We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the Mariners”
Review of Hotel Mariners

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mariners
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Return to the Mariners”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed in The Mariners for 6 months four years ago. The Hotel is still a family business and the family run a top Hotel. The public spaces are a credit the the team allways sparkling clean as are all the rooms I have been in. The breakfast is second to none the evening meals are very well presented with large portions. The family team make you feel as if you are a member of the family rather than a paying guest. Well done to all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    65
    21
    17
    6
See reviews for
35
50
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Bees, Cumbria
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Centrally located which is a bonus but seems to be stuck in the 1980's. There is often no one on the main reception desk which can be a pain and they insist that you leave the key with them. The rooms are very nicely decorated but the room we had (room 16) was so warm I think it was next to the boiler. There are no lifts, due to the age of the building and it can seem that you trek for miles to get to your room. We had difficulty in finding our room as the door number is small and placed on the door handle. Considering that the corridor which it was located on was dark this was a problem to find.

Service at breakfast was also a little slow, but the waitress was very polite and friendly. This is not a hotel which I would take a family to as I could see children getting very bored while waiting for things. More geared towards the older generation who enjoy heat.

There is plenty of car parking space. Beware of the one way system in the town, if you miss the turn you have to go back around it. Of course the hotel cannot be held accountable for this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A lovely hotel situated in the centre of Haverfordwest, very good value, clean and spacious rooms and the staff are very helpful.
The evening menu was very good and the breakfast was delicious although if you have an early start then its the continental I'm afraid.
The only negative is that as I am a long back, I over hang the single beds and the mattress is a bit saggy on them!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiff913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Hants
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends a weekend and were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel. The rooms were clean and of a good size with two double beds in the one we had. Plently of hot water and whilst the shower wasn't fitted with a pump (for extra pressure), it was modern and did its job!
The menu was interesting and the evening meals were very enjoyable as was the service - no fuss - just quietly efficient, helpful staff. The breakfasts were pretty good too.
There were a couple of interesting beers on draught and I thought the wine list was good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

While lost in Wales a gentleman giving us directions- suggested this hotel. The common areas are very well kept. The breakfast room is a step above. Our service in all areas was excellent. The area of the rooms are clean, maintained and sparsely appointed. The hotel is like a well worn book - a bit musty but worth visiting. This is an older hotel with creaks and squeaks. It does not have a lift, but staff members are willing to carry luggage.
Everyone working at this hotel should be applauded for keeping the ship afloat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shusha50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Lovely food but thought the bedroom was dated and didn't feel very clean
Hardly any hot water and the shower was more a trickle.
Expensive room rate too
Overall ok but could be better so much potential

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxymini2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a fantastic weekend in haverfordwest helped by the warm, friendly welcome received by this quaint hotel in the heart of the town. The rooms were extremely clean and well presented and the way we were looked after was very good. I couldn't have asked for a better service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ogzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
0.3 mi away
The County Hotel
The County Hotel
#6 of 6 in Haverfordwest
33 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Beggars Reach Hotel
Beggars Reach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burton
282 reviews
7.2 mi away
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
Cleddau Bridge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pembroke Dock
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
College Guest House
College Guest House
#11 of 45 in Haverfordwest
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mariners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mariners

Property: Hotel Mariners
Address: Mariners Square, Haverfordwest SA61 2DU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mariners 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run Hotel, situated walking distance to Haverfordwest Town Center. Free parking on site for Patrons use only, can accommodate a coach in the rear car park. Lunches and Evening Meal served in the Bar,and Guest Ales are available. Function bookings available in the Restaurant. Free wifi to our customers. Family rooms are also available. Non residents are also welcome to dine or just have a driink/ coffee at the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Mariners reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Haverfordwest
Hotel Mariners Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing