We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Larkhill Tipis and Yurts
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was our first holiday at Larkhill. Myself, my sister and 5 children aged 2 to 7 stayed in the Alachigh and it was fabulous. The children loved the magical site and their independence. It was completely safe and we were comfortable letting them explore the woods and play area. Nothing was too much bother for chilled out, lovely Fran. The tent was cosy and warm and the kitchen incredibly well equipped! We will be back next year for definite.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barnettdunmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 128 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Overall the biggest thing that is a large postive, is the welcome you recieve from Fran... Anything she can help you with she does.. The Camp is in amazing surroundings with lovely hand carvings in the woods and lovely trails ( children will love this ).. A really good experience :)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabio1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have never written a review on tripadvisor before but I felt compelled to write a review for Larkhill. We absolutely loved our holiday and have returned home refreshed! Firstly, I would like to say a massive thank you to Fran and Tony (if they are reading this) for a wonderful stay. They gave us a warm welcome, were amazing throughout our stay and gave us some great tips for places to visit in the area. We stayed in their tipi which was very comfortable for the four of us - husband, wife and two boys (ages 6 and 8). The tipi had it's own secluded garden with benches where we could cook and hang out but we could also head up to the cabin if we wanted to spend time with others. You could see how much thought and hard work has gone into making Larkhill the special place that it is and we can't wait to return next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvumbuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fran and Tony made us so welcome at their wonderful glamp site :-) Great space, each Tipi/ Yurt had its own little 'garden' and there were wonderful woods for our little on to run around in. Local sites fab and not too far to get to. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kateeeeeeeeee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is our third stay at Larkhill in the Mongolian Ger this time. Always fantastic. Great welcome from Fran and Tony who are on hand to help but leave you alone if that is what you want. The facilities are very good hot showers when you need and a central cabin which holds ever utensil, pot or pan you could ever need and a Guitar to while away an hour or two The location and scenery are magnificent. Easy to get to the coast, castles and if, like me, you take 3 teenage son the Oakwood theme park. I cooked on the open fire every night, which is great in it self. 4 nights was not long enough. I am sure we will go back for our fourth visit sometime next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kahoodol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was my second time staying at Larkhill and really looking forward to staying again later this year. It is such a little paradise and the views around are absolutely breath taking. Fran and Tony are so welcoming and have created such an amazing haven; this is definitely the place to switch off and recharge. The yurts and other structures are so very comfortable, warm and so creative. I absolutely love it here!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolCamilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Once again we had a fabulous time at Larkhill. We arrived feeling tired after a long journey and after a lovely walk around the woods we felt relaxed and recharged!!
We stayed in the Mongolian Ger which was lovely and cosy. It was perfect for a romantic break.
Our only complaint is that we didn't book for longer.

Room Tip: I have stayed in the alachigh and the ger and both were fab
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LouiseWhomack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Larkhill Tipis and Yurts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkhill Tipis and Yurts

Address: Larkhill, Cwmduad, Carmarthen, Cwmduad SA33 6AT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Cwmduad
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Cwmduad
Price Range: $92 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning campsite set in four acres of woodland with stunning views of the Teifi Valley. We have five different types of glamping accommodation from all different parts of the world - an Alachigh, a Mongolian Ger, a Bentwood Yurt, a Lavvu and a Native American Tipi. All are in their own 'space', are connected by handmade stepping stones and all have wood-burners and outdoor camp-fire areas. There is a log cabin providing all you could possibly need for your stay, woodland walks, a children's play area and farm animals. Established in 2003 with the proprietors always on hand to help in any way. Particularly suitable for families and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp and Booking.com so you can book your Larkhill Tipis and Yurts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing