We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable hosts in a beautiful old house in a peaceful setting.”
Review of Haroldston Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portfieldgate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haroldston Hall
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very hospitable hosts in a beautiful old house in a peaceful setting.”
Reviewed June 18, 2010

We booked 3 nights but enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra night. Very comfortable accommodation. Charming, welcoming hosts and superb breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We arrived to a very warm welcome which included a lovely cup of tea and "bara brith" which we took out to sit on the garden bench which has a wonderful view out over the bay. Stewart had very kindly sent us a list of local places to eat and we had booked a table at Druidston - an interesting experience!
Our room was very spacious with a large four poster bed which was hand made by Stewart who is a very talented carpenter. There was a large en-suit bathroom with a bath and shower and plenty of toiletries and even a shower hat supplied. There was a lovely tray with plenty of tea, coffee, biscuits, two bottles of water and even some sweets in the bedroom.
The breakfast was laid out in the dining room next morning and all the guests sat together and we enjoyed having an early morning chat with the other guests over a very good breakfast. There was fruit, fruit juice and a choice of cereals to begin and then there was a fantastic breakfast cooked in the Aga with plenty of toast, tea or coffee. We were showed the orangary where guests were welcome to sit and relax but luckily we had glorious weather so remained ouside rather than sitting inside.
This is a lovely country house with a peacock roaming around outside the house, chickens in the garden and horses out the back, and of course in the country you expect to hear country noises in our case the peacock calling at night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cymraes26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We arrived in the evening to a warm welcome by the owners of the B&B (Stuart and Judith), they suggested we look for somewhere to eat quickly and told us about some good restaurants in near by Little Haven. We enjoyed two wonderful fish dishes at the Swan pub and then came back to our cosy room with king size, very comfortable, four poster bed! Next day woke up opened the shutters to a glorious day with a wonderful outlook and there a peacock displaying its feathers to our hired car! Wow what a place we thought! We then enjoyed our big en-suit bathroom all very nicely decorated with good working shower, and then went downstairs to where we were seated in a wonderful dining room with fire lit and breakfast laid out with tasty compot and healthy muselis and fruit etc and then a wonderful home cooked breakfast to follow. The owners came in now and then bringing us our agar cooked breakfast and tea, coffee etc, happy to chat to us about the area and our plans and the history of the house, also asking us how we had slept and if everything was ok. They are both extremely friendly, welcoming, nice, helpful and fun people and we just felt very at home. We then wandered around the garden, came across a little pond with ducks and then a lovely walled garden with a perfect lawn and there some hens (where our breakfast eggs came from!), and then beyond that a bench with an outlook over fields to the sea, and then round the back there were stables where we met two horses, mother and son, and Judith who was happy to talk to us about the animals.
The area of Pembrokeshire is just stunning and we enjoyed many coastal walks and also on the high moorlands with views in all directions. The B&B is very well located, close to the sea, and also in good distance of many places to explore. The little city of St Davids is well worth a visit.
I think we just had such a wonderful time on our 4/5 day holiday, enjoying Pembrokshire in all it has to offer, and very happy with the B&B we chose to stay. I recommend Haroldston Hall for anyone who is looking for a comfortable, welcoming stay in a proper country home with all the animals(forgot to mention two dogs, an old sheep dog and a little white terrior, also very happy to meet you too!) We felt like we had made some good friends by the end of it, not just Stuart and Judith, but also the other guests who we would coincide with at breakfast time with lots of stories of what they had been doing the day before etc. An all round great holiday! Thank you Stuart and Judith!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Getawayfromlondon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We travelled from Spain to Wales for the Easter break. I have been in several other B&B in the UK, and I have to say that the Haroldston Hall has been the best experience that I have had by far.

The place is absolutely great and full of history, really nice gardens with great views to fields and the sea on the background; a pond with ducks; some hens that supply fresh eggs for an excellent breakfast; a gentle shepherd dog, two horses and even a peacock that greats you with a beautiful display of colours.

The owners, Judith and Stuart, were absolutely brilliant. They were really welcoming, informative and really caring.

We stayed in a fabulous room with views to the front garden, big in-suit toilet and a bed that makes you feel like a god: a king size four poster bed. It really feels like staying on a 5 start hotel, really clean, towels seemed to be changed every day and even nice toiletries were supplied: shampoo, shower gel and shower cap.

Breakfasts were the best: a mix of excellent food with excellent entertainment. We were seated in a magnificent dinning room warmed by a lit homely fireplace. There was only one big family table, so we shared it with other guests. At the beginning we thought it was a bit strange. However, breakfast became and excellent way of starting the day, with lots of laughs and conversations; Stuart sense of humour and multiple anecdotes were delightful. Breakfast became also a great source of information about what to do and what to see as previous day’s experiences and plans were shared among us. We were lucky, it was a bit like a G20 breakfast sharing the table with English, French and us as a representation of Spain. The choice of breakfast excellent: full English breakfast + Continental + fruit …, ideal source of energy for the great walks we enjoyed in the coastal paths.

María (my girlfriend) loves animals and she spent great deal of time with Judith, going around the stables and talking about the horses, hens …

I would highly recommend this B&B to any Spanish thinking of visiting Wales as the owners have a second house in Spain and they are really found of our culture. Actually I will recommend the Haroldston Hall to anyone looking to stay in a traditional B&B, full of British history and with an excellent value for money rate.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WalkingWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2008

This Bed and Breakfast should be downgraded immediately to 2*.

The room was dusty with spiders and cobwebs on the windows, and very cold. The bathroom was dirty and needed a good clean.

We had a distinctly frosty reception from the owner as we turned up early, and he did not offer use of the guest lounge, or any of the other extras advertised on the website.

The breakfast was okay, but it had to be ordered the night before and no alternatives to a cooked breakfast were offered. We were made to feel distinctly uncomfortable because we arrived 5 minutes late for breakfast: We left that day.

Much better value can be found elsewhere.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AvonRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

We booked this B&B thinking it was a 4* as advertised on various websites and tourist board sites. Unfortunately it wasn't a 4* more a 2.5 to 3. The cleaning wasn't up to 4* standard with the spiders and cobwebs proving the case. The room was very old and tired looking. It was called the pink room but was actually orange. The welcome was a little cold too as we turned up early. No offerings of a choice of breakfast and no mention on the inviting lounge we could use. Breakfast was OK. You are sat around a dining table with the other guests which is very cosy if you like that sort of thing. We were looking for a bit of luxury and comfort so this place didn't really stack up to our expectations but we may have compromised if it was cleaner.

Helpful?
6 Thank pussnoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portfieldgate
4.5 mi away
Fields Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Fields Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Milford Haven
261 reviews
6.3 mi away
Foxdale Guest House
Foxdale Guest House
#2 of 3 in Marloes
84 reviews
4.1 mi away
Southwood Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Cuffern Manor Country House
3.0 mi away
East Hook Farm & Country House
East Hook Farm & Country House
#3 of 45 in Haverfordwest
117 reviews
3.8 mi away
Roch Castle Hotel
Roch Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Roch
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haroldston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haroldston Hall

Property: Haroldston Hall
Address: Portfieldgate, Portfieldgate SA62 3LZ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Portfieldgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Portfieldgate
Hotel Class:4 star — Haroldston Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing