We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, peaceful, country hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Slebech Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Slebech Park
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Elegant, peaceful, country hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel is set in the middle of a nice country park, away from any traffic or built up areas and as such is peaceful. We received a free room upgrade to a 'splendid room' which was lovely and spacious with a rustic feel. The room had a view out over the tidal estuary which was lovely. The beds were comfortable, with a nice selection of toiletries. However, the room was really very hot, and whilst an in room fan was provided it was still absolutely roasting and as such not very comfortable. A window could be opened but a through draft couldn't be made unless the door into the corridor was opened. Also, this particular room had a very very low ceiling beam, which, quite frankly, is dangerous. It is too easy not to notice and whack your head into, and I think this hotel needs to address this.

Onto the meals. The breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea staff were not particularly friendly, indeed, verging on rude and uncaring, which was a shame as the food itself was actually delicious (albeit rather expensive). Thank goodness when we arrived for dinner the staff had changed, and were much more friendly and more like human beings than what we had experience before. Dinner was also delicious. Breakfast was actually not that tasty. As with most Welsh breakfasts we had, the bacon was far too thickly cut and lean for my liking, and would have been better served in a soup that as a cooked breakfast. But the croissants were nice!

We also opted to have a massage as part of our stay which was very good.

The price of the hotel is pretty expensive for what you actually get in terms of service and room comfort. A sewage tank emptier rocked up over breakfast which was really noisy and got pretty smelly, this would be the sort of thing you'd expect the hotel staff to have arranged for during the day when most guests are out. If the hotel ups its game and thinks a bit more about its customers, (air conditioner in room or better air flow, better staff in the restaurant and padding on low beams) this would have been a five star review.

Room Tip: If you arrive early there is a good chance you'll get a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kovitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    120
    54
    32
    15
See reviews for
70
263
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Lovely stay at Slebech although a very short stay! Nice evening meal - fillet steak was delicious!

We kindly got upgraded the room was lovely although a bit to hot during the night! Lovely bathroom with nice Molten Brown accessories!

Only criticism would be lack of signs off the main road (A40) and a couple of flies in the restaurant during breakfast!

Other than that an enjoyable comfortable stay after a 9 hour journey!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SLR92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Here's to the fairies of Wales for bestowing magical good fortune on my recent travel. The first three B&B's I tried to get were sold out... so I had to bite the bullet and pay a little more than I had budgeted for two nights in Pembrokeshire... Slebech Park was available. What a blessing and what an amazing place to visit and to stay. The location and grounds are like staying at the Palace of Versailles (if you could stay there), and the south-Wales estuary that surrounds two of the sides of the 600+ acre estate is picture-post-card perfect. The rooms are spacious, clean, historic and impressive... the massive gardens are beyond comparison (unless you could travel back in time to the Hanging Gardens of Babylonia), and the people are terrific. We will DEFINITELY plan to go back to Pembrokeshire / Wales in the near future JUST TO STAY at the Slebech! Do yourself a favor and spend a little bit more than your regular B&B budget... in order to give yourself a LOT more pleasure and valued memories!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricParkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just returned from a mid week break in Slebech Park, Pembrokeshire. The hotel was absolutely fabulous. We stayed in a studio which had a living room, bed room and bathroom. The staff were so friendly and helpful they couldn't do enough for you.
The hotel was in a superb location on the estuary within a woodland setting and the views were breathtaking. The breakfast and evening meal were outstanding and of a very high standard,,will definately go back again in the future

Room Tip: ask for a room with an estuary view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
234 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed one night for a short-notice break in Pembrokeshire and had booked here after searching for suitable accommodation in the area. Although I know the area quite well I had no idea that the Slebech Park was here as it is tucked away down by the river a mile along its own drive and so it is well hidden.
However when you arrive the location is absolutely stunning in a little oasis looking out over the Cleddau. Despite this it is just off the main A40 to Haverfordwest and so easily accessible to visitors.
Having booked the cheapest room by telephone the previous night, we were delighted to arrive and be told that we had been upgraded to a very spacious suite with a sitting room as well at a VERY competitive price.
We ate in the restaurant and would echo others' comments about great food,friendly service and good prices. Breakfast was also excellent. In the summer you can sit out on a beautiful terrace to eat.
The grounds are lovely and it is definitely worth wandering down to the walled garden to se where local produce for restaurant is grown; you can also walk u and down the river bank fro miles in the estate grounds.
As a result of the history of the building, the only thing which some may miss is a central area with a residents lounge and reception is not a palatial entrance. It certainly didn't detract from my stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizzley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our recent stay at Slebech Park in it's stunning location was wonderful! The staff, particularly in the restaurant couldn't do enough for us and the room was beautiful. Will definitely be returning with our dog sometime soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseReeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We had gone for a day out to Pembrokeshire. We saw this hotel/restaurant and decided to stop for dinner. The service was great, friendly but not too casual, the food wonderful and ( in my opinion) very well priced for the type of setting and quality food served. The setting was so wonderful that whilst chatting to our waitress we commented that we might stay the night instead of going straight home. Unknown to us, she had gone to check availability at reception and upon asking us what we were doing at the end of the meal she told us rooms were available. Superb service, she took us to reception and introduced us to the receptionist. We had a great night slept in a wonderful room with large bed and walk in shower. We will be coming back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1RDavido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestinwales, General Manager at Slebech Park, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your review - we are all delighted that your enjoyed your impromptu stay and we look forward to seeing you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
3.9 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
9.2 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
St Brides Spa Hotel
St Brides Spa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saundersfoot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
10.6 mi away
Penally Abbey Hotel and Restaurant
9.9 mi away
Heywood Spa Hotel
Heywood Spa Hotel
#3 of 24 in Tenby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slebech Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slebech Park

Property: Slebech Park
Address: Slebech, Haverfordwest SA62 4AX, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Slebech Park 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slebech Park in Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire, Wales is a beautiful Grade II listed 18th century manor, sitting amidst 600 acres of wonderful rural scenery. The exclusive accommodation is set in a tranquil countryside area on the shores of the Daucleddau Estuary and gives you a breathtaking view over the region. The luxury Slebech Park offers 15 spacious rooms and suites in a comfortable atmosphere for weekend breaks, family holidays, business trips or special events. All bedrooms are held in a simple design and tastefully furnished. Accommodation types available at Slebech Park are standard, studio, deluxe and executive rooms, luxury and two bedroom suites, and a self-catering cottage.The comfortable Standard Rooms come with raindance shower in shower room, WiFi, TV with film and music library and king size double or twin beds. The spacious Studio Rooms feature a separate sitting area and stunning view over the area. Large Deluxe Rooms provide either a separate wet room or shower room and a lovely sight on the garden or the ruined church and the waterway. The luxury Executive Rooms offer high-tech facilities (WiFi, flat screen TV with film and music library) and a raindance shower and long bath in the spacious bathroom. The large Luxury Suite is divided into a master bedroom with radiance shower and long bath in a big wetroom, and a second bedroom with shower room. Large windows give a fabulous view on the estuary behind the ruined church. Both bedrooms are furnished with king size double or twin beds. The Luxury Suite is next to the relaxing drawing room and offers WiFi, TV with music and film library, and a private dinner on request. The Two Bedroom Suites are the right choice for a family or two couples. It features two bedrooms with king size or double/twin beds. The master bedroom includes a bathroom with separate shower room while the second bedroom has an en-suite shower room. Comfortable sitting areas and a large flat screen TV with access to the film and music library will give you a maximum of relaxation during your stay at Slebech Park. The self-catering cottage is situated at a cliff right on the shoreside and offers space for up to 4 people. Ferryman’s is a 4 star accommodation with a double room, a twin bedroom, sitting/dining area, kitchen and bathroom. You will spend undisturbed holidays in this romantic cottage at Slebech Park! Corporate facilities for business trips include a selection of meeting and conference rooms, bespoke catering by the head chef Mark Cheeseborough, a unique venue for product launches and the Harbour Room for a dinner dance with up to 200 people. The excellent Park at Slebech Restaurant serves fine seasonal menus using fresh local produce. The properties own Kitchen Garden guarantees carefully chosen ingredients for unforgettable meals. The restaurant offers brunch, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner daily. Seasonal specials such as weekly grill nights, holiday festivities or themed dinners enjoy a great popularity among locals and visitors. Pembrokeshire offers a lot to do and see during your stay. The coastline and scenery are unique and offer tranquility and relaxation to recover from a stressful daily life. At Cardigan Bay, you can find dolphins and whales and Pembrokeshire's land wildlife includes rare animals such as Puffins, Manx Shearwaters, Guillimots, Razorbills, Short Eared Owls, Skomer Voles and Grey Seals. More than 50 forts and castles, such as Haverfordwest Castle, can be visited in the region, or enjoy an entertaining day at the Oakwood theme park or the Dinosaur Park in Tenby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Slebech Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slebech Park Hotel Haverfordwest
Slebech Park Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing