We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very over priced view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Warpool Court Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St. Davids
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very over priced view”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were very disappointed with the hotel. The only things going for it are the view and property, but it is not hard in that area to enjoy both and stay in much more updated and less expensive accomodation. For the prices they charge, the room was small, queen bed (called a king) was not comfortable and there was very little room. There were few amenities and the room was shabby as are the corridors. We did not try the restaurant but enjoyed a meal in the local pub. Breakfast was mediocre at best and assigned seating only added to the frustration. The tables at the window looking over the garden were empty the whole time we were eating our breakfast, but ours was assigned to the back of the room. Really! the staff was trying hard, but could not make up for our disappointment. I did not see the fitness area which I would like to have used but was told it was 15 minutes away. the pool was terrible and change rooms were small and awful.

Room Tip: I would not recommend this hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    64
    25
    11
    13
See reviews for
42
127
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dijon, France
Level Contributor
125 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel has a great location with very nice grounds in the popular holiday location of St David's. The hotel itself is ok but possibly a little tired.

You definitely want a sea view although you do of course pay extra for it.

The food offered for dinner is really very good although the tables are positioned too close together which make dining a shared experience whether you like it or not.

It the morning there was a real "Fawlty Towers" moment when the Polish waiter refused, in heavily accented English, to sit us at one of the three free window tables as the regular customers MIGHT be down shortly! We didn't push the point but the management need to sort out how they lay out and run the restaurant.

Overall the experience was Ok but I'm not sure I'll be hurrying back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank 171959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and wish we had stayed longer. The welcome we had was very warm and genuine. All the staff were so efficient and seemed genuinely pleased to see you.
The breakfast was superb. Rooms very comfortable and very clean.
The most important comment is the superb views . Close to St Non's chapel and Well and very close to the coastal path- it can't get much better than that! Not cheap but worth it!

Room Tip: A sea view room is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
43 Thank digit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed recently for one night at the Warpool Court Hotel. Could not fault the staff in reception, a warm welcome and both very helpful. The hotel itself is in a good location for St David's and has direct access to the coastal path.

Booked a country view double room at £170.00 for bed & breakfast. The room itself would have been of a reasonable size but had eaves on both sides of the room. Neither my husband or I are tall but found you had to be a bit of a contortionist to make tea or get into bed. Wallpaper was also starting to peel in a couple places. Found the breakfast buffet the next morning to be a bit limited but cooked breakfast was of a good standard. Coffee and toast brought to the table promptly but after that had to ask for jam/marmalade/sauces and more coffee. We just felt slightly underwhelmed.

This hotel has a great deal going for it, but perhaps needs to have a re-think on its prices.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staying here was a really good choice. We arrived without a booking but staff were friendly and helpful. The room rates are a bit quirky but the receptionist was happy to show us around before we booked. The restaurant is run separately and this did cause some confusion (no evening meals Sunday or Monday). When we tried to book dinner for the Saturday evening we were told they were full. However after some discussion they agreed to let us eat out on the terrace. It was a lovely evening and the table was beautifully laid with blankets over the chair backs in case we got cold. The dinner was by far the best of our holiday, and we had stayed in 2 other well known hotels in the area. It's not cheap but we felt it well worth the money. Quiet with access to coast path and a short walk into St. David's.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank angela44Holt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at The Warpool Court,a hotel that we have visited many times before. We found the changes to the Restaurant very good and dining at Mark Nappers Garden Room was a lovely experience, already looking forward to next year!
John and Margaret Delany

Room Tip: We have stayed in most of the rooms and found them all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
39 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a superb hotel - totally classy without the slightest hint of pretentiousness. We had a standard room, which was of perfectly acceptable size, with an absolutely beautiful sea view. We found this hotel to be faultless in all respects - food, cleanliness, friendliness.

In particular, we would wish to pay tribute to the wonderful staff we came into contact with who made our stay such a memorable and happy one:

The very nice and efficient gentleman who served us breakfast, whose name we unfortunately we didn't catch;

The three cleaning ladies, whose constant and wonderful good humour cheered us up every time we met them, and who were so friendly to our dog Nellie;

And of course Marianne on the front desk, so friendly and hard-working and professional, and again so kind to Nellie.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - it's fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank jrl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Davids
0.5 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.4 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St. Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St. Davids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
12.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 21 in St. Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warpool Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warpool Court Hotel

Property: Warpool Court Hotel
Address: St Davids | Pembrokeshire, St. Davids SA62 6BN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in St. Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Warpool Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warpool is set in 15 acres of extraordinarily peaceful, prime, private coastal land with direct footpath access to the Pembrokeshire Coast. Guests have exclusive use of our covered, heated swimming pool open from mid-April until the end of September. There is an all-weather tennis court available at all times for our guests. Swimming pool towels and tennis equipment are provided without charge. There are ample terraced lawns, perfect for relaxing and enjoying the sea views or for taking a beverage or tea in a quiet corner. There is a lawned area for croquet and separate fields for kite flying, golf putting, throwing a frisbee or essential dog exercise. Most importantly, a mown swathe from the garden through the land to the south enables visitors to link to a footpath to the coast - perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Warpool Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warpool Court St Davids
Hotel Warpool Court
Warpool Court Hotel St. Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing