We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Ramsey Island Boat Trips -Thousand Islands Expeditions
Ranked #5 of 13 Tours in St. Davids
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ramsey Island RSPB Nature Reserve, ferry boat daily. Whale and dolphin watching trips, see Grassholm Island Gannet colony, Puffins around Skomer Island, jet boat trips and leisurely cruises around the islands with a wildlife guide onboard. See our Atlantic Grey Seals, hundreds of seabirds, whales and dolphins, pass below some of the highest cliffs in Wales, witness the turbulent white water in Ramsey Sound where our resident Harbour Porpoise feed, visit the sea caves, bays around the island.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Exciting trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Trip on a well organised RIB round the island. Quite choppy and exciting at the southern end, and good commentary from crew member.

Lots of wildlife seen, and we felt safe throughout..

Agree with comment elsewhere about shortage of parking near embarkation point, and its quite a climb down/up to.from the jetty.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dillipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    18
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mystic mist”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We really didn't think the boat would go to the Island as the sea mist covered everywhere. Quite a dramatic effect as you couldn't see the Island let alone where the sky stopped and the sea started! RSPB wardens extremely well informed and interesting. Two new-born seal pups made it all worthwhile as a bit hard to see the birds. The many steps involved in making the crossing need to be borne in mind for the physically challenged.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank r0sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“At last”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Yes , at last indeed. After several abortive attempts due to adverse weather, we finally managed to board a boat to take us round Ramsey Island. We didn't land but saw so many beautiful sights including many seals and sea birds. The highlight was the very informed commentary given with gusto from an enthusiastic young man who was suffering from loss of voice. Unperturbed he enthused us with stories (short, long and shaggy?) and delighted in answering our questions. The cost (£25 each) seemed a bit steep but I had no experiences to compare it. A memorable trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weymouth27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
1,070 reviews
679 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
“Great day out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The boat trip to Ramsey Island provides an opportunity to view shore birds up close and circumnavigation of Grassholm island provides more sightings. If lucky you may view seals or porpoises. Since trips are weather dependent sign up early in your visit to insure a gale doesn't interfere with your opportunity to go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjrg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great experience (but very wet!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went on a whale and dolphin trip this week which was an amazing experience overall.

Parking nearby is very limited and we were lucky to get the last space - otherwise we wouldn't have made it in time to catch the boat as the nearest car park was a long walk away. The booking staff didn't tell us this, so we were just lucky on the day.

We felt a bit 'messed around' when our trip kept getting cancelled and re-booked for another day or a later time. I think you just have to be flexible about this as it depends on the sea conditions etc., but it does sort of become annoying when you get up early and then are cancelled or when you have to arrange your day around the possibility of a trip happening. However, having said that - I would do it again and it was well worth it!

The other piece of information (aside from the potential parking problems) that was missing when we booked was just how wet we were going to get on the boat. That may sound naive but, having never been out on a boat trip like this before, we just wore jumpers and rain coats but actually needed hats, and glasses (so much spray in my eyes), and waterproof trousers, and proper waterproof coats. For a little while it was very uncomfortable as we got completely soaked. Luckily the very kind guide gave us some waterproof trousers and more coats to go over our legs...

Anyway, the guide was quite interesting and informative. And we saw lots of common dolphins which were so playful and friendly, they swam all around the boat and under us, they were so lovely! We also saw a gannet colony and some seals.

All in all, a really great experience and one I would book again - but would definitely prepare better next time!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank sallyhawkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramsey Island Boat Trips -Thousand Islands Expeditions also viewed

 
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Ramsey Island Boat Trips -Thousand Islands Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing