We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do do do have dinner there”
Review of Ramsey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramsey House
Ranked #1 of 18 St. Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Do do do have dinner there”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had two nights with Suzanne & Shaun. On our first we ate at Ramsay house, on the second we ate in St Davids. Error. We should have eaten twice at Ramsay House. I think that their web site should make more of Shaun's amazing abilities as a chef. You might think "oh I don't want to pay £40 for a meal in a B&B". You would be wrong. This is a meal cooked personally for you by a real top class trained chef. He has that rare ability to make a meal look simple but to get serious taste and texture in there. I could rave on but you'll get the message. Ignore the reviewer who said the food was overpriced....believe me we have paid double for food of this quality.

Rave food review aside, how is this as a B&B? Well everyone has said it. It's seriously good and easily deserves the five star rating. Suzanne and Shuan really want you to feel comfortable and welcome. And we did- very much so. Our room (Willow) wasn't enormous, but it was very comfortable. The bed, pillows, sheets, towels and so on are top quality and needless to say, everything was spotlessly clean. As a location, it is just five minutes quiet walk into the middle square of St Davids and even closer to the cathedral. There are footpaths on the doorstep taking you to the cliff path. Both trained in top hotels and it shows. It is to our advantage that they took the lifestyle voice to quit hotels and bring up their young family in this lovely house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archaeologyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
307
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Ramsey House. Suzanne and Shaun are a very warm and friendly couple and made our stay very pleasurable. The room is beautifully decorated and the house is situated very conveniently to the cathedral and near all facilities of St David's. The breakfasts are fantastic and the service provided is of an excellent standard. This b&b is the best we have ever stayed in and is run to a very high standard and that's a credit to Suzanne and Shaun. We would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone, it's well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walli333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

A wonderful place to stay in Pembrokeshire. The location of Ramsey House is ideal for exploring St David's and the surrounding countryside. The rooms are beautifully decorated and the house is very comfortable. Shaun and Suzanne are extremely welcoming and go out of their way to help with queries and make any stay feel quite special. The food is delicious and my evening meal was some of the best vegetarian food I have had recently. It is also nice to stay somewhere that is licensed and makes homemade fudge ! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We returned to Ramsey House this year having stayed there last year - on both occasions to attend the St David's music festival in the Cathedral. Others staying at the same time were repeat bookings and also attended the music festival - a great endorsement of Suzanne's and Shaun's great hosting skills in which they manage to combine a relaxed homely feel with the professionalism of high quality hotel management. The attention to detail is superb and should our plans include the music festival in 2014 we will definitely look to re-book. Having stayed in other places in Wales, including St David's we consider it to be good value for money - not least because those little touches that seem to be the norm at Ramsey House are hard to put a price on. Our only 'caution' would be make sure you bring some comfy clothes as the hearty breakfast is so good and it's hard to know what to choose fron Shaun's excellent menu - all cooked and presented to perfection. Attending evening concerts means we have not yet eaten in the evening however we have no doubt that it would be of the highest standard and look forward to an opportunity to dine there in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a first-rate establishment in a beautiful part of Wales. Situated conveniently to access the stunning coastal path, it is an excellent location if you wish to become acquainted with the area. Ramsey House is extremely comfortable without being too fussy. Shaun and Suzanne are both friendly and informative, always at hand to help, but never intrusive. The standard of cuisine is excellent and Shaun's dinners are not to be missed. Situated on the outskirts of St David's, the cathedral, restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance. We can certainly recommend Ramsey House without reservation and shall certainly be returning there in the future. It is certainly worthy of every one of its five stars!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cennard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Despite an early arrival, we were greeted with tea and Welsh cakes. Throughout our stay, Suzanne and Shaun could not have been more warm and helpful, and they did it without being intrusive. They were willing to go to impressive lengths to make our stay perfect.
The decor was crisp, contemporary, yet cozy somehow. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. Although the shower was small, it was well appointed and modern, and the toiletries were top of the line.
The area is very quiet, but it is an easy stroll into St. David's and a nice walk to the coastal path. Suzanne's dinner recommendations in town were great, and they assisted with making reservations.
We had dinner at Ramsey House one night, and we were glad we did. It was a perfect meal. Shaun is an exceptional chef, and the food was creative, delicious, and excellently prepared. The rolls and bread, which Shaun bakes, were amazingly good (especially the granary ones). The breakfasts are also very good with options to please everyone.
We stayed in a range of places during our trip to Wales, but Ramsey House was by far my favorite. I found it well worth the cost and would go back to St. David's just to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalog15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from our 4th visit to Ramsey House, stayed in the "Teal Room" again, wonderfully presented room, beautiful colour scheme, stayed in many places previously but have never received the welcome that we receive each time we go to Ramsey House. Shaun & Suzanne are the perfect hosts nothing is too much trouble, genuinely nice people, Shaun is a genius in the kitchen, the food is, in our opinion, superbly cooked, superbly presented, well worth the money.We will be returning for a 5th visit next year! Hope the 'funky crab' salad is available when we return!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Davids hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St. Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St. Davids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 18 in St. Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsey House

Property: Ramsey House
Address: Lower Moor, St. Davids SA62 6RP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St. Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramsey House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Ramsey House, in the heart of Pembrokeshire.Ramsey House offers you the ideal combination of professional hotel management and the warmth of a luxury 5 star family-run boutique bed and breakfast in both accommodation and service, to the highest standards.Owners Shaun and Suzanne Ellison are proud of their very special guest-house. All rooms and bathrooms at Ramsey House have been refurbished to a luxury boutique style, and we look forward to welcoming you to our new contemporary accommodation. We have many years experience in the hospitality business and pride ourselves in combining this expertise with a warm and family ambience for your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ramsey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramsey House St. Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing