We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grove Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in St. Davids
Reviewed October 26, 2013

we stayed at the Grove for one night, Oct 19. The room was clean, comfortable, and quiet - even with a fireplace. Only drawback was the fact that it had no windows. Service was fine and good value. Sufficient parking and wifi service in room was appreciated. Breakfast was ample and good quality. We enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 337 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is good value and well-located on the High Street in St David's. We were in room 6 which I see has been critised by others, but found it very light and airy and comfortable. Indeed, it was much better than the room which we were initially offered which had no windows. I would have given the hotel a higher grade - but I do think we should have been warned that some rooms have no windows. It was only lucky that we could move to a different room.

The breakfast was fine and there was ample parking. The staff were friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Beware that some of the rooms have no windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0binsRule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We didn't stay there, just visited for lunch, with my elderly parents, on the way to visit St David's Cathedral. The service was good, and the sourdough bread baguettes, which we all chose, were absolutely delicious. My mother had a glass of the house white wine, which was very enjoyable. The setting was clean and attractively decorated.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank wendydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Bar and dining area nice and clean. Our room, ( No 4) although comfortable could do with a lick of paint.The staff are nice and friendly.
Over the course of our stay I tried everything on the breakfast menu and I can say it cannot be faulted.
We had dinner only the one night and I'd recomend the halibut steak...delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

we had lunch here and sat in a very pleasant garden which was spoilt by the very loud noise of the extracter fan. We decided to come back in the evening to try the lobster. After ordering our meal we were told that my husbands starter of proscuito ham and celeriac was out of season! He then ordered the same starter as mine (scallops) but was then told there was only one portion left so had to reorder for 3rd time. The lobster arrived with a large salad that had no dressing whatsoever apart from the water it had been washed in. We had to ask for mayo and were given a tiny dish between us. llso had to ask for more cutlery.The service was slow ,so slow the table behind us gave up after waiting nearly an hour and recieved a burnt offering. Sorry to be so negative but it really was very dissappointing

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank McScotlandBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

On arrival we were greeted well, checked and shown our rooms very well and efficiently,

We had 2 x twin rooms, they were a little small but modern and clean.

The location was great for our trip and the staff were allways friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Grove Hotel is situated at the top of St David's opposite the car park for the tourist information. The hotel has its own parking and it is a pleasant short walk into the centre and the cathedral.
We were a bit dubious about staying here as they were the last rooms we could get in St David's at half term and we know the pub gets extremely busy. However we were pleasantly surprised when we were shown to our cosy little room on the end of the corridor on the ground floor. It was small but charming with a fire place for a bit of character. Sadly no bath but an adequate shower en-suite.
We have had a meal here before so knew how busy the bar gets and thought it would be very noisy. However there were two fire doors between our room and the bar and I would have to say we couldn't hear a thing.
Our evening meal was very good and service despite it being very busy was friendly and as fast as it could be - but we weren't in any hurry! Cooked breakfasts were very good too with a nice choice of hot food.
We found all the staff very friendly and they obviously worked very hard. Thank you to them for a very pleasant long weekend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beansabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Davids
0.2 mi away
St. Davids Cross Hotel
St. Davids Cross Hotel
#2 of 6 in St. Davids
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
240 reviews
18.5 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
238 reviews
12.5 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
466 reviews
22.3 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grove Hotel

Address: High Street, St. Davids SA62 6SB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids Peninsula > St. Davids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in St. Davids
Price Range: $82 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel St. Davids, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing