We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“TOTAL BLISS!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bwthyn Dowrog

Bwthyn Dowrog
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bwthyn Dowrog
The french doors lead onto the patio with a lovely view over the Dowrog Common Looking at the cottage from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Bwthyn Dowrog
The french doors lead onto the patio with a lovely view over the Dowrog Common
Looking at the cottage from the garden
Patio and back door
Sitting room
Bedroom
The view up the yard from Bwthyn Dowrog past the Farm House to the Farm entrance
A view of the Dowrog and the pools from the patio
A view of the farm from across the common
How to find us
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David_and...
Llanymynech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“TOTAL BLISS!”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is the first holiday cottage we've ever stayed in where there has been not a sound to disturb our sleep, and also it has the most comfortable bed we've experienced in all our years of travelling around (apart from our own at home)!

E-mailed communication before we arrived was always dealt with promptly, and the only thing we weren't particularly looking forward to was the four-hour journey ~ but Pippa suggested treating the journey as part of the holiday, so we did: we just ambled along down country roads, stopping a couple of times to stretch our legs.

We were greeted on arrival by Steve, who showed us the cottage and explained where things were and how they worked. We were very impressed with the high quality of the fixtures and fittings; it was great to see how much care they had taken over furnishing the cottage, and the provision of free WiFi was appreciated (although we only check e-mails once a day, preferring to be 'switched off' when away from home).

Luckily for us, the three days were full of sunshine so we were out and about: we visited St. David's cathedral one morning ~ well worth visiting (even though we're not "churchy" people), as it's stunning. On another day we just bimbled around the countryside and down into small coves, relishing the quiet roads and glorious scenery. Mind you, had the weather not been good we would have been quite happy staying in: we'd taken plenty to read, but there were also books, DVDs and board games to borrow if needed.

All in all, a thoroughly wonderful, but all too short, break in Pembrokeshire: and we'll certainly be returning to Bwthyn Dowrog if we go back to the area (and if we're forgiven for breaking a mug!).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Thank you both for your very kind review and your glowing recommendation of our part of Pembrokeshire. Mug breakage forgiven!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickcudwo...
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice cosy cottage.”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Really nice cottage, convenient for St. Davids (1/2 hourish stroll or 5 min drive), and some nice walks from whitesands beach. Well equipped for self catering, we only ate out once in our week stay, once we got back on an evening and got the wood burner going didn't want to venture out again.
Didn't see Pippa who was away during our stay, but Steve was really good host with plenty of tips on things to do etc. All in all a really enjoyable break, despite some Challenging weather!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review - much appreciated. a break down here in February is a very different experience; complete tranquility with deserted beaches and wonderful walks...and a chance to experience everything westerlies can throw at you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review - we are lucky to live in a lovely place and our setting is rather special. We aim to make sure the cottages make the most of where we are and live up to guests expectations plus a bit more so its so nice when we get such good feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
271thewoo...
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely holiday cottage just outside St Davids”
Reviewed October 11, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The best accommodation we have found in this area. Lovely location just outside St Davids and next to beautiful open countryside. The property owners have thought of everything.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Thank you so much for such a nice review - so glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heskrils
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular, idyllic location.”
Reviewed September 12, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a 4 night stay in this wonderful accommadation with our dog. Pippa and Steve could not have been more friendly and helpful. On arriving, we were greeted with a lovely home made banana cake and fresh flowers on the table! The setting is breathtaking with some fantastic walks. Didn't want to leave.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2016
St Davids is set in spectacular landscape and the coastal walks are amazing - glad you got to sample some of the beauty. Thanks for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C
Fochriw, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cosey cottage can't fault it.”
Reviewed May 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this cottage at Easter. Weather wasn't the best but the welcome was. The cottage was clean with a lovely log fire.Had a really enjoyable stay and will be back in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2016
Thanks so much for your kind review - see you in the summer with better weather we hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emrys81
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect break.”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were warmly welcomed by Steve and Pippa on arrival. The accommodation was clean and comfortable with high quality facilities including crockery utensils and cooking facilities. The famous banana bread was amazing! We had our own cycles but the owners' own cycles were also available. A fantastic, quiet location just a twenty minute stroll from St Davids. We enjoyed our time at the cottage as well as our leisurely walks and cycle rides. There is so much history in the area from the Early Saints, through the Middle Ages up to the Second World War. We reluctantly left at the end of our stay having fully relaxed. Diolch yn fawr iawn Pippa a Steve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The acomodation and location.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing