We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A spotless well equipped homely cottage, with...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bwthyn Bach

Bwthyn Bach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bwthyn Bach
Kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Bwthyn Bach
Kitchen
Living room
King size bedroom
Secure garden with furniture
Dining area
Living room
Living room
Cosy bedroom
Bath with shower
Bwthyn Bach
Bwthyn Bach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A spotless well equipped homely cottage, with friendly owners.”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We found Bwthyn Bach to be a deceptively spacious, spotless well equipped homely cottage.
The location was restful and quiet, some form of transport is required. The surrounding coastal paths were excellent and the wild spring flowers did not disappoint. Easy going friendly owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2016
Thank you for the positive review, we are pleased you liked Bwthyn Bach, the local area and coastal walks.
Kind regards
Rob and Honey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn D
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy, well-equipped cottage and friendly, helpful hosts”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We chose this cottage for our Christmas getaway to explore the Pembrokeshire coast. It is a short drive from the sea, and from St David's, and was perfect for our short break. (Shame about the weather!) The cottage is maintained to a high standard with everything we needed, and was very cosy (but not cramped at all) with a log fire and added Christmas tree for atmosphere. We were able to cook our Christmas dinner easily (despite a small mishap with the oven control - rescued by Rob and a pair of pliers). The wifi worked very well for such a remote location. A very comfortable cottage, with plenty of room for a couple, and everything needed except, perhaps, a dishwasher.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort, facilities, decor, location away from beaten track
Liked least: No dishwasher, downstairs bathroom (both minor points)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the positive comments
Thanks
Rob and Honey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s_cunha78
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good accommodation but lack of privacy”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Here is my review of the good and bad of the stay.

The good:

This property was very well located and the house was very complete and very well equipped ,the only utility i think it was missed was the dish washer machine, it would be very handy.
Very calm rural place and very quiet at night.

The bad:

The property had 2 doors and one of the lock broke on the 2nd day,Ron immediately tried to help but with no solution and no way to get in since it was weekend and the key to the other door was inside, i had to get in trough the roof as my dogs were inside. On Monday Ron appeared to say that the locksmith would appear between 9 and 10 am hopefully,it did not show up so i asked Rob not to bring the locksmith in till we leave the cottage so our routine is not disturbed again.
The lack of privacy was the worst part. Most of the times we had lunch on the property and what we notice was that every day we had a blue van that transport horses parked in front of our living room window, while using the van the woman and sometime 2 women would take the opportunity to peak inside the property for several minutes. There was a lot of space to park the van somewhere else, but it was always in front of our window, we did not had a view for outside only the blue van with the smoked windows.
Another lack of privacy it was that many times we went to lunch on the table outside and the van would start to operate with engine noise, and the tailgate and people talking loud.
To help the lack of privacy there were no curtains on the 2 main window doors.

Info:

This property is not good for handicap people, it has a ramp outside but the bedroom is in the second floor and the bathroom is in the first floor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quick access to St Davids and beaches (by car)
Liked least: Lack of privacy
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2015
Very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The standard of accommodation and location was excellent.”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas and it was a lovely break. We arrived at the cottage and was welcomed by our friendly owners who had provided a decorated Christmas tree, ponsietta plant, fresh flowers and home made cakes to get us into the Christmas spirit. The cottage from the outside looks small but inside it was very spacious and very well equipped. After some lovely coastal path walks we'd come back and make up a fire on the log burner. Perfect.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your Christmas with us. It was lovely having you stay.
Best regards
Rob and Honey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb S
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm,cosy and very well equiped.”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A beautiful cottage. Easy access to the coastal path and lots of beautiful scenery. We saw seals and a peregrine Falcone. The owners were very friendly but left us to enjoy our break but were on hand should we have any questions. We were greeted with fresh flowers and a beautiful homemade cake. I would highly recommend this to a couple who wish to chill out and discover the coast of west Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy and clean. Oh and the cake.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2014
We're so glad you had a good time. We enjoyed having you stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best wishes
Rob and Honey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A luxury cottage in a wonderful location”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from 5 nights away in this beautifully modern cottage only converted and furnished in the past few years. Owners who live nearby made us feel very welcome with a home made cake, tea, coffee and milk to welcome us. Great base for exploring Pembrokshire and had a very busy few days. Some stunning walks and two good golf courses not too far away. Weather hot helped by the Pembrokshire microclimate. Location of cottage very peaceful and relaxing. Would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cottage was very well equipped and tastefully furnished
Liked least: Steep stairs to bedroom and bathroom downstairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you for your kind words, much appreciated.
Rob and Honey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidWB
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A lovely cottage set in a rural location in a farming hamlet community with wide views of the country-side towards Carn Llidi and Pen Berry. The cottage has everything you could possibly want especially in the well-provisioned kitchen (no need to bring washing up liquid, cloths, tea towels, dishwasher tabs, hand wash, loo roll etc). The lounge and bedroom are comfortable and well furnished which add to a relaxing atmosphere. On arrival there is even a home-made sponge cake to have with a cup of tea or coffee to greet the weary traveller. The owners are both extremely welcoming and most helpful.
To get the most from the location a car or bicycle is recommended although the coastal path can be reached using a country path across the fields. We recommend Bythyn Bach - highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet atmosphere
Liked least: Need to use car more than expected
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 14, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Bwthyn Bach. We're thrilled you had a lovely time. We enjoyed your company and look forward to welcoming you back soon
Best wishes
Rob and Honey
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing