We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”

Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre
Ranked #5 of 14 things to do in St. Davids
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This free attraction is a Pembrokeshire Coast National Park Visitor Centre with an Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales Gallery. The sustainable building offers:- Artist in Residence Studio featuring local artists - Discovery Room for family activities and workshops - Visit Wales Tourist Information Centre - Cafe offering local produce and catering for all special diets- Tower exhibition space featuring community art projects. For details of what's on when, please visit our website.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was expecting a much larger gallery so this really was a bit of a letdown. The gallery is just one room, with some private studio space next door plus a TIC and cafe. The staff are great and everything, but that doesn't detract from the limited size and scope of the place. St. Davids in general was disappointing too - to me, it's a victim of too much tourism.

Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula E, Manager at Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for being so honest with your feedback. When you visited the gallery, the 2nd gallery space was transfored into a cinema to show for the first time the art film "A Setting" by Anthony Shapland. It was a privilage for us to be the first gallery to show this film at Oriel y Parc. For those visitors who expect a more traditional gallery space, Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales have, just this evening launched a new exhibition "Tooth and Claw : Sutherland's Bestiary and other animals" This exhibition makes full use of the two exhibition spaces. We would like to reassure future visitors that Oriel y Parc is primarily a National Park Visitor Centre which has many aspects including the gallery. We are very fortunate to work in partnership with Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales, allowing residents of Pembrokeshire and visitors to the area the opportunity to view artefacts and art works from the National Collection of Wales, all free of charge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tourist information"
in 22 reviews
"graham sutherland"
in 17 reviews
"helpful staff"
in 16 reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 5 reviews
"excellent visitor centre"
in 3 reviews
"attractive building"
in 3 reviews
"great introduction"
in 3 reviews
"interesting art"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 16 reviews
"local artists"
in 8 reviews
"on display"
in 9 reviews
"local area"
in 10 reviews
"great coffee"
in 5 reviews
"welsh cakes"
in 6 reviews
"coffee and cake"
in 4 reviews
"for sale"
in 8 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 20 reviews
Filter

248 - 252 of 296 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Not much to see or do and not worth planning a trip here. A small art exhibition and a shop was really all to see. Used to be much better when it had sealife!!

2  Thank DDM634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula E, Manager at Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

We are so sorry that you were dissapointed with your visit to Oriel y Parc. To reassure other visitors, we are primarily a National Park Visitor Centre containing a Visit Wales Tourist Information Desk, we have two gallery spaces which we offer free of charge in partnership with Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales, an Artist in Residence Studio which is home to Grahame Hurd-Wood until September 2013, a Discovery Room which offers art cart when not being used as a workshop/meeting venue, a gift shop, cafe and local art exhibition space on the cafe wall and in theTower. In addition, outdoors, we have a courtyard for al fresco dining and events, a picnic area and Rookery Woodland area to explore. We do hope that you will be able to return to enjoy some of the above aspects of Oriel y Parc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We popped in to the cafe on our way home for a spot of breakfast. Very reasonably priced (at time of writing full breakfast was £5 including a drink) and staff were polite and helpful. Managed to make the most of the sunshine as there are tables outside.

1  Thank melw266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula E, Manager at Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thanks for your lovely comment regarding the cafe at Oriel y Parc. As the cafe is franchised, they have their own Oriel y Parc Cafe trip advisor listing. It would be really helpful if you could list you feedback there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great exhibits and orientation to the area. Wonderful spot for lunch or tea.. Homemade food with many vegetarian options.

Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula E, Manager at Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

We are so pleased that you were inspired by our gallery to explore the Pembrokeshire landscape as Graham Sutherland was.

In addition to the vegetraian options in the cafe, we also offer vegan, dairy free and gluten free meals.

Thank you for your great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We usually pop through here on the way to the cathedral. Very informative and useful. Public toilets are clean. Car park right next to it is the best for the area.

Thank Terrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula E, Manager at Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for posting a note regarding your regular visits to Oriel y Parc. We are pleased that you find the facilities useful. Other visitors may be pleased to know that we not only offer Tourist Information, we also provide lots of information about the Pembrokeshire Coast National Park and how they can enjoy our special lansdcape and the wildlife we help to to conserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre also viewed

St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Oriel y Parc Landscape Gallery and Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing