We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central accomodation”
Review of The Coach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Coach House
Ranked #6 of 18 St. Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Central accomodation”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

What first struck us about this accomodation is the cleanliness. Almost everything is white or cream. Our room was on the front but as there is secondary glazing, there was no street noise. The breakfast was amazing. The vegetarian burgers were outstanding. There is a comfortable lounge.
It is true that there is no private parking but there is free parking in a parallel side street with a connecting foot path about 100 yards long which connects the side street and the door of the hotel. The owner helped us to unload before giving us simple instructions to the street.
We loved St. David's. The hotel is only a five minute walk from the not to be missed cathedral.
We intend to return to St David's and will always stay at this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NewcastleAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Many thanks for your great comments. We look forward to welcoming you at the Coach House again very soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    21
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
81
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2014

What a great B&B - friendly, welcoming and the most amazing breakfast ever. Incredible value for money. I stayed here the last time I visited St David's and would stay here again like a shot - if it's not already booked up.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nonamebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you, our aim is to provide great food and clean, comfortable accommodation so its great to know that we continue to fulfill your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The price was at the upper end of our budget. However by the end of our third day the cottage we decided offered excellent value for the six day's we were there. The space was spacious and clean. We had numerous requests on the first day that were all handled efficiently and with a smile. Breakfast felt like a little restaurant with more than one person attending to your needs. The choices were considerable with all cooked to perfection. This is a tourist town with prices reflecting that. However when things deliver it is a pleasure to pay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyramble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Family ramble thanks so much for your glowing review. We are all really pleased here that we are succeeding in offering a good service at competitive prices. It was really nice meeting you guys, and so pleased you all enjoyed your stay to our little City. I 'm sure the rest of your trip is going great, and look forward hearing about it. Hope to meet you all again someday soon. Le Chef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed for just one night in The Coach House over the Easter weekend. We had a warm welcome from the owner and he very helpfully gave us a map with recommended places to visit and dine in. Our room was at the front of the building and was a good size and very clean. The bathroom was modern and again spotlessly clean (and I'm a bit OCD about cleanliness!). We had a delicious cooked breakfast the following morning in the charming breakfast room. I would not hesitate in recommending The Coach House to others and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaFishergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your review, its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you to St Davids and the Coach House again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay. We had a double room with connecting single room for our 3 yr old son. It was quiet and comfortable (in fact we were the only ones making any noise! - sorry!). Breakfast was lovely and gave us an excellent start to the day. A great central location next to all the restaurants and cafés. Very helpful and welcoming owners giving us excellent tips on places to eat and places to go. Thank you for making our Easter holiday so perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Presence2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. And that we were able to help make your stay in St Davids and area hopefully memorable for you and your little boy - who we only heard making a noise once. Mikey thought is was possibly because he didn't like his breakfast!! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Adequate for a night's stay. We were walking the Pembrokeshire coastal path and had probably been spoilt by the excellent standards we had experienced elsewhere. The B&B has a central location and the room although small was clean. A few negatives though which we hope the owners will receive in the constructive manner they are intended. We couldn't open the window and it rattled throughout the night. We therefore had a very restless night's sleep. The shower wasn't the best in terms of water pressure or heat. But I suppose what irritated us most was having to sit in the breakfast room whilst the washing machine was on. It made for a quite unpeaceful atmosphere for breakfast. We appreciate that owners would prefer to have these comments made direct and at the time. Had we been staying longer, we would certainly have said something. However, we were facing a long journey home and wanted to get on the road as soon as possible. It was also the case though that nobody asked us if we had enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharkhugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your constructive comments.We appreciate the feedback. We are sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectation. Your comment about the shower are being looked into and the window issue has been resolved. I do not know which room you were in but I did find the lower half of a sash window in one room did not open. Although the upper half did.
It is our policy of course, not to use the washing machine until all guests have finished breakfast and left the dining room. Not sure why there was a slip up there.
I am very surprised and sorry that you were not asked if everything was OK with your stay, apologies for that. I do not know the dates of your stay with us. I can only think it coincided with an illness I picked up recently, when perhaps I was not concentrating as I should on maintaining our efforts to offer a high standard of customer service. Of course I would have preferred you to have raised these issues while you were here, but thank you for taking the time to draw them to my attention anyhow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

As a fussy traveller looked at other reviews and felt confident of a good stay.
The Coach House lived up to all expectations and can recommend it as one of the best places to stay in St Davids.
Very clean, all in good order, excellent service, great breakfasts, warm rooms, hot water, clean bedding, great value.
Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Photographicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve L, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks very much, pleased you were happy with everything here at the coach house. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Davids hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St. Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#4 of 6 in St. Davids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ty Boia B&B
Ty Boia B&B
#4 of 18 in St. Davids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Property: The Coach House
Address: 15 High Street, St. Davids SA62 6SB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St. Davids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coach House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Coach House St. Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing