and partner stayed in Browns on 22nd April 2013 in one of their suites which is situated in the attic. We were visiting friends in the area so decided that we would try this renound hotel. I must say a big thankyou to Natalie who was extremely welcoming on arrival. We were shown to the room and was very impressed with the way in which it has been designed. We decided to have a drink in the bar before going out and was greeted again by Natalie. Again she was very friendly and was happy to tell us about the hotel and the surrounding area. She even arranged for food to be taken to our room for when we returned. A very big thankyou to her for making our stay a true delight. The bed was very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep. We were not disturbed by any noise from inside the hotel or outside the hotel. Breakfast was good even though we had to go next door for it! but this is not a critisism. We will definately go back soon and will look forward to the same service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
0.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
12.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.4 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#1 of 18 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown's

Property: The Brown's
Address: King Street, Laugharne SA33 4RY, Wales (Formerly Browns Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown's 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brown's will forever be associated with Dylan Thomas. It was his favourite 'watering hole' and he gathered most of the material for his iconic play, Under Milk Wood, from the stories he heard in the bar. In 2012 the hotel underwent a complete refurbishment and offers 13 luxurious rooms with organic Welsh mattresses, en-suite bathrooms and LCD HD TVs. As well as the fully restored bar there is a reading room, conference room and a free car-park to the rear. The bar stocks drinks from the Penderyn Distillery range as well as Welsh real ale and there are tasty bar meals on offer. We have live music on Sunday afternoons and regular evening events. The Grade 2 listed 'bar with rooms', which was built in 1752, stands on Laugharne's King St, a short distance from the castle, estuary, gifts shops and cafes, the quirky Tin Shed military museum and the Dylan Thomas Boathouse - the poet's, 'sea-shaken house on a breakneck of rocks', where he lived for the last four years of his tragically short life. It is now a museum and tea room and is open all year round. Laugharne is not just for literary types - it sits on the Wales Coastal Path and there are several walks in the area from where you can view the herons and egrets down on the timeless estuary. We'll leave the last word on Laugharne to Dylan: '... a mild beguiling island of a town... there is nowhere like it anywhere at all.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your The Brown's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brown's Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing