We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Coach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Davids
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Coach House
Ranked #6 of 18 St. Davids B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The B&B is a great location in the centre of St David which is handy for the food and drink. It has access to the Coastal Path which about a mile away depending on which way you want to walk. The room was great and very clean and the food was excellent. Did realise my breakfast was cooked by the chef to the King and Queen of Jordan. Its great would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSledgehammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevejlawton, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your breakfast!! Hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 196 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed four days at Bwlch Carte annexe in mid-September. It was brilliant - contemporary comfort in a large room with views across to the coast. The facilities were immaculately clean - the tea/coffee/water supplies were refreshed each day. We hadn't booked breakfast but after our first morning sampling dishes from an extensive menu we went back every morning. St. Davids' is an excellent base for walking the cliff paths with views that include seals and dolphins. The hosts offer very useful advice on touring the area and are happy to help. A very enjoyable short break!

Room Tip: The annexe is spacious, light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMB2821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevejlawton, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our annex rooms at Bwlch Carte. We hope you will come and stay again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Coach House at the start of our coast path walk and were very happy that we had been booked there.
Location : Very central and convenient; was worried about noise from the street but as it turned out, it was unfounded.
Room/facilities : We had a comfortable and spacious room with ensuite bathroom, the entire place is clean and beautifully maintained.
Food : Agree with the numerous rave reviews on the breakfasts - Mr Lawton’s credentials as a chef are quite apparent! We also ordered 2 packed lunches and they were rather good too.
Service : Friendly, efficient and helpful, from the boss and everyone else.
Tell me again why I would want to stay in a regular hotel?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevejlawton, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for your kind review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the coach house. I am pleased you enjoyed your breakfasts and you found our staff friendly, efficient and helpful. I hope you will return again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

...I really don't remember when. The Coach House is just outstanding. If you want to know more than the 5/5* review, read on.

Let's start with the the 2 things most people have as selection criteria: where and how much?The Coach House is in the middle of St David's, within easy 5 min walk and park of everything there. That's in the middle of the St. David's Pembrokeshire peninsula which means a10 min walk to the coast, and 15 beautiful miles of coastline walkable to the average rambler or ambler, including Whitesands. It's also at a price that I'd describe as mid range for a B&B, and very low for a hotel. For what the team provide and maintain it's an absolute steal, if you are in the area, it's a no brainer.

The options on accommodation are excellent: singles, twins, doubles, even a cottage annex where you can bring your dog. All are just lovely, clean, bright, airy, inviting, warm, cosy, fresh, just how you'd do it yourself. But probably a bit nicer as maintaining that sort of effortless charm is really quite a talent. It's all accessibly, comfortingly, simply done out, with just an unfussy tweak of luxury here and there like the good beds and linen and complimentary organic toiletries.

Prior to that though, there's the reservation service. I was organising a charity walk with 3 other new colleagues, and a dog. Or two. I didn't know what we needed til a couple of days before, and the staff couldn't have been more flexible in support, clear on the options, rapid on the responses and engagingly warm. My fault really for leaving it so late but as I was booking for my boss they really saved my bacon. One just felt that although you were being a bit too much trouble, nothing would be too much trouble. Oh and we were arriving for a very late check in. Oh and could you suggest late dining options? 10 came back, with phone numbers and tips and proximity to the B&B. Plenty of 5* hotels charging 5 times the price wouldn't do that.

On check in there was no hint of hurry up and bugger off even though it was very late. Breakfast options were clear, flexible, local and ultimately delicious with quality items like local thick cured bacon, figgy fruit salad, cockles and laverbread. The owner seemed to be about, in the kitchen and the office all the time with top local tips and enquiries as to assistance, he even magically seemed to be about when we were considering the evening pub options outside the building. Always with time and interest to chat, relaxed, welcoming, experienced and professional.

It's a top spot, it has all the comfort, wifi, service, great breakfasts, proximity and professionalism you'll ever need, an an attractive dollop of X factor to boot. The very best of British, I'll be back.

Room Tip: Go for "the cottage" if you have a dog!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TigerTim76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevejlawton, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review Tim, I am glad both you and your colleagues enjoyed your stay at the coach house (and the dog). It's a pleasure to hear you were happy with every aspect of your stay and I hope you will return to St Davids and stay with us again in the near future.
Well done to you all on completing your walk!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A Fantastic B and B right in the heart of St Davids with delicious Vegetarian Breakfast. And a wonderful choice for those who eat me and fish. Can't wait to go back. Many thanks for great stay and a very friendly welcome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David-John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevejlawton, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you so much for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and your vegetarian breakfasts. I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Traveling for month in UK. 1 week in Wales. Have traveled throughout Europe but first time in UK. Stayed here for 2 nights and we were very satisfied with the accommodation. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms were clean and comfortable. You will not be disappointed staying here. Location is perfect for hikes on the coastal paths. Stephen is very knowledgeable/helpful with day planning. Courtyard in back was nice for a little wine and cheese and chat.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevejlawton, Manager at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at the coach house, especially your breakfasts!! I hope you will come and stay again if you are in the UK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having stayed before in the main house we had high hopes for the annexe, where we had to stay because it was full.
We were not disappointed the welcome, accommodation and breakfast were first class!!
Bwlch Carte - the annexe - would a fabulous place to stay in the summer. Well appointed and with fantastic views - including sunsets.
Attention to detail and sorting out minor issues is exemplary - we'll be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert_buck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevejlawton, Owner at The Coach House, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments Mr Buck. I am so glad you both enjoyed your stay at Bwlch Carte and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Davids hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St. Davids
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waterings
The Waterings
#7 of 18 in St. Davids
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Penrhiw Hotel
Penrhiw Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Davids
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grove Hotel
Grove Hotel
#5 of 6 in St. Davids
325 reviews
4 mi away
Caerhys Farm
Caerhys Farm
#1 of 1 in Berea
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach House

Address: 15 High Street, St. Davids SA62 6SB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in St. Davids
Price Range: $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Coach House St. Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing