We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Kings Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pembroke
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Was not a hotel guest, but came here for dinner one evening whilst visiting area over Easter. Classic 'old pub' decor and atmosphere - furniture was antique but comfortable and functional, and gave the place a bit of a historical feel. V friendly and professional staff - quite old school in a nice way - and not intrusive.Good menu - more refined than pub grub, but seems to use local suppliers and local food. All tasted great to me! Dins for 2 (starters + Mains + some drinks each) = @ £50.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basilisk333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPembrokeWales, General Manager at Old Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I shall make sure that I pass on a copy of your review to all members of staff. Please make yourself known to us when you, hopefully, visit again.
Norman Edwards (on behalf of Shirley Wheeler (proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    38
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
13
51
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This has got to be one of the most charming places I've ever been; not just because of the homely but classy environment but also because of the friendly and polite staff who really made you feel you mattered in the quiet but helpful way you seldom get these days. The food was excellent and the rooms beautiful, all of which you might not have anticipated from the quaint and tiny street front. My room looked over a vale onto the opposite hill with a Welsh grey stone church on the top of it. If you like Old Age charm, beams, copper, fires, comfort and friendiness with a great service and delicious food then you can't go wrong. And I'm a fussy eater and a light sleeper. Peace and quiet and caring people. The place gave me a hug the minute I walked in and the staff couldn't do enough for us. I'd go out of my way to go there again.

Room Tip: I had a room with a large bay window overlooking the countryside. It had a good sized modern ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArmyReject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPembrokeWales, General Manager at Old Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. I will pass them on to ALL staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. - Norman Edwards on behalf of Shirley Wheeler (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip. The hotel is clean and comfortable with a nice cosy bar. The staff are friendly and the food was good. Not top notch cuisine but tasty, hot, and well presented. Very central location and only 2 minutes walk from Pembroke castle.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevilleEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingsPembrokeWales, Manager at Old Kings Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, we aim to provide a welcoming hotel with good food & attentive service....we will work on the food!!!
Please visit us soon
Kind regards
Norman Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stopped off at the Kings Arms yesterday for lunch. (Feb 13th) The dining room was a cheerful place full of genuine antiques and a blazing log fire. On the wall was a very rare flintlock fowlers piece from the late 1700's - what more could you ask for? The young lady who served us was quick and attentive and brought us a pitcher of water and glasses without being asked.

The food was excellent, simple, unfussy but with novel touches. My steak for instance was served with a whole red onion, shallow fried - delicious. My wife not usually a lover of cabbage managed to finish the entire serving of buttered Savoy as well as a very large serving of sauté potatoes with her plaice. Everything was homemade - that means made on the premises, the tartare sauce, the French mustard, ice cream etc.

All in all a very nice meal, very well served by a professional staff and reasonably priced. For a main course, dessert, coffee and drinks we were charged £51, which quite honestly is not excessive for that quality of food, service and surrounds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-Hinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed here on the first night of a trip along Pembrokeshire coast path.
Arrived too late for dinner. Staff were helpful if slightly scatty (be warned... Car park is a little tricky to find).
Our room was clean and comfortable. Slightly quirky in its layout, but more interesting than a square box.
Breakfast was very tasty, one of the best we had all week, and setting us up for a days walking. The proprietor was very friendly (big cheery hello in the morning) and looked up local wether forecasts for us when he heard about our trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Four of us who live in Pembroke and friends from U.S.A who used to live here went for a meal to The Kings Arms assuming we would have meals of the high standard we have always associated with the restaurant. However we were very disappointed with the quality of the meat and fish served for the main course. So much so that two of the party could not distinguish between the lamb and the pork dish and thought they had the wrong meals. Apparently the two meats tasted the same!! The starters and the sweets were very good. But it may be some time before we eat there again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Superb quality gastronomy. Excellent price for quality. Amazing sticky toffee pudding. Pork dish with apples was delicious as was my husbands chicken stuffed with ham and welsh cheese. Lovely atmosphere and large portions. BOOK A TABLE. Don't miss out.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realfoodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pembroke
2.0 mi away
Lamphey Hall Hotel
Lamphey Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lamphey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coach House Hotel
Coach House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Pembroke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Lamphey Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
9.8 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
8.6 mi away
Broadmead Boutique B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Kings Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Kings Arms Hotel

Property: Old Kings Arms Hotel
Address: Old Kings Arms Hotel Ltd 13 Main Street, Pembroke SA71 4JS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Pembroke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Pembroke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Kings Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Kings Arms Hotel is a Wales Tourist Board 3 Star hotel and restaurant in the heart of Pembroke, less than 200 yards from Pembroke Castle, birthplace of Henry VII - founder of the Tudor dynasty. The 17 bedroom hotel has been owned by the Wheeler family for over 50 years. The restaurant is renowned for its locally sourced Pembrokeshire produce. There is ample free private car parking to the rear of the hotel. All rooms have BT & ESPN SPORTS and free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Old Kings Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Kings Arms Hotel Pembroke, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing