We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service lacking.....!”
Review of The Bench

The Bench
Ranked #2 of 2 Dessert in St. Davids
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Customer service lacking.....!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Took a trip to St Davids today. It was a lovely warm day so we thought a nice cold ice cream was in order. We normally go to Chapel Chocolates for fantastic ice cream but we decided to try The Bench for a change as it always seemed to be busy. Wish we hadn't bothered! We order two cones, a Celtic Crunch and a Mint Choc Chip. The Celtic Crunch was fine but the Mint Choc Chip was awful!! It tasted almost medicinal. I took it back to The Bench and spoke to a staff member who said go through to the back and speak to Gianni, which I did. Explained the strange taste to the owner who seemed completely uninterested and said we have been making this for years with a shrug of his shoulders. Suggested he might want to try it in case it was a bad batch but not interested, obviously has loads of business from the tourist trade so not worried about any unhappy customers. Chucked it in the bin and will be back to Chapel Chocolates every time for us for fabulous ice cream.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WelshNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    17
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing ice cream”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We had the Pembrokeshire promise and the honey and ginger both lovely.

Best ice cream we've had in ages!

We will defiantly be back again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charj1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Dogmaels, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best ice cream ever!!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

They must have over 25 different kinds of ice cream, if not more, but their pistachio ice cream is divine! It is really hard to choose just one flavour, they are all amazing! Best ice cream shop ever, and we go there every time we are in St Davids. The best part is that the ice creams are so big, that you struggle to finish them - so excellent value for money (in fact, last time we were there, the kids couldn't finish theirs!!).

Great place, highly recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Ice Cream”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great little ice cream parlor in an amazing location. Gets very busy during weekends and sunny days so make sure you get there early. They have a huge selection of flavors to choose from so you wont be disappointing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyJones2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Customer service leaves a bad taste”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The icecream here is good but it's soured by the extremely poor customer service! On a number of occasions I have witnessed staff being unfriendly to customers and even complaining to other customers that time is money - if that is their attitude to holidaymakers they are in the wrong business as their customer base is 100% tourists.

On my most recent visit I was shocked by the customer service. It was out of season and so I was one of the few customers they had had recently, and had also given them custom the day before. I cheerily told them I was going to buy a 1 litre tub (the most expensive item on the menu) but my partner did not know what the marsala wine flavour one was like and please could he have a small taste. I know from working in icecream parlours that this is a normal request that one would expect to be accommodated. However I was told rudely by Gianni (the owner) that they don't do that. Given that his USP is the unusual flavours he should be prepared for customers to ask for a taster - especially those who are buying the most expensive item on the menu. He was also very rude when we asked him about which flavours are most popular and altogether left us feeling we had been an inconvenience.

The icecream is delicous but it put a downer on our holiday when everyone else we encountered in St. Davids was very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bench also viewed

St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
 

Been to The Bench? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing