We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YHA St Davids is brilliant”
Review of YHA St David's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Davids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YHA St David's
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hey Im a random kiwi guy that was on a cycle tour right through the UK. By the time I got to St Davids i was in need of a much needed rest. The supervisor David and volunteer Anna were bouth thier weight in gold with the service they provided. Geoff even washed my smelly clothes and hung them out when i forgot to hang them out! Outstanding. The prices for the rooms are normal for all YHA so you know what to expect. Also the interest that both Anna and Geoff have in you in wanting to now who you and what your life story is is phenomenal.

Right first and foremost i want to explain everything from an unbiased view about this hostel. So first of all I will naturally starts with the good then the bad.

GOOD - its close to magnificent beaches. A little walk from St Davids city centre but cuts right through paddocks to end up right next to the cathedral. The kitchens are functional, clean and with all modern amenities. The living areas are lovely with nice views overlooking the paddocks. The rooms are bunked mainly but cosy with in my opinion and rustic feel. The surrounding areas outside are well keep with a bbq that can be used. The whole hostel as a whole has a rustic charm that makes you feel at ease as soon as your there.

BAD - Absolutely bloody nothing!

Verdict - If you do not stay here you basically missing a trick. I had the most brilliant two days there to rest. Well done guys and keep it real.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daz I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for YHA St David's
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 55 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

Stayed for one night whilst walking the coast path. The manager Geoff was a smashing chap, very welcoming and helpful! As for the cost of a twin bunk room.... well over priced! Rooms are clean and functional. For a few pounds more, worth staying in a B&B with breakfast etc. Good location though but overall too much for a bunk bed. I never understand why in times of recession organisations operate ridiculous opening hours.... reception opened at 5.00pm which meant sitting around for a couple of hours before being able to drop gear off, get sorted and go for something to eat. If you like basic its fine.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_sarahBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a welcome sight on a wet Sunday afternoon after walking from Trefin. Stayed for two nights
the hostel was clean and warm and had all the facilities you expect. The manager Geoff was excellent even suppling me with milk for my cornflakes, also a mention for Margaret the volunteer who was friendly and well informed, thanks to you both.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This Youth Hostel is just off the Pembroke Coast Path its in a great location with wide expansive views, but the jewel in this Hostel is Geoff who runs the establishment full time. Geoff is a great host and cannot do enough for his guests right down to providing me with T bags which I'd forgotten yet again. I wouldnt hesitate to book into this Hostel again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thewalkerofthecoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We spent 3 nights here at the end of June 2012. The hostel is cosy & well equipped, beds are comfy and rooms are clean, albeit a bit small as commented on previous reviews. We walked down to Whitesands Bay and into St David's but the coastal bus service stops fairly close by if you want to avoid driving.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zanettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Overlooking the westerly-facing Whitesands Bay, this YHA, formerly a farm, is just a short stroll away from some stunning sunsets. See sample pic.

Of course, if the evening's sky isn't promising you could always stay in the cosy kitchen, fetch Scrabble from the living room and have another cup of tea and slice of Bara Brith ( delicious Welsh teacake - available in local shops)

The well-equipped kitchen, bathroom and bedroom were clean and warm. Jeff, the hostel's friendly manager, couldn't be more helpful (but why wouldn't he be? He lives in one of the most beautiful corners of Wales!)

While the rooms are on the smaller side, you're unlikely to want to spend much time in them with everything that St David's and Pembrokeshire has to offer. Most of the rooms seemed to be twins, with bunk beds. Each bunk has an individual reading light so if you do find yourself spending more time in your room, you can catch up on some reading without disturbing your bunkmate.

The tiny city of St David's is a 20 minute walk (or a short drive) away, along serene country lanes.

We stayed in February when the hostel was quiet. For an affordable short break by the sea it comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DO-bach R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We stayed at St David's Youth Hostel for 5 nights and were really pleased with our choice. The hostel is away from the city itself and it feels like a nice retreat, away from everything. It clearly has been recently modernised with a brand new and well stocked kitchen and clean rooms (albeit a bit too small) with shared bathrooms (again, new and clean). Ample parking is available if you are coming by car.

We were lucky to have fantastic weather during our stay and could enjoy wonderful walks on the Pembrokeshire coast, easily accessible from the hostel. It is also possible to do some horse riding (depending on the season, we were a little too early in the year for that)

Will definitely stay there again if we are lucky to visit the area another time.

Room Tip: I rated the room "average" due to the small size. Maybe some larger room are available but...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JapaneseFrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Davids
2.0 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
213 reviews
1.7 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St. Davids
348 reviews
1.9 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
YHA Poppit Sands
YHA Poppit Sands
#7 of 15 in Cardigan
28 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig-Y-Mor Bed and Breakfast
Craig-Y-Mor Bed and Breakfast
#8 of 18 in St. Davids
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Brecon Beacons
YHA Brecon Beacons
#1 of 1 in Libanus
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA St David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA St David's

Address: Llaethdy, St. Davids, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 Specialty Lodging in St. Davids
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the magic of the area with breathtaking bays, beaches and hills. This rural retreat is a converted farmhouse at Whitesands Bay, one of Britain's Blue Flag beaches, great for a cheap family seaside break. Swimming, surfing, coasteering, climbing, riding and walking - everything's here for a non-stop activity break or watersports holiday. Don't miss St Davids Cathedral and St Non's - a significant religious site. Try and pull in a visit to Ramsey Island, with its wealth of bird and sea life. There's a separate four bed unit that's great for family breaks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
YHA St David's St. Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing