We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real cod chips and peas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle View

Castle View
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Laugharne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fast Food, British, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Traditional fish and chips. Take away or eat in, our nautically themed restaurant. Fish is from sustainable sources, cooked fresh to order and served with twice cooked chips.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Real cod chips and peas!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We took takeaway cod and chips and haddock and chips and were served quickly and the food was cooked fresh. The cod was excellent although there were a few bones in the haddock. It was a large portion and we probably could have got away with one between two. Superb with a pint of bitter.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    49
    14
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“More than a fish and chip shop”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We arrived for our week in Laugharne later than expected and a fish and chip supper in our holiday cottage seemed an attractive idea. The staff were welcoming and chatted with us while our cod was freshly fried. The chips were very good, made from locally sourced potatoes and the fish was a good size with a light and crisp batter. Later in the week tried the f@ggots which were excellent and locally made as are the pies. They oven bake cod if you don't want batter and they also offer other options such as mashed potatoes and salad. Wish they were my local!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank endo_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

You will recieve a very warm welcome at this lovely fish and chip shop. Fish is cooked to order, the fish is very generous in quantity but they also do cod bites too (which I love as well as the kids!). Also a selection of other chip shop things on the menu. Lovely mushy peas to accompany your delicious meal and a fab cup of tea too! Best chips we've ever tasted!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JulyBride07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great British Favourite!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I called in at Laugharne on my way to Pembroke on a Monday afternoon, but found that the tea-room was closed. However the Fish & chip shop was open. The freshly cooked cod and chips were great, lovely fresh fish and crisp batter, the service was excellent too. I would thoroughly recommend this Fish Bar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llansaint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab fish and chips”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We went here with the kids on a cold march day. It was warm and welcoming and we were hungry. The fish and chips did not disappoint. The batter was crispy and there were lots of chips! The kids devoured theirs also. The service was very friendly and they even produced a high chair for the little one! Definitely a good pit stop after a healthy march around Laugharne.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Llansaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle View also viewed

Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to Castle View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing