We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in St. Davids”
Review of Ramsey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ramsey House
Ranked #1 of 18 St. Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in St. Davids”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

All the other reviews are right. It combines the class of a boutique hotel with the friendliness of a bed and breakfast.

True, some of the rooms are not very large. But that is made up for by a location which is ten minutes walk from the sea and ten minutes from St. David's. The service is excellent: thoughtful and professional.

Special mention for the evening meal which is well worth staying in for, the best food we've had in four visits to St. David's. Leave room for some breakfast, there is a wide, interesting, and tasty choice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DamnMachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
307
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

There is only one word to describe Ramsey House and Shaun & Suzanne, ------- that word is wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Go and try Ramsey House yourself and you won't be disappointed. The welcome is warm and friendly, the rooms are lovely, the breakfasts a real treat and if you are lucky and Shuan cooks dinner for you, it is an experience you won't forget for a long time. A chef of the highest order., Shauns cooking is amazing and the dinner he cooked for my husband and I was one of the most delicious we have ever eaten.
Take home the home made fudge, marmalade and chutney, you won't be disappointed.
Yes my husband and I loved Ramsey House and will be returning

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sapper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
516 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This small hotel is truly lovely. Right from the moment we arrived we felt at home. Suzanne and Sean manage the place so well, I hesitate to use the term 'manage' in case that sounds impersonal because it certainly is not. Our room was excellent, with everything you could wish for, choice of teas, toiletries,soft fluffy towels, wifi ........ and so on. This is a modern house, so the rooms are not huge, but the clever use of space and good quality furniture and decoration means this is of no importance. Breakfast was delicious, large choice and all beautifully presented by Sean and served by Suzanne. We ate in the restaurant, and having wondered before our arrival, what this would be like, we were quite blown away with both the standard,choice and presentation. Sean is a superb chef and obviously takes great pride in his work. Vegetables are chosen to compliment the dish (not just a random selection), my dish came with a tiny stem of fennel, a baby turnip, a liitle courgette and a thin carrot that tasted exactly how carrots used to taste! Clearly everything is locally sourced. Good wine list also and a full range of pre and after dinner drinks are available.

Cannot recommend this boutique B and B too highly and how they manage to do so well, provide so much and care for two young children and two dogs and keep smiling beats me!

St Davids is delightful and the walking is superb. Other eateries worth trying are Saffron and Cwytch, different cuisine, to Ramsey House but not in the same league.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank moses_karibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I can't rate Ramsey House high enough. We've just returned from a weekend in St.Davids, and spent 3 nights at Ramsey House. The owners Shaun & Suzanne are extremely friendly and approachable and nothing is too much trouble. The B&B is beautifully decorated, as are the bedrooms. Lovely touches such as chocolates in the room and toiletries by L'Occitane. Comfy beds and feather pillows. Everything you need, such as hairdryer, radio, TV, plenty of storage. Breakfast was superb with a wide choice from cooked, to croissants, to grapefruit. Shaun is a former chef and the food is superb. If you stay here then stay in for at least one night and sample Shaun's cooking skills properly! We had one of the best meals in a long time. This is fine dining at it's best. I can't find anything bad to say about Ramsey House. It's not the cheapest place to stay but you get quality here in spades and was worth every penny.

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely. We stayed in Aquamarine which looked out over fields and had a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Luxurious finishing touches make this B&B a class apart.
Sean is an excellent chef whose skills are in the same league as some of the T.V./ Celeb. chefs that we have dined in.
Suzanne is the front of house and adds a charming and relaxing atmosphere to this small hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I popped in to enquire about vacancies - place looekd immaculate - clean, tidy and welcoming. Would have loved to have stayed but they were full at the time. Despite this, the propietor rang around a few places to find alternatives and was very informative and helpful about the area. Went out of his way -excellent customer service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren_and_Natalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this luxurious guest house, Suzanne and Sean were very welcoming and perfect hosts, we had an evening meal on the day of our arrival which was first class and presented in true top class chef style. Breakfast menu was wide and varied, not just the ususal fry up! The rooms are modern boutique style with plenty of drawers for storage and lovely touches - orchids in the rooms and chocolates and quality coffee etc. Just a few minutes walk to the Cathedral and town centre. We also walked to the harbour and across the cliffs to the St Nons Chapel and back via the lane to Ramsay House. We look forward to returning here soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 187791Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Davids hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St. Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St. Davids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 18 in St. Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramsey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramsey House

Property: Ramsey House
Address: Lower Moor, St. Davids SA62 6RP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St. Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ramsey House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Ramsey House, in the heart of Pembrokeshire.Ramsey House offers you the ideal combination of professional hotel management and the warmth of a luxury 5 star family-run boutique bed and breakfast in both accommodation and service, to the highest standards.Owners Shaun and Suzanne Ellison are proud of their very special guest-house. All rooms and bathrooms at Ramsey House have been refurbished to a luxury boutique style, and we look forward to welcoming you to our new contemporary accommodation. We have many years experience in the hospitality business and pride ourselves in combining this expertise with a warm and family ambience for your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Ramsey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramsey House St. Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing