We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such an Interesting visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pembroke Castle

Pembroke Castle
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Pembroke
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most magnificent of Britain's castles is the "birth place of the Tudor Dynasty." You can climb the 80ft Great Keep, descend into a pre-historic cave and look down into a prisoner in a medieval dungeon. There is also a cafe and gift shop. During school holidays there are falconry displays, historic re-enactments and family entertainment. The main exhibition rooms display models and weaponry as well as telling the story of the history of the castle. You can also visit the room that King Henry VII the founder of the Tudor Dynasty was born.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Such an Interesting visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife & I visited Pembroke Castle during a visit to the area and have to say what an interesting visit it was.
Having paid the £5.50 entrance fee each, we paid an extra £1.50 each to receive a guided tour of the castle. This turned out to be a great idea as we learnt so much more from the guided tour than you could do on your own.
The tour lasted an hour at least and Martyn, the guide was fantastic, very interesting and full of facts.
The castle and grounds are lovely, with plenty of room for a picnic. The only slight negative was the cafe, having to pay over £14 two large rolls (served in plastic trays) and a tea and coffee (served in plastic cups). Look to eat at the many cafes that can be found in the main street in Pembroke.
However, despite this small moan, we would highly recommend Pembroke Castle for anyone in the area interested in history.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Attews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,050
    307
    29
    12
    5
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Castle for kids to explore...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Pembroke Castle is great for all ages, though some of the staircases are steep and go on forever. My two sons had a wonderful time clambering up and down towers, and down to a cavern beneath the castle. Whilst adults can immerse themselves in the complex history of the castle which is the birth place of Henry Tudor VII or just enjoy the views. Entrance fees are really reasonable, £12 for a family.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kirstenlorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A wonderful castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I may be a bit biased as I live locally but having again visited this wonderful castle I think it is probably one of the best castles in the country. My grandchildren love exploring the steep towers and battlements and especially love the Cavern but can never agree on the number of steps down/up. The added attraction of "special" days such as Dragon Days makes it a more entertaining for younger children and is very popular with holidaymakers. Face painting and the barbecue food is another welcome addition. Definitely worth a visit if you have not yet been to Henry V11's birthplace.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

It was great place and able to take our dogs round with us which was a first for them. Lovely place to visit interesting cafe was a lovely place to eat staff friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosiespend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“excellent day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

well worth the trip, during the holidays they have entertainment for the children, we saw a dragon wandering around the castle and small dragons being introduced to children.

it is great to see so many children there. People can also take dogs in

The café on site had a bbq and sandwiches and cakes available and wasn't too expensive. There was an ice cream stand too.

My only whinge is not at the venue, or the organisers but the public. There are a great number of bins around the site, but lazy visitors would leave their empty cups and cans on the walls around the battlements and ruins. Disgusting disrespect for people and this great castle

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pembroke Castle also viewed

 
St. Davids, St Davids Peninsula
Tenby, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Pembroke Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing