We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another wonderful New Year in St Davids”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Waterings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Waterings
Ranked #7 of 21 St. Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
coventry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another wonderful New Year in St Davids”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Well once again I can only pass on a great big thanks to William and his staff for a lovely stay at The Waterings over the last 5 nights. Our second time here and just as nice as before, very comfortable room with a spacious bathroom and lovely snug lounge to relax in after a day spent walking the coastal path(only 10 mins away). Great location overall with shops, pubs etc only a 5 min walk away. A great breakfast with lots of fresh produce sets you up for the day! We had some very pleasant weather which made our break all the more enjoyable! We would highly recommend to others, once again many thanks, Ian and Nic

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigeyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Ian and Nic
So glad to here you had another good New Years holiday with us. Hopefully we'll see you again in the future.
Thank you for the reiview
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    24
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
80
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great choice of breakfast.
Lovely room with loads of space (room 7).
Great location, only a 5 minute walk from the shops, pubs etc..
Very friendly owners who were very helpful and accommodating.
Highly recommended to everyone, I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for the generous review. It’s always great to here from people who have enjoyed they're stay
Regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's a lovely place which is on the edge of St David's,and that makes it feel as if you are out in the country, but at the end of the High Street, so literally a stone's throw from the shops and restaurants. The large rooms are beautifully clean, quiet and comfortable. I had a cosy lounge and large bedroom. The WiFi is a great asset too. A lovely welcome and a hearty breakfast made it a very pleasant stay and a bargain to boot.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlCaerdydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfasts and had a pleasant stay.
Regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We originally looked at another B&B but it was full. They recommended the Waterings - and we're so glad they did! As a family of four we had tonnes of space, and it was a warm haven when returning from adventures on the windy cold trails and into town. We could walk everywhere from here, so were happy to park the car and leave it. It felt clean, comfortable and solid and very professionally run. And it always makes my day when I can start it with a well-made cappuccino. Would highly recommend this B&B to any traveller. A pleasure!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mallygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the lovely review, I'm glad you enjoyed the cappuccino's, and found the room to your liking. I hope you enjoy the remainder of your holiday in the UK and have a safe journey back home to Australia.
Kind regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a lovely short weekend stay here. We stayed in the "First Mate " room over looking a beautiful garden area with large pond and outdoor seating area.Our large "room " was really more of a suite, with a spaceous bedroom area , lounge area , with sofa , chair and t.v. and tea and coffee making facilities.The bed was very comfy , the room spotlessly clean and toasty warm.The ensuite bathroom is a decent size ,has a powerful shower over the bath , an abundance of fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries.We opted for the "Full Welsh" breakfast, which was perfectly cooked , and truly yummy. There were many other breakfast options to choose from also.The location is perfect , quiet, but only a few minutes walk into the centre of St.Davids.We really can,t wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your generous review, I'm glad to here that you were so well looked after, and that everything was to your liking.
Kind regards
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, had an excellent room with lots of space and great facilities. Very clean and friendly staff and as for the breakfast, the best way to start the day. Couldn't ask for more central location and lovely place, can't wait to go back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for your review, its always nice to here from guests that enjoyed they're stay. Hope to see you again in the future
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Sadly we only had a four night break at The Waterings - wish it had been much longer! We stayed in The Admiral's Room. It was a rare treat to have so much space and especially the luxury of a seating area - we understand all of the rooms offer this, what a great idea. It makes such a difference having somewhere to chill out as opposed to just somewhere to sleep. And the balcony is the icing on the cake that is that particular room! As to location - brilliant for town and country, great circular walks inland/round town/via the coast path and all from the doorstep. Previous travellers have already said much in the same vein, but it's hard not to enthuse about such a perfect location - and all just a spit from the centre of our dear St Davids, surely one of the world's best holiday places. William and his family obviously work very hard to ensure all is as it should be and so rarely is. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChant, Owner at The Waterings, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you, ever so much for your very kind review. It's really is great to hear from guests that have had an enjoyable stay. I hope to accommodate you again it the future.
Many Thanks
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Davids hotels
0.1 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St. Davids
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St. Davids
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 21 in St. Davids
48 reviews
0.7 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 21 in St. Davids
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterings

Property: The Waterings
Address: Anchor Drive | High Street, St. Davids SA62 6BW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in St. Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Waterings 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet location, close to the National Park Visitor Centre, the Waterings is a short walk from the city centre and its 800 year old Cathedral. The Waterings offers comfortable, quality accommodation surrounded by tranquil landscaped grounds. On offer are 7 spacious, well-appointed, en suite rooms, 5 on ground level and two 1st floor loft conversions. Rooms facilities include TV and beverage tray and free WiFi. Other amenities include a croquet lawn, water garden, picnic area and ample private parking. A warm welcome awaits you with William & his crew, who are on hand to help and advise during your stay. Please note: We do not operate a 24hr reception. It is open daily until 6pm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Waterings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Waterings St. Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing