We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasted potential”
Review of The Druidstone

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Druidstone
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wasted potential”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

It would be fine to rest on your hippy laurels if you were charging prices to match...but no
Lazy management, no customer service. The Druidstone staff just can't be bothered. I see a lot of comments about 'artisan' 'bohemian'. No. It's a cover up for not giving a s*it about their customers.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank suki_suki_lala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    65
    18
    22
    20
See reviews for
90
78
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We've stayed here about 3 times in the last 25 years for various family occasions - the views are stunning, the place is definitely quirky & individual - the staff are v friendly & laid back. The place itself needs some serious TLC, paint, upgrading etc but you kind of overlook all this because it's a "one off!" - has the potential to be truly amazing. Food was really lovely! bring on the good weather! :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephine005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We were seated next to the window to have a good view of the sea, not a disappointment. The service was good, informal and just down to earth. Food was amazing. The building is very quirky and odd but in a good way. Would highly recommend and would come again for sure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

First time visit for dinner one dark, winters' evening. We arrived late as the hotel is not easy to find and a small grumble from me to start with about that was not welcome. (Apparently it is much easier when you know how!)
Having said that, the hotel has an unusual style but that is not unacceptable. Only one other table was taken.........the folk type, background music was not too bad and did enough, almost, to make conversation comfortable. Nonetheless, an excellently priced and varied wine list and the heat from a log fire removed the wrinkles.
The menu was not extensive which for me is always a good sign as it suggests that it does not depend on a freezer! In this case the meal was freshly cooked so do not be in a hurry. My partner went again, soon after and in daylight, and whilst the wait for food was also long the stunning sea view almost compensated for the wait.
For me the food was very well prepared and worth the trip and the value, with the wine, was reasonable. Gourmet it is not but I certainly will go again to see if it is consistent - and to see the view.
If you like cats then fine as there is a very friendly cat who was in the dining room on our visit - or maybe it was his dining room....but for those who are allergic to cats, I'm sure he would have been removed.
Service was pleasant enough but it was a little like a policeman - when you need one, they are difficult to find. However, I get the impression that, had it been a little busier, the service might have been more attentive.
If you like the traditional, archetypal formality of a British hotel, this may not be right for you. But, if you like individuality with stunning views and very reasonable food, then use your OS map rather than your satnav! Yes, definitely worth a try.

Room Tip: If they have rooms with a sea view, make sure you get one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OppidanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Quirky old familyhome/hotel/cottages perched on the side of cliffs running down to Druidstone beach on Pembs Coastal Path. Lots of local art on the walls, music and books to amuse yourself if you're just popping in for a drink and chill. If you're staying, there's an amazing eco roundhouse in the grounds for hire, and well as more traditional bedrooms.

I've had lovely food there and not so lovely, but they have raised the prices of meals by quite a bit recently, so cant afford to eat there anymore anyway. Its all about taking The Dru as you find it. There may be dogs and kids running around, it may be full of music and art but It will always be full of character and characters!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlameCain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The druidstone hotel is not just a gorgeous place to stay but it's also a kind and loving environment it's the best hotel I've ever been to and I hope to see my friends there have a walk in the garden eat their delicious food play on the beach and hopefully go there time again but since time is precious you should go there and have the time of your life because when you wish apon a star your dreams come true

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiesha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Druidston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Location is what it's all about here, the views on a good due are to die for. Food on the other hand is average and it's not the most reasonably priced, service is rather poor but I think they somewhat get away with all that because of the location, it really does make you feel a million miles away

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amybrixton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
10.6 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
484 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
428 reviews
8.3 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
225 reviews
14.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,174 reviews
16.5 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Druidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Druidstone

Property: The Druidstone
Address: Druidston Haven, Haverfordwest SA62 3NE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Druidstone Hotel Haverfordwest
Druidstone Hotel Haverfordwest
The Druidstone Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing