We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very average coffee” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sound Cafe

The Sound Cafe
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in St. Davids
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Gloiucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very average coffee”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Pathetic cappuccino served with an excuse about the milk changing when the cows come into the barns - somebody has been reading too many forums - it's not like they had special milk from their own farm. My espresso was equally poor, don't think the cow's have much to do with that. Final straw was 90p charge for babyccino (first time we come across a charge for a thimbleful of milk). For coffee, go down the road to Pebble's, they can make consistently good coffee there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 2BugsOutnAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    138
    54
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Service with a smile. A good place for a Pitt stop. Also a great place to relax and watch the world go by.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MichaelJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast when visiting St David's and ate outside on a sunny morning.

The food was tasty and good quality. Service was friendly and laid back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Half a tomato?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Took my wife and family for breakfast here this morning before a long drive back from a stay in wonderful St David's. I chose this place as I saw that they made their own veggie sausages, and I was hoping that they might be vegan, because I am, and there's not much for vegan's to eat in St David's. Unfortunately they weren't, and not much on the menu was, I ended up having a 'build your own' breakfast which consisted of 1 piece of dry toast, half a tomato, 1 portobello mushroom, quite literally a quarter of a tin of baked beans and a side order of sweet potato fries (no hash browns or sauté potatoes on the menu), only they didn't have a full portion of sweets potato fries so I had half a portion with half a portion of normal fries. Now the food was nice, as was the coffee I also had, the issue was the portion size for the cost, I mean half a tomato, come on at least give me the other half too, based on the cost of my breakfast that half a tomato cost me around £1. In summary, nice, would be nicer if there were more choice for fussy vegans like me, and if the portion sizes were man sized or quite a bit cheaper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gdidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great way to start the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We popped in here one morning for a cooked breakfast and it was well worth it. Lovely laid back place fitting in well with the whole feel of the area in general. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the whole day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sound Cafe also viewed

St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to The Sound Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing