We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
St. Davids Cross Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St. Davids
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was our third vist to this hotel which has changed a lot since our first vist in the 1980's. You cannot fault the location of this hotel. To have parking is an added bonus in the lovely city of St. Davids.
The room we stayed in which was overlooking the front of the hotel was fine for our needs and had everything we required. The room was clean and the housekeeping very good.
The breakfast had reasonable variety at the cold buffet. The cooked breakfast was good. The waiters were excellent and attentive.
The only downside which others have mentioned is that the public rooms ie bar and lounge are a little grim. Can't put my finger on exactly what it is. When we first visted the hotel these areas were the hive of activity. Perhaps it was because the hotel wasn't full or the time of year. But it was July.
However, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The receptionist was very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    118
    56
    10
    6
See reviews for
69
170
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
pontypool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

we escape to this hotel two to three times a year,have nothing bad to say about the place,food is fine,service is great,and location perfect,last stay was 20-6 -14 met some great people there from europe and usa.
thanks to all the staff there for making us so welcome
mark&jacqui reardon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yosemitesam88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We popped down to St Davids for a day out and thought we would try here for some food.

Needless to say it is quite expensive for what you get, the Steak is only served with chips and peas that is it and for the price paid (£16 some odd per steak) it just isn't enough on the plate. I have had nicer steak in other places locally that actually have chips, peas, mushrooms, side garnish and onion rings for about half this price.

Steak was not cooked rare enough for me, even though that's what I asked for, to over seasoned for my liking, a good steak should never be seasoned in my eyes, I would prefer the taste of beef rather than over powering Salt and Pepper taste. But it was edible, I wasn't going to waste it to be fair as paid to much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob-la K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Nice people and a good central location with parking. Room was fine but the little is made of the bar area or restaurant - the other hotels and bars take advantaged the tourist trade. Needs a revamp and some tlc. Could be so much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahoydickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

A good location in the very centre of town with adequate parking. Breakfast is good and the staff are friendly and efficient. The bedrooms are a decent size and everything works. But the main areas - the dinning room and the reception/sitting rooms are bare and grim. For the price it did not compare well with other hotels.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for one night in June. The room was warm and comfortable, clean and quite well equipped. We slept well, although the walls were thin. Staff were friendly and helpful and a good breakfast was served. Negatives were the poor wifi and the price of 105GBP for a night. Based on our experiences in other UK hotels, we would have expected to pay about 80-85GBP.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We decided to visit the Old Cross for our morning coffee, having not been for several years. Lovely comfy seating, which they re-arranged to accommodate the 6 of us. Lovely coffee - quickly served, friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Davids
0.3 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
229 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,192 reviews
20.0 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
0.4 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Davids
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Davids Cross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Davids Cross Hotel

Property: St. Davids Cross Hotel
Address: Hotel Cross Square | Cross Square, St. Davids SA62 6SP, Wales (Formerly Old Cross Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in St. Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Davids Cross Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated hotel under new ownership and management with 16 ensuite rooms, including singles, twins, doubles and family rooms. The hotel also has a bar and restaurant area with a wide variety of fresh produce on the menu to satisfy all tastes. The bar area is open from 8am till 10:30pm serving breakfasts from 8-10am, lunch from 12-3pm, and evening meals from 6-9pm 7 days a week. The restaurant is open Friday & Saturday nights from 6pm till late. The hotel also boasts a lovely beer garden at the front of the hotel to relax and enjoy the sunshine whilst enjoying a nice cold drink. The bar stocks a wide range of drinks from international wines, to a great selection of single malt whiskies, a vast variety of soft drinks, coffee's, tea's and local ales. We look forward to welcoming you to the St. Davids Cross Hotel and hope you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your St. Davids Cross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Cross St Davids
Hotel Old Cross
St. Davids Cross Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing