We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation”
Review of The Brown's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Brown's
Ranked #1 of 15 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

A couple of nights total relaxation in Browns is to be recommended as a cure for stress. The decor is excellent, the staff likewise and the whole place exudes a calmness, which will help you wind down. Bar snacks are reasonably priced and are tasty and good value. Pity you have to go across the road for breakfast to the New Mariners, but once there the food is good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for The Brown's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 378 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

We recently went to stay at Browns Hotel to celebrate a birthday. The rooms were amazing, and we received a warm welcome upon arrival.

The hotel organized Champagne for our room, as one of the guests was having a celebration. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough! There is a great atmosphere and fantastic bar/lounge to enjoy a glass of wine.

The setting itself is also brilliant, Laugharne is a lovely weekend break, with some fantastic walks along the river and around the castle.

Overall rating 10/10 :o)

Sarah, Cardiff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We ate there one Saturday evening. There was a limited bar menu, with several items unavailable by the evening. However we were very pleased with our choice of the Welsh dish cawl ( a lamb soup/stew). There was one Dylan Thomas photo in the bar, it was a pity that there were not more. There was to be a Dylan Thomas poetry reading there that evening but we were too early. Pizzas were brought in from the sister establishment across the road for a couple of customers. I did not expect the food to be quite so limited here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

When in Laugharne its a must!

A great place for a drink and to soak up the atmosphere. This intimate hotel is both characterful and stylish and with all the modern comforts. The bar is a must - for a coffee or a late night drink, and the staff were always accomodating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JVR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Dylan Thomas's former watering hole has been upgraded into a superb boutique hotel. The place oozes character and the welcome is warm and positive. The upgrade has been done with taste and respect for its history. Tucked away in Laugharne it is easy to find, right on the main thoroughfare - not that it is a busy road. Perhaps we should not be saying nice things here - we should be selfish, keep it quiet and to ourselves!

Room Tip: No tips needed
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We popped in for a drink and stayed for lunch. Wow, as soon as you walk in the door the building oozes character and style. There is a choice of bars, one is dog friendly which suited us. The local Carmarthen beer (Browns) is amazing and the choice of wine is small but good. The menu is small but exceptional. Dylan Thomas' work features in various places here, of course, this adds to the character of the place. I loved it and as it is almost my local, once the snow clears here in Gellywen, I will be back..again and again. The bedrooms looked beautiful, very tempting. Please sort out the banging doors in the Bar, they did make us jump!

Room Tip: best to avoid a bedroom above the bar until the banging doors are sorted!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tufty887125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My partner and I visited this hotel in the autumn and have already been back for a second weekend stay. The first time we went was for a family birthday and, despite not knowing the area or much about Dylan Thomas, we were really overwhelmed by the warm welcome we received at Browns. Our room was large and beautifully furnished to give it an authentic feeling of a bygone age but at the same time there were lots of modern touches (like the TV for the kids!) and for once in a UK hotel decent quality tea and coffee in the room. The hotel staff were really friendly, recommending places to eat and things to visit and the atmosphere in the bar was a fantastic mix of locals and people staying at the hotel. The breakfast the next day (served in a nearby - 20 yards away - pub) was of a really good standard and catered well for me despite being a vegetarian (again not something I can always say in UK hotels), Laugharne itself, however could definitely do with another decent eaterie or two - we ate well during our stay but were running out of options on our second visit. That aside, as a result of our great first experience we have already been back (this time without the kids!) and are hatching plans for another getaway soon, bringing along some friends who have heard us rave about it. I found the hotel and the village an oasis of calm for a weekend away from city life in England, and the hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay a peaceful and enjoyable one. I would recommend Browns without hesitation

Room Tip: We had a large room on the top floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
3.6 mi away
Travelodge St Clears Camarthen
4.0 mi away
Three Rivers Hotel
Three Rivers Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ferryside
188 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,204 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Corran Resort & Spa
The Corran Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Laugharne
706 reviews
0.0 mi away
The New Three Mariners
The New Three Mariners
#12 of 15 in Laugharne
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brown's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown's

Address: King Street, Laugharne SA33 4RY, Wales (Formerly Browns Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range: $77 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Brown's 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brown's will forever be associated with Dylan Thomas. It was his favourite 'watering hole' and he gathered most of the material for his iconic play, Under Milk Wood, from the stories he heard in the bar. In 2012 the hotel underwent a complete refurbishment and offers 13 luxurious rooms with organic Welsh mattresses, en-suite bathrooms and LCD HD TVs. As well as the fully restored bar there is a reading room, conference room and a free car-park to the rear. The bar stocks drinks from the Penderyn Distillery range as well as Welsh real ale and there are tasty bar meals on offer. We have live music on Sunday afternoons and regular evening events. The Grade 2 listed 'bar with rooms', which was built in 1752, stands on Laugharne's King St, a short distance from the castle, estuary, gifts shops and cafes, the quirky Tin Shed military museum and the Dylan Thomas Boathouse - the poet's, 'sea-shaken house on a breakneck of rocks', where he lived for the last four years of his tragically short life. It is now a museum and tea room and is open all year round. Laugharne is not just for literary types - it sits on the Wales Coastal Path and there are several walks in the area from where you can view the herons and egrets down on the timeless estuary. We'll leave the last word on Laugharne to Dylan: '... a mild beguiling island of a town... there is nowhere like it anywhere at all.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Brown's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brown's Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing