We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining !!! 1out of 5 for hygiene ???”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Restaurant at Shire Hall - CLOSED

The Restaurant at Shire Hall
Cuisines: British, European
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Haverfordwest
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine dining !!! 1out of 5 for hygiene ???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We ate here and were not impressed, with anything in fact. The food was pretensious, expensive & the room was empty. We wondered how the chef could possibly keep the food fresh with no trade etc, and out of curiosity looked at the 'Scores On The Doors' score when we got home, to our HORROR we found that this restaurant and its sister place next door 'Romanos Italia' had a score of 1 out of 5 which means that they have no idea regarding Health & Safety. How on earth can a restaurant charging what they do be allowed to do so with such a poor score, ridiculous.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank pete j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    3
    0
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

First visit to this restaurant and was in a group. We had already pre- ordered and with only us & another table of 3 in the restaurant service was slow. Food could have been better. Another friends chips came out with her steak & they were overcooked. I had the 8oz Lamb rump and the cabbage was salty. Overall very disappointing for the price we paid. Menu wasn't great to choice from as it didn't have a great choice. Wont recommend this or go again. Water wasn't actually chilled or have ice in the glass jug.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison_K69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fine dining at its finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Food to rival some of London's finest restaurants, plus courteous staff, an excellent, well-thought wine list and charming decor. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 114Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“not what i expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

went here not realising it had changed hands, first impression was the hallway look far better than before, but was dissapointed with the rest, food very overpriced not what it says on the tin.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaslewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haverfordwest
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not London quality but London Prices….”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Some of these reviewers are either very wealthy or related.
The place was empty, not cosy at all; the food looked like it had been fiddled with for way too long and so was not hot, and extremely pretentious. It was not ‘London quality’ as mentioned in a previous review but was ‘London priced’, it’s not cheap. We ate later that night for £1.50 each (ok only chips but value for money) which we giggled at, although fleeced earlier.
Was invited to this place, by a friend who had read reviews on Trip Advisor, looking back at some of the reviews it’s now obvious that many are written by close friends or employees of the company, many review both the Italian and Restaurant both at Shire Hall, apparently owned by the same person, but nowhere else.
As my friend said ‘the 90’s want their restaurant back’ , don’t like paying for a cheesecake that has not been made with care and attention, but ‘smashed’ as they say or deconstructed, then placed very carefully on a roofing slate, what on earth!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Restaurant at Shire Hall also viewed

Camrose, Haverfordwest
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Johnston, Haverfordwest
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing