We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dated - not recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mariners

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Mariners
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very dated - not recommended”
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Stayed here with friends for a wedding. Was very expensive for the poor quality (£80 for double room). Carpet in the bathroom, and no shower (just bath). Funny drain smell in the bathroom all the time. Our room opened on to the hallway so we could hear the fire door opening and closing all night. The staff seemed friendly enough but it's not worth staying just for that! Generally the room looked like it was straight from the 70s/80s and the whole hotel needed an overhaul. I'm afraid I wouldn't stay here unless you're really desperate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie789London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    20
    17
    6
See reviews for
34
48
9
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Stayed one night in the Mariners on business.

The hotel is very dated and is in fairly urgent need of a makeover. It is, however, very cleanly kept and the staff very friendly and anxious to please.

My room was on the second floor (no lift, by the way) down a long, creaky corridor. It was quite large, but very spartanly furnished, the expanse of wall broken only by a single, rather gloomy, framed picture. There was an old-fashioned CRT television and a large sofa.

The bathroom was also large and very clean, but the suite was very outmoded and needed replacing. The bathroom floor was carpeted, which I didn’t like. Toiletries were cheap and of poor quality.

The king size bed was very comfortable and I had a good night’s sleep. Walls were rather thin, however, and I was aware from time to time of movement in the next room.

Breakfast the following morning was really excellent, comparable with anything I have experienced in the very best hotels. Full marks to the Mariners for that.

All in all, the stay was not too depressing and the hotel was perfectly adequate for my needs. It would not, however, have been suitable for more than a couple of nights and I certainly would not consider using it for leisure purposes.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prospero1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Room was dated and very hot. Carpet in bathroom - not to my liking - Kettle was from the 1960's with no sweetener only sugar for coffee - Bar was lively on a Saturday night, breakfast excellent and served hot. Close to town centre with free parking - not worth the nightly rate.

Very little competition in area though

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hillman-avenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed by chance here and after our first night decided to stay for another. We entered the hotel and had to wait a little while before being greeted. We managed to negotiate a discount and decided to stay. We were not shown to our room although we were offered help with our bags which we declined.
The first room was quite modern. It had hard wooden floors in the bathroom and toilet. The shower was fantastic. There was a flat screen tv. The room was of a suitable size and very clean. The bed was very comfortable.
After a good cooked breakfast, with cereals and fruit and organic yoghurts, we decided to stay another night. For some reason (apparently someone had specifically asked for the room) we were moved into another room. Although this room was much bigger,(it had a sofa in it) it was more dated and not as modern. the bed was a little softer and didnt feel as comfortable as the other. The shower head was smaller but did work, the bathroom was carpeted. I could not get the old tv to work properly in this room and kept getting sky sports. (this may be a plus to some)

We did not eat in the hotel but the food we saw looked plentiful and fresh. There was a good choice on the menu but we decided to eat out in town.

The hotel was very convenient for the town, just a few minutes walk. Be warned we did not expect the town to be so busy on a Wednesday evening but it was very very busy. Lots of queues to drink in the local pubs and lots of drinking obviously going on.

We used this as a base to travel to the coast and there were some lovely beaches there. I would stay here again. The hotel had a large carpark.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnetteMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2010

I agree with one of the other reviewers. I feel like I've gone back to the fifties. The only thing that is modern day is the prices. Overpriced. Out of date. A bit depressing.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pleasantjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as we were all attending a family Christening. We were not sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The room was large, warm and comfortable. The bathroom was nice and clean too. The breakfast was first class. The bar was really nice - it was busy as it was Valentines Day. It is in easy walking distance of the little town of Haverfordwest which is okay buit not a place I would visit in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubysmum_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I was booked into this hotel by an agency, reviews did not look good, however it met the needs of my trip My room was a fair size given that it was booked as a single. It was a wee bit away from the train station(15min) walk, but very close to the location that i needed ,Haverfordwest FC ground I ate once in the hotel and the food was very good pub Fayre and plentiful portions. I would not be too disappointed if i were booked in here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoopy-Harry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
5.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#7 of 7 in Haverfordwest
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
9.0 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,143 reviews
5.6 mi away
Roch Castle Hotel
Roch Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Roch
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariners

Property: Hotel Mariners
Address: Mariners Square, Haverfordwest SA61 2DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mariners 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel, situated walking distance to Haverfordwest Town Center. Free parking on site for Patrons use only, can accommodate a coach in the rear car park. Lunches and Evening Meal served in the Bar,and Guest Ales are available. Function bookings available in the Restaurant. Free wifi to our customers. Family rooms are also available. Non residents are also welcome to dine or just have a driink/ coffee at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Mariners reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Haverfordwest
Hotel Mariners Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing