We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't forget to grab a front door key!!”
Review of Coach House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coach House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Pembroke
Certificate of Excellence
Walney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Don't forget to grab a front door key!!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Upon on arrival, advised by reception to take a front door key if I was expected to return after 11. We didn't plan to be but took one anyway. Just as well, we arrived back at 10:15pm, nobody around and all locked up. The bar was all shut and everything in darkness. As you can't take your room key out with you (attached to a large ball) we assumed the front door key also gained entry to the room, to our surprise, we found our room key on reception where anyone could have taken it and gone into the room.
Nobody was around in the morning in reception when we went to leave to complain.....we didn't leave early, it was 09:30.
The rooms have paper thin walls or the person next door snored very loudly. The floor boards in the corridors and nearby rooms all creak so it is quite noisy.
The bedding didn't seem fresh, didn't smell clean and feel crisp and fresh.
On a positive note though, the food was good in the restaurant and this includes the breakfast. The full breakfast is huge and I didn't eat anything from 08:30 until very late in the afternoon.
The staff were very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walneybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    56
    20
    7
    13
See reviews for
23
76
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had a birthday meal here for 12 in August and had a great time. The restaurant was full, all our meals were hot and lovely and coped with being busy very well. I have often eaten here and have always had lovely meals. The staff were friendly and the meals were all very nice. I will definitely be going back. Very good value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michele w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights. Arrived just after 2pm and weren't able to book in till 3 so went into town for a stroll and a bite to eat.
The room was comfortable and well furnished; the bed was enormous, the bathroom was a little tired looking but serviceable although a proper toilet roll holder would have been so much easier than the dodgy dispenser that seemed reluctant to give up the goods! Tea, coffee and milk were replenished every day along with a bottle of water each which was a lovely touch.
I found the first night extremely noisy with folks crashing around upstairs, tvs blaring and seemingly everyone smoking and coughing loudly right outside and truthfully I barely slept and then just as I did start to drift off somebody rolled a couple of huge industrial sized wheelie bins past the window. There was also a room right on the end of the corridor with the door at a right angle right next to ours and every time that door was unlocked it sounded as if they were trying to get into our room as the huge cannon ball the key was attached to crashed into the door. The rest of the week I wore earplugs at night and was worn out enough with all the walking we did to sleeep well.
The staff were all cheerful, the breakfasts were awesome although breakfast itself was very disorganised on the 2nd morning with coffee and juices empty already when we arrived (8am) and a long wait for replenishment.
Did not like the key attached to a cannonball and did not like leaving it behind the desk every time we went out as there was hardly ever anyone on reception, I had to reach over the counter more than once to retrieve it and one time when I was balancing on my stomach feeling around under the desk someone did come and handed it to me saying "I just thought I'd watch you for a while" I thought this was rotten security as obviously I could have been any opportunist thief wandered in from outside.
The corridor to get to the room was very narrow and I apologise to any other guests staying there as it was impossible to carry our luggage down there without banging into the walls.
However, if you are using the place as a base to go walking from it is ideal as both the bus to Tenby and the coastal cruiser stop right outside and the staff were so pleasant that any drawbacks were negligable. We did not eat in the restaurant so have nothing to say about that although the specials board looked good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onlyhereforthebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is excellent value for money. The staff are friendly and helpful and very hardworking. Room was a bit on the small side but adequate and the bed was comfortable. We stayed for a week while we used the buses every day to do more of the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path. We were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the food in the restaurant, both the breakfast(although sometimes they didn't have the chopped fruit bowl that I always eat for breakfast and which I can always get now even in the lowliest B & B) but the cooked breakfast is always perfectly cooked(the opposite of a greasy mess) and the evening meals were excellent (especially the fish). I think the young chef is doing an excellent job we have had worse meals at Michelin starred restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Arrived about 4 pm after very long day. Was met by Katie on reception,who couldn't do enough for us ,she was extremely friendly and helpful. She suggested we book for dinner as it was Bank holiday weekend so every where would be booked. The hotel was clean and very comfortable and in a great position. Dinner at the motel was delicious and breakfast was excellent a large choice.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful especially Katie.. Will recommend to friends and family...

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The bedrooms very really comfortable, with all the usual amenities. Food was good, the only downside whilst we were there were the road works outside. A good situation for exploring the Pembroke National Park

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

A friend and I stayed in the Coach House Hotel before running the Wales Half-Marathon last Saturday. We wanted somewhere nice, comfortable and near to the start line. From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly, welcoming and gave us all the information we needed. There was ample parking, the room was a nice size with tea and coffee facilities, and the bathroom was clean and full of all amenities. Evening meal was delicious - we each had starter, main course and dessert and it was all home-cooked food, good portions and lovely, with good speedy service. We were seated straight away and dealt with by very friendly staff. The room was quiet in the evening so it was a great night's sleep, and breakfast in the morning was very nice, again with great service. The staff wished us luck with our run, and gave a very personal touch to our stay rather than a 'corporate' hotel feel. We would both return to this hotel without any doubts, and would like to thank the staff for a lovely stay before a very hectic day of running! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
0.3 mi away
Old Kings Arms Hotel
Old Kings Arms Hotel
#3 of 4 in Pembroke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lamphey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
8.2 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
2.8 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coach House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel

Property: Coach House Hotel
Address: 116 Main Street, Pembroke SA71 4HN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coach House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Coach House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach House Hotel Pembroke, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing