We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So welcoming and clean!”
Review of The Brown's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Brown's
Ranked #2 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So welcoming and clean!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a magical couple of nights in Browns. We wanted to spend a few days touring West Wales and stayed in three places in all. Browns was by far the best.
Only a short walk from the famous boat house and estuary.
We arrived to such a smiley homely welcome from the manager and staff and were immediately shown to our room. The room was so lovely with clean crisp sheets and such a comfy bed.
Delicious bar snacks/tapas and breakfast is a couple of doors away where we were treated to delicious cooked and cold foods.
This is my first review and glad that I can offer such positive memories as I know how important trip advisor is to small businesses.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 585ZoeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    106
    41
    19
    8
See reviews for
29
242
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I've just returned from my third stay at Browns in Laugharne and it just gets better!! This is fast becoming my favourite weekend getaway! It has just the right mix of style and homeliness. It is luxurious but not fussy.

Essentially the Browns is a glorified B&B as it does not have a restaurant so you have your breakfast in the pub next door - The Mariners - for us this is part of the fun! The management have really made the best of the lack of restaurant and are offering simple yet hearty bar snacks - these are yummy! I had the fishcakes with sweet chilli sauce and my partner had the glamorgan sausages (all homemade) We also ordered the antipasto to share but we needn't have as they really were very filling! Since our last visit there are a few more places to eat in Laugharne, a new Tex Mex and another restaurant has re-opened after being closed for winter. The pub next door do Pizza's and there's a chip shop. If you're looking for something a bit special I'd recommend The Cors Restaurant - what a treat! I can't even think of anywhere this good for food in Cardiff!!

Browns is definitely one of the coolest hotels i have ever stayed in - it has a laid back and relaxed feel - just what we are looking for from an escape-to-the-country weekend break from our busy city lives.

My favourite bits

- The baths! they are huge! I felt like a mermaid bobbing about in that thing!!
- The decor, i love the 50s vintage style.
- The staff - Friendly, attentive and approachable. They remembered us from our last stay and couldn't have done more to make us feel Browns was a home from home. Thank you guys!
- The charming and rather eccentric town of Laugharne the hotel is situated in.
- The history and character of the place (and locals that drink in the bar).
- The iPod/iphone dock in the bedrooms.
- The hdmi connection to the tv so i can watch films from my computer.

For such a young hotel (only 9 months since it opened) we think it is just fabulous! Browns, Thank you! we will be back!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are the noisiest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 248NancyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Thanks again to all at Browns Hotel for "another" great weekend!

We stayed in another of the grand rooms which was as beautiful as the last!

I cannot praise the staff highly enough with their warm welcome and attentive service throughout our stay. We came to relax and that is exactly what we did! The bar menu was perfect for what we wanted particularly after a wonderful hearty breakfast.

Thank you and will be back again during the summer - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayMan429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just spent two nights of the first bank holiday of the year here and I wish we hadn't bothered.whilst the room was lovely albeit small and the bathroom very smart - there was nowhere to hang a hand towel and the walls are so thin I could hear the person in the adjoining room snoring & we could hear their conversations!!
The hotel doesn't actually have a restaurant you are sent over the rd to their sister business if you wish to eat( they only served mediocre pizzas) you also have to go over the road for breakfast,it took 15 mins to get someone's attention just for coffee, half the items were missing from the welsh full breakfast when we finally got it( it took an hour to come) and the ladies toilets were less than clean.
Considering the Boutique hotel style room and the price we paid ( £220) for a double room for 2 nights I really would expect a lot better. I would like to have spoken to the management about my thoughts before we left BUT after standing at reception for at least 5 minutes whilst no one came I left my key and came away.
We wanted to stay in Laugharn for another night as we loved the town itself- so we booked into a lovely B&B in the town.. Shame on you Browns!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caro19671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have just returned from Browns in Laugharne and really enjoyed the stay there. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and charm which hasn't had it taken away by its complete refurbishment that took place last year. Of course it relies heavily on Dylan Thomas who spent a lot of his time there in the hotel, pub and village. The boutique bedroom Corran was lovely and atmospheric as well, good quality, beverages available and four miniature Welsh cakes. Had read previously about slamming doors well that has been sorted as all doors have had closures fitted, however, the green light in the ceiling hasn't but it didn't cause us any problems. Breakfast is served in the pub across the road which in itself was charming. Sadly the wait for breakfast was just too long, one waitress on her own just couldn't cope. Saturday we thought would have improved as there was two waitress's but the wait was longer and sadly my breakfast was near to cold on arrival and only mine was served waiting again for for my husbands. Waiting to be served in the bar on Saturday evening again was just too long. The hotel was no better, the lady behind the bar just kept disappearing, people came in and waited by the bar and got fed up and left in both hotel and pub. Selection for breakfast was good with regards to cooked items but poor on cold items, no fresh fruit offered in any shape or form.

Would i stay there again...Maybe, but its very high priced and the little extras that you expect to be there were there on arrival but were not replenished ie the little welsh cakes even the tea. All of this may be because its the start of the season, I don't know but it does need to rethink its staffing levels. Other than that its a great place.

Room Tip: Corran is a lovely room but beware if your above 5'3" as you could hit your head on the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanbedr, Powys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A couple of nights total relaxation in Browns is to be recommended as a cure for stress. The decor is excellent, the staff likewise and the whole place exudes a calmness, which will help you wind down. Bar snacks are reasonably priced and are tasty and good value. Pity you have to go across the road for breakfast to the New Mariners, but once there the food is good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently went to stay at Browns Hotel to celebrate a birthday. The rooms were amazing, and we received a warm welcome upon arrival.

The hotel organized Champagne for our room, as one of the guests was having a celebration. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough! There is a great atmosphere and fantastic bar/lounge to enjoy a glass of wine.

The setting itself is also brilliant, Laugharne is a lovely weekend break, with some fantastic walks along the river and around the castle.

Overall rating 10/10 :o)

Sarah, Cardiff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
4.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
12.8 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
1.4 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Laugharne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown's

Property: The Brown's
Address: King Street, Laugharne SA33 4RY, Wales (Formerly Browns Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown's 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brown's will forever be associated with Dylan Thomas. It was his favourite 'watering hole' and he gathered most of the material for his iconic play, Under Milk Wood, from the stories he heard in the bar. In 2012 the hotel underwent a complete refurbishment and offers 13 luxurious rooms with organic Welsh mattresses, en-suite bathrooms and LCD HD TVs. As well as the fully restored bar there is a reading room, conference room and a free car-park to the rear. The bar stocks drinks from the Penderyn Distillery range as well as Welsh real ale and there are tasty bar meals on offer. We have live music on Sunday afternoons and regular evening events. The Grade 2 listed 'bar with rooms', which was built in 1752, stands on Laugharne's King St, a short distance from the castle, estuary, gifts shops and cafes, the quirky Tin Shed military museum and the Dylan Thomas Boathouse - the poet's, 'sea-shaken house on a breakneck of rocks', where he lived for the last four years of his tragically short life. It is now a museum and tea room and is open all year round. Laugharne is not just for literary types - it sits on the Wales Coastal Path and there are several walks in the area from where you can view the herons and egrets down on the timeless estuary. We'll leave the last word on Laugharne to Dylan: '... a mild beguiling island of a town... there is nowhere like it anywhere at all.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Brown's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brown's Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing