We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great afternoon out on the jet boat with friends”

Ramsey Island Boat Trips -Thousand Islands Expeditions
Ranked #6 of 12 Tours in St. Davids
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ramsey Island RSPB Nature Reserve, ferry boat daily. Whale and dolphin watching trips, see Grassholm Island Gannet colony, Puffins around Skomer Island, jet boat trips and leisurely cruises around the islands with a wildlife guide onboard. See our Atlantic Grey Seals, hundreds of seabirds, whales and dolphins, pass below some of the highest cliffs in Wales, witness the turbulent white water in Ramsey Sound where our resident Harbour Porpoise feed, visit the sea caves, bays around the island.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great afternoon out on the jet boat with friends”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We decided to take a two hour jet boat trip with Thousand Islands, the sun came out for our trip. We sat and watched the seal colony on Ramsey and 100's of puffins in the bay on Skomer. A great view of a buzzard chasing a rabbit on the cliffs above us, which it caught. The crossing between Ramsey and Skomer was very exhilarating and the guide very informative.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hazydays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    22
    5
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A trip to Ramsey Island is a great way to spend a day. Beautiful scenery and fantastic wildlife, plus well informed staff on the island. Ignore the comments from the negative reviewer below. I've been to loads of other similar islands and getting on and off the boat with this tour is no different to them. I think the reviewer is forgetting that the sea can be a dangerous thing and that there will always be times when it is impossible to get onto islands safely. And as for getting wet on the boat - it's an uncovered boat- what do you expect when there are waves?! It does state on their website and leaflet that landings are dependant on the weather.

This is the only company with a licence to land on Ramsey, so if you do want to go, and I'd recommend it, they're the only option.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RubberRingRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not go to ramsey island with these people - chances are you wont even be able to land on the island!!!”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Upon arriving at st justinians launch i was suspicious as there was no proper launch or jerry as the operator use a lifeboat launch. unsuitable. we had to board by clambering round a tiny ledge. unsafe and unsuitable for families. there was no warning that we were likely to get very wet and the boat set off at speed drenching everyone esp people sat round sides. No joke in wintery conditions. no warning or waterproofs were offered. at ramsey island there is no proper launch only three rspb staff waiting to check your bags for rats...yes really! Skipper decided that 'sudden Atlantic swell' would make landing impossible. We waited for five mins to see if went down but did not. Very little explanation or apology offered. we took chance to get a full refund. as a veteran of many boat trips round the world i was appalled from the word go by the unsuitability of the launch and landing facilities. the operator blames the rspb who do not have money to install anything better on the island. if this is the case they should stop taking money and offering trips. one poor lady almost fell in the sea disembarking as was so dangerous. all in all a complete waste of time and dangerously mismanaged. claims that 'it is normally fine' seem hollow based on how difficult it would be to disembark on anything but a dead calm sea...highly unlikely on an exposed Atlantic island. we missed our chance to visit any island as thousand island tours wasted our final day. take the boat to skomer with another boat operator!!!

Helpful?
4 Thank katkowalewska79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy P, Public Relations Manager at Ramsey Island Boat Trips -Thousand Islands Expeditions, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
As the RSPB Ramsey Island warden, I would just like to clarify the situation with regards to visiting the reserve:

The arrangement in St Justinians is a unique working partnership between the RNLI, RSPB and local boat operators. Boats crossing visitors to Ramsey have used the Lifeboat station slipway for well over 30 years without incident.

Disembarking passengers in Ramsey harbour is subject to sea conditions and the safety of our passengers is a priority. If it is unsafe to land visitors then the Thousand Islands skipper and RSPB staff will not hesitate to cancel a landing. Whilst this can be disappointing for passengers, your safety comes first and we do not apologise for that. The skipper of the Gower Ranger is a hugely experienced, local seaman and is also a senior member of the St Davids’ lifeboat crew.

A comprehensive accessibility statement has been available on our website for the last two years. Here you can find advice about the landings and the terrain once on the island. Crucially it also provides photographs of the harbour, so that people can make an informed decision about the suitability of the trip before they book. Contact information is also given for island staff if people wish to discuss their requirements in advance. Please see:

http://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves/guide/r/ramseyisland/accessibility.aspx

Whilst the RSPB and the RNLI are both charities, we take our public liabilities extremely seriously. The integrity and safety of the landings in St Justinians and Ramsey harbour are never compromised.

And finally, I can not stress enough how important Bio-security is to the world-famous wildlife of the Pembrokeshire Islands. Burrow nesting seabirds like Puffin and Manx shearwater are highly vulnerable to introduced predators such as rats. RSPB have worked tirelessly to rid Ramsey of rats over the last 12 years with huge increases in seabird numbers since that time. To politely ask visitors to check their bags is surely not an unreasonable request, in order to secure the future of our special islands?

We do not check any of our visitors’ bags, but we do greet all our visitors personally, provide maps and give an informative introductory talk.

I can only apologise for any inconvenience caused on the last day of your holiday. However, all of the Pembrokeshire islands are subject to cancelled sailings, sometimes at the last minute and all ask for our visitors help in safeguarding the safety of our wildlife for generations to come.

Lisa Morgan. RSPB Ramsey Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ramsey Island - boat trip”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Although I wasn't able to go on this visit, I did make the trip to Ramsey Island on a previous day trip to St Davids. It's an exciting jaunt and the bird life on the island is fascinating!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank modira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great trip”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The island has its own 3 peak challenge with gentle strolls in between. Getting there is easy by the boat from St Justinians but be sure to book a landing cruise. The wildlife is great, all sorts of birds, and then there are the seals and now, at this time of the year, their pups. A great day out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank destay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ramsey Island Boat Trips -Thousand Islands Expeditions also viewed

 
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to Ramsey Island Boat Trips -Thousand Islands Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing