We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Wedding Day - 5th May 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Corran Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Laugharne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carmarthen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding Day - 5th May 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We recently had the most Perfect Wedding at the Corran Resort & Spa.

Having originally booked the venue with Matt when it was Hurst House, we were a bit concerned when we found out it had changed hands.
We knew from earlier visits that the venue was stunning and that the renovations were going to make it even more luxurious.
What we didn't know was if they could provide the wedding day we had dreamed of. After meeting Jo and Nick in March, our fears were quickly dispelled.
They even came up with suggestions to make our quiet small wedding, with just 16 members of our family joining us (7 of them children), even more memorable.
What we also liked about the venue is everything is on one level, including a lot of the bedrooms, which is excellent for wheelchair users and was one of our requirements.
For the wedding day itself everything at the Corran ran really smoothly allowing both of us to feel relaxed, with nothing being too much trouble for any of the friendly staff.
We even had to call on Jo to help do up the back of our bridesmaid's dress!
The setting up for the ceremony was really fabulous with the huge Moroccan doors closed until everybody was called to be seated and then closed again until the bride arrived, it was wonderful.
With the weather also being glorious, the whole day had a really relaxed Mediterranean feel.
The evening ceremony was also set up beautifully with the area lit with candles, it was so romantic.
The food was delicious and the wine excellent. One of the waiters (James) was brilliant, managing to keep the children amused so the adults could really enjoy the meal.
Finally we returned to the bar/lounge area to listen to music with the children dancing until eventually wearing themselves out.

The next morning the children were up early so they could have a swim in the pool before breakfast.
We all left just after lunchtime and wished we could have stayed longer.

We still can't stop thinking about it, it was truely a Perfect day.

A huge thank you to Jo and the whole Corran Team for making our day so very special.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gilbern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    157
    83
    42
    35
See reviews for
95
387
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saundersfoot, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Unfortunately myself and a friend came on Saturday 18th may.. For a nice peaceful lunch...I had recently received bad news and I wanted to talk to a friend so she suggested Lawrenny tea rooms, St. brides Hotel, but I thought lets go to The Corran for a real treat then drive onto Carmarthen for a shopping trip...no kids to worry about, no husbands that day to cook for..
Sadly we arrived to be told there was a wedding, and no lunch menu was being served that day... We had a coffee ... Rushed it and felt unwelcome....
It's a real shame you don't stretch to cater for walk-in trade ... Do you advertise on your web site... "Ring first to see if we have a wedding , as your not welcome to stay if we do !!! ". I have wined and dined in fabulous places. We both wanted a special treat and never got what we dreamed of that day,,,, shame as word and mouth go further afield these days...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick E, Manager at The Corran Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to The Corran Resort & Spa. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. We value our customers' opinions and take your comments on board. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit further. Please feel free to email me at info@thecorran.com or call 01994 427417.
Best Wishes
Nick Evans
Manager
The Corran Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Corran Resort recently after hearing about the new developments from a friend who lives locally. We had dined here previously when it was Hurst House but sadly left feeling rather disappointed. We certainly weren't this time. It's clearly obvious that a lot of money is being spent on developing the business, and it really shows. The welcome we received set the tone, warm, friendly, nothing too much trouble. The food was delicious as were the Corran signature mohitios :)
We would,without hesitation, book again for a getaway, possibly next time with a group on friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandtrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked a dinner, bed and breakfast package for a quiet weekend getaway which appeared to be excellent value and we were not disappointed. We would definitely recommend the afternoon tea which was a superb way to start our stay. Check-in was swift and we were shown to our room which was room 14, one of the mezzanine suites. The standard of accommodation and quality of service were exemplary. The spa facilities were also lovely!
All the staff we encountered were very friendly and courteous and looked after us well without being intrusive. Our evening meal was outstanding along with the service of one particular member of the staff called Kay. We would highly recommend the Corran for a weekend escape break or for those living nearby, a lovely meal. We will be definitely planning a return visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ELC_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanclêr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

A lovely birthday planned at a lovely setting...attentive staff ( thanks James)...some mixed messages, however about serving wine...wine list not forthcoming- no options discussed..friends & myself bought wine by the glass, ...Sauvignon Blanc x 5 at different times during the course of the meal ....when we went to pay we discovered we were paying £10 a glass!!! ...£50!! Usually a member of staff points out that it could be cheaper by the bottle Those details are so important in making a guest feel welcome.... and continue to have the feel-good factor when you leave! We are locals and word of mouth recommendation in any business is the best referral you can get....hope this has been helpful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick E, Manager at The Corran Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for your comments regarding your recent visit to The Corran Resort & Spa. We value our customers' opinions and take your comments on board. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit further. Please feel free to email me at info@thecorran.com or call 01994 427417.
Best wishes
Nick Evans
Manager
The Corran Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just come back from what should have been a lovely birthday celebration for a good friend of mine. Table for 10 booked for 1pm. Drinks order taken. Still waiting at 1.45 for a lunch menu or to be shown into the restaurant. Some clarifications required about the menu.
"What's salmon darne?" Response "its a herb"!!!
"Is the belly pork nice and crisp?" Response "yes its cooked really well"

Starters arrive - very disappointing. Tiny slivers of smoked makerel on a lettuce leaf with a spot of horseradish.
Main course arrives - looked OK but then saw that the pork belly was far from crisp, no cracking and worst of all another cut of pork on the plate to make up the meat portion. On querying this with the waitress with multi-coloured hair, she said it was from another part of the joint!!!! Restaurant manager got involved who unfortunately for him, oversteppped the mark by stroking my arm to which I took great exception to. Obviously not trained in respecting personal space. Plate taken away and replaced after an excpetionally long time by a plate of belly pork. Yes, but it bore no resemblence to any belly pork that had previously appeared on other friends' plates. Far from cooked - appeared to have received the microwave treatment and the fat bore a somewhat fat in micro smell. Needless to say, there was no way I was going to eat this and it was removed.
Restaurant manager assured that no charge would be made for my lunch. Good and then gave each of us some vouchers to persuade me to give the Corran another chance. Friends all happy with this.
Then, the icing on the cake. Some friends discovered on settlement of their individual bills that they'd been charged £10 a glass for Sauvignon Blanc. The wine waiters hadn't considered mentioning the cost as compared to house wine when the order was taken. A cheap trick.
Will we be going back? a definite no
Will we be recommending the Corran to others? Most definitely not.
This establishment needs to really buck its ideas if its going to be operational in the long term

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CymruTravellerWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick E, Manager at The Corran Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your less than satisfactory dining experience at the weekend. I would like to personally apologise for the fact that you did not enjoy your time at The Corran. We take the views of our customers very seriously and I have passed on your feedback to our restaurant team. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit further. Please feel free to email me at info@thecorran.com or call on 01994 427417.

Best Wishes,
Nick Evans
Manager
The Corran Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just come back from a family wedding at The Corran. Everything went so smoothly, cannot fault the staff who always had a genuine smile for you and the food was yummy. The rooms were spacious, spotless and well equipped. Nothing was too much trouble and all the staff were more than obliging and catered for mum in law who's almost 90 down to the youngest one of 4. The one lad knew all of the children's names (7 of them) in no time and kept them entertained. Plenty of room for them to play outside and no grumpy faces when they were a bit noisy. Just wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank taffy024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laugharne
10.2 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
11.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
12.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#8 of 24 in Swansea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mansion House Llansteffan
Mansion House Llansteffan
#1 of 1 in Llansteffan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 3 in Llandeilo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corran Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corran Resort & Spa

Property: The Corran Resort & Spa
Address: East Marsh, Laugharne SA33 4RS, Wales (Formerly Hurst House on the Marsh)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Laugharne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Laugharne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corran Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Corran Resort & Spa offers a taste of luxury, hidden in the marshlands of the Carmarthenshire countryside. Our vision at this boutique haven is simple; to provide guests with great service, food and surroundings. Ensuring your stay is special and filled with lasting memories is our top priority. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Corran Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corran Resort & Spa Laugharne, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing