We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to refresh your mind.”

The Owl and the Pussycat
Ranked #4 of 22 Restaurants in Laugharne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A lovely seaside restaurant serving excellent traditional Welsh "Cawl".
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A good place to refresh your mind.”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Lovely staff, we particularly liked the sofa in the window. In fact we returned that same day and ate dressed crab. There was an amazing light fitting by the servery. I wanted it!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sprollylane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    63
    29
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Consistently Very Good”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Went in with the family and we all had sandwiches and cakes. All home-made and freshly prepared. Best prawn Sandwich I have ever had. I go back time and again and have never been disappointed. Well, worth a visit I can tell you and it is definitely a place to chill. Lovely people too and dog friendly, important for us animal lovers. Excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Lovely home cooked food, slightly over priced”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely home cooked food and casual surroundings. Dogs welcome and lovely friendly service. Visited twice, once early evening and then one late morning. Unfortunately on one trip our little boy was poorly in the restaurant (not because of the food or anything there) and the staff were brilliant in helping us clean up and very kind about it all. Would definitely recommend food and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BirdyAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not what it looks”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for a quick lunch today. Outside and in, it has the looks for a nice coffee shop. Staff were friendly too.

It's failings were with the menu and food. There were two special boards, one for lite meals the other full. The menu was one page with very little choice. Soup, a few odd items and one type of sandwich, one baguette, panini & jacket. No alternative fillings for each.

My wife ordered the welsh cawl for £5 which she did enjoy (soup, slice of granary bread, butter & cheese). I had a disappointing welsh flan for £6. Should have just called it a quiche, with a garnish, coleslaw and a few crisps (5 Pringles, a first on a plate for me).

To be honest, there are several other places in the town to eat, but they do not look as appealing. This is a case where you should ignore the outside.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great coffee shop”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Loved the quirkyness of this place, the decor was themed to the name of the coffee shop along with some fantastic tapestry/embroidery pictures on the walls. Coffee was excellent and I loved the fact that there was a little dish to put your tea bag in.

We visited again for a light lunch and although the place was very busy, we didn't have to wait too long for our food. Can highly recommend the Welsh Rarebit - best I have ever had.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank biggurl62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Owl and the Pussycat also viewed

Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
Laugharne, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to The Owl and the Pussycat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing