We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
18
21
22
4
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
21
22
4
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday carverymuch needed breakan en suite bathroomfull englishsingle roomroom was cleanwarm welcomefamily roomstayed here for nightscooked to perfectioncooked breakfastnight stayyogurtyvonnemidnightratescurtains
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 77 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2018

We stayed here recently for 1 night and it is a decent hotel. The outside really needs work but the inside is nice, the bedroom was lovely but the bathroom was shabby, a little dirty (but from old-age not from lack of cleaning) and the fact that it has no lift makes it less accessible (but it is a listed building so somewhat understandable). The dinner in the restaurant was fabulous - great food, reasonably priced. The waitress (Katie) was lovely, especially considering that night she was running the hotel reception, the bar and the restaurant! The breakfast was a disappointment I have to say, I expected more, considering the amazing restaurant food but it was not good. The waitress was slow and uninterested and the eggs were grey and tasteless. A few things to sort out but a nice stopover when needed.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Celtic Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

OK, so the location is not the best, next to a main road and roundabout, and the hotel itself could do with a bit more spending on it, but, everything worked, the breakfasts were good, the one evening meal we had was very good, and the staff were very good.
It's not a Hilton, but then you're not paying Hilton rates. Room 7 (a single) was very small, 14 (double) was a good size, and 18 (double) and 16 (twin) were both reasonable. Bathrooms were on the small side but loads of hot water.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

Dated hotel ideal location, great staff, small niggley things Let it down.
Nothing too much trouble for staff, when we requested a change of room at short notice it was no problem and done promptly and with a smile.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Mick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2018

Friendly Hotel, customers very chatty and a pleasant atmosphere.
Room fair to good. Shower strong and perfect
Menu fair and Tuesday is a steak night. VFM on price
Beer local one excellent Red Dragon
It's a basic hotel you get what you pay for.
Would I stop there again? Only if I'm driving by on business.
Like to have Wi-fi for longer than an hour

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrislamport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

We book a night on this old style hotel, it was worthy because staff were kind and the check in was very quick (only mention your name and they gave us the bedroom key ), we were on room 15 (Family room), which has two beds, badroom (big enough), TV, set of tea and table to do some work.

The best part is that the hotel is very quiet and carpets make you feel very confortable. There are three floors (GF, 1st and 2nd). On the GF there is a typical welsh pub with confortable chair and couches, with just small TV which allows you to have a convertation with the people you are sharing the Pint with.

Breakfast was included on our fee, it was a full english and self coffe and juice service, quality was superb. However, the juice quality was not good enough in my point of view because it was not natural It was something like concentarted juice.

Another good point of this hotel is that you can park inside it with no extra payment (very rare nowadays)

Overall: good grade! I would definitely come back if I have to visit the city or the surrandings.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexVRuano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews