We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trellyn Woodland Camping
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our stay here was absolutely brilliant despite the storms! The carefully positioned covered outside areas provided welcome shelter from the rain (which luckily only made an appearance at night). The fire pits are half inside the shelters which meant that using the FREE wood we could keep warm and cook over the fire while the rain lashed down around us. We arrived in the dark after driving from Swansea after work, so waking up was a great surprise to see the meadow pitch that we had been given in the valley. You are far enough from other campers so you really feel like you are in the wilderness, but with facilities always subtly positioned close by. The campsite owners have really thought of everything and nothing was too much trouble for them, even giving a fellow camper wood chopping lessons!
After a pleasant days kayaking down the picturesque River Teifi nothing was more welcome than the wood fired sauna.
We also managed to kayak around the stunning coastline around Abercastle - fantastic wildlife, caves, fishing and jumping off the rocks.
We will be back to this campsite and I can’t recommend it more. Thank you very very much for having us!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibkttd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tadley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We recently stayed in the Tipi at Trellyn and had a fantastic time.

Though we missed the turning off the road initially (they need to move that sign out of the bush a bit, hah!), upon arrival we were greeted by Kevin and Claire, the site owners, who were extremely welcoming and very friendly.

We weren't really sure what to expect (always hard to tell from the pictures!) but as Claire guided us to the Tipi it was hard not to be impressed with the site: secluded, peaceful and gorgeous.

From the Tipi, the adjacent pitches (one for a tent and the other for the dome) were a fair distance (20-30m) away, but it felt further thanks to the dense woodland. This gave us a good compromise between being by ourselves when we wanted, but it was easy enough to get chatting to the neighbours if we wished.

The Tipi itself was fantastic, our boys ( 2 and 6 months) loved the dragon artwork - we've subsequently picked up a load of Jackie Morris books after discovering her thanks to this campsite! The facilities were great, a travel cot was provided for our littlest one, and the elder managed just find on one of the two single futons provided. The double bed mum & dad used was super comfortable and we slept well every night!

Outside, while listening to the stream that ran through the site, we found a well stocked kitchen area; all the basics (stove, kettle, pans, plates etc) were provided, including a coolbox, for which we could swap out freezer blocks whenever we needed at the sites freezer. A picnic table and some benches around a fire pit were also present; all covered so we were sheltered from the elements - not that we needed it really as it was pretty much fantastic weather all week. Only (very slight) niggle regarding the Tipi's setup was the small grassy area directly outside the Tipi; some of the other plots had larger areas for the kiddies to run and play in, though the site is so safe for toddlers to run about it wasn't much of a problem, really! The shower / washing facilities were great, including big family bathrooms which were very useful.

When we arrived, Kevin was busy building frames for some compost loos that were installed during our visit, which generally reflects the eco-friendly vibe the site has going on. There was free firewood, and on the first night of our stay Kevin gave a short woodsplitting class, perfect for complete newbies like me! Really miss having a fire every day after coming home :( On another night Kevin & Claire invited all campers up to their house to make use of their outdoor ceramic pizza oven - everyone brought their own ingredients and got a bit messy making food - top fun for the kids.

Our only disappointment with the site was the lack of a 'view' in the traditional sense, but with woodland camping you're not usually going to get one - and with such beatiful coastline very close, all around, we could hardly complain, really.

Fantastic stuff, we'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robdood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our second stay in two years at Trellyn. It is simply the best campsite I have ever been to. Each pitch has loads of room, they have landscaped it so well you don't see other pitches from your tent. It feels like you have your own spot in the wild... Except you are only a walk away from a lovely shower/toilet block, a wood burner sauna and a wood shed where you chop your firewood for your campfire. Everything is included when once you are there, no hidden charges at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This wonderful, small and perfectly-formed campsite nestled in a quiet, pretty wooded valley surrounded by wild flower-filled meadows is owned and run by warm and helpful owners, Claire and Kevin. Together they have combined eco-friendly and innovative touches with all the practicals to create perfectly well-equipped glamping options include lovely, spacious clean yurts, tipis or domes kitted out with everything you could possibly need. Expect open fire pit with low wooden benches for cosying around and cooking, under-awning picnic table and inside, raised wooden floors, really comfortable proper beds and single futons, sheepskin throws, tealight lanterns, two-ring gas stove, cool box and tank of water and all the essentials. Yurts and domes come with wood-burning stoves inside and there's a help-yourself wood pile. Or bring your own tent and gear - a cheaper option. Shared facilities include fantastic walk-in showers and indoor sink for washing-up. Special extras include Claire's lovely home-grown veg, her son's fresh caught lobster and supervised outdoor evening games for kids without the need to bore guests with lists of do's and dont's.

Trellyn is just a two minute walk to the pretty harbourside hamlet of Abercastle, perfect for rock-pooling at low tide and lovely walks along the Coastal path in each direction, while fabulous, unspoilt beaches and coves lie within a few minutes drive.

Room Tip: Yurts are luxurious, tipis authentic, domes, cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Trellyn is no ordinary campsite and long may it continue to be different from the norm. With sixteen acres and only 9 pitches, it doesn't matter whether you visit during the school holidays or during term time it is always a tranquil and beautiful part of the world.
We've been visiting for the last five years and over that time have brought a campervan, stayed in a yurt and most recently in the 'Dome from Home'. We travel with our two children, aged 5 and 9 who each year describe it as the 'best holiday ever' and we couldn't agree more with them. After all how can you go wrong with open fires and fresh lobster, a wood fired sauna, rockpooling within walking distance and stunning coastal walks. Our favourite days out with the kids are Castell Henleys (especially the workshops for children) and visiting Traeth Llyfin beach (a good walk, but so worth the effort).
Thanks again to Kevin, Claire and Matt for the warm welcome and we'll see you next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A wonderful camp site that provided the perfect base for a magical week in Pembrokeshire. They really have thought of everything here meaning we came over-prepared with unnecessary camping stove, plates, cutlery etc. All we really needed to do was bring ourselves and enjoy the peace and quiet of our yurt, or the luxury of the sauna, or the fun of the weekly pizza night!

There are beautiful walks along the coastal path (which is less than 100m from the camp site) in either direction as well as less well trodden in land routes and St Davids is only a short drive or a pleasant cycle ride away. With only two of us in the yurt, we could have got a cottage for a similar price but I'd pick this experience every time, whatever the weather.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We decided to venture to Pembrokeshire from London for the last holiday before our baby was due, we're so glad we chose this campsite, it really is unique! The pitches are private with plenty of room to pitch (we camped in Valley 1).

We arrived to the sound of the babbling brook, which we promptly put our beers in (alcohol free!) and settled around our very own campfire, with free firewood provided. The welcome was very friendly, we felt like guests rather than just customers. The facilities were good, the toilet block was always clean and had a freezer and charging points.

The whole ethos of getting back to basics and being in touch with nature appealed to us, with lessons in proper campfire building and pitches set amongst trees and fields full of wildflowers. Having said that, luxuries like the sauna were anything but 'basic'! Adam even enjoyed a freshly caught lobster on our last evening, courtesy of Kevin and Claire's son.

The whole area is beautiful, the nearest harbour is very easy to walk to, even with a big baby bump, and if you want to explore further afield Barafundle Bay is a breathtaking beach (National Trust) with stunning coastal walks and beautiful lilly ponds nearby. The slate Blue Lagoon was also lovely, so hard to resist taking a dip! We also kayaked at Lower Fishguard around the coast, seeing all sorts of wildlife.

Thank you Kev, Claire and family for one of our favourite holidays, we can't wait to bring our new baby daughter back one summer! From Tuesday and Adam.

Room Tip: Valley 1 was a good size for our 6 man tent with plenty of room to play badminton!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuesday T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
6.7 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
120 reviews
7.4 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
430 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cranog Trefin
Cranog Trefin
#1 of 6 in Trefin
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old School Hostel
5.9 mi away
The Ferryboat
The Ferryboat
#1 of 21 in Fishguard
351 reviews
20.5 mi away
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
Cardigan Bay Holiday Park
#1 of 6 in St. Dogmaels
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trellyn Woodland Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trellyn Woodland Camping

Property: Trellyn Woodland Camping
Address: Abercastle, Haverfordwest SA62 5HJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Haverfordwest
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Trellyn Woodland Camping Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing