We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely sea views”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Druidstone

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Druidstone
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Certificate of Excellence
haverfordwest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely sea views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

walking coastal path we came to this hotel, sat outside with our dog, with a cider and beer the staff gave our moniature yorkshire terrier water and left overs from sunday dinner. we so impressed we ordered sunday dinner sitting outside on a lovely summers day with spectacular sea views

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgette p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    57
    17
    22
    21
See reviews for
85
73
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had to organise an impromptu lunch for a significant event recently and were not disappointed with the service, location and quality of food on the day. The staff were helpful and polite and the whole atmosphere was perfect with what we wanted. We ate with a beautiful seaview, there was ample of room and outdoor space for the children to freely play. Druidstone suits a a particular taste, if you feel relaxed in bohemian, low key and quirky environments this is ideal, but I can see this may clash with some customers and their particular needs.

I have to echo the views of John mCDevon's contribution to tripadvisor agreeing completely that to preserve Driudstone for the future it will need more overview management to ensure the right standards are maintained.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guigal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place is very special to me, I got married here earlier this year and used to visit as a child. The service, atmosphere and evening food are all terrific. Nonetheless I do have some minor reservations and, uniquely, I feel I can't top the recent review below by JohnMcDevon, who is absolutely on the money. Unlike him, I'll be back regardless if it remains in its current state, but I really don't have anything to add to his comments, except to emphasise the quality of the staff, and to say that if you've never been, GO!

Room Tip: The two rooms at the top are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Unlike some reviewers, my wife and I do 'get' the Druidstone - indeed, we've returned there several times. To put it mildly, the dot categories above and below can't really tell the story. The place is all about, in no particular order: a relaxed, slightly wacky, atmosphere; remoteness; a weather-beaten building with magnificent coastal views; superb food; dog-friendliness; the certainty of 'avoiding Conde-Nast style-victims on holiday' (as Rough Guides put it). We'll sign up to all that.
However, after a five-night stay this week, we felt for the first time a frisson of negativity, especially when looking at the size of the bill. But the views are still magnificent, the atmosphere relaxed, the evening food consistently terrific, the staff friendly and obliging as always. Why then the frisson?

It's because, as far as hotel guests are concerned, we think there's a bit too much complacency in the Druidstone's ramshackle, heel-in-plughole, free-and-easy attitude. We reckon that after 40 years' existence and, especially now, after the death of co-founder Jane Bell, it's time for a bit of self-examination. There are things to be done which would in no way damage the essence of the place but would justify what now seems to us an inflated price tag.
Breakfast, for example. Unlike evening meals, it's a hit-and-miss, take-it-or-leave-it affair. There's really no excuse for some of the bowls having great chips out of them, yet they appeared day after day during our stay. And I really don't like my Sugar Puffs fused into a solid lump through being left out and open all night. What about a few more culinary options to match the standard of the evenings? Kippers anybody?
Then there's the bedrooms. We're not asking for 21st-century plumbing - heaven forbid, the comedy sound effects in certain rooms might disappear. But it would be nice to see, for example, the old rad in Room 1 repaired or replaced. And would the ravens fly the Tower if the odd bit of scarred woodwork got a lick of paint now and again? If the portable radio on the landing had an aerial and actually worked? There must be lots of other stuff, too, for management to take the trouble to check.
There are no TVs in the bedrooms - that's part of the Druidstone ethos - so how about a friendly, unposh lounge rather than the no-go, child-strewn shambles which currently greets those who enter?
The Druidstone does so much that's right and these really are only minor tweaks - anything too drastic would throw the baby out with the bathwater. However one senses that, for hotel guests at least, if the place doesn't have a critical look at itself, a tipping point might not be too far off.
I venture to suggest that a firmer hand on the tiller and a few small stitches in time might actually secure the hotel's place in people's hearts for many more years to come. Unless it happens, I'm not sure we'd be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JohnMcDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked this based on the positive trip advisor ratings.

On the positive it is in a fantastic location over-looking a beautiful bay on the Pembrokeshire coast. It is clean, warm and comfortable with loads of character. The staff I met were reasonably friendly.

On the down side it is poorly sign-posted and hard to find (especially in the dark). When I enquired about breakfast I was told this would be served between 8.30 and 10.30 (perhaps okay at a weekend or if you are on holiday, but less so if you are on business). Come 8.45, three other (hungry) guests and myself but still no sign of any staff. Eventually had to work out my own bill and leave a pile of cash on an unattended reception desk (not my preferred payment method).

Laziness and poor customer service passing itself of as "Quirkiness"?

Such a shame as it has the potential to be so much more. (Perhaps it was just an off day.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

first visited in 1978 still really great place to be, right on the coastal path but far away from everything you were trying to leave behind. The bar is really cosey in winter and food and company great. Always a great choice of music playing and often its live.
If you need any advice on how to enjoy yourself Jane or the hotel staff will always be helpful and when we got stuck in the rain they came and fetched us!

Room Tip: just tell Jane what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lennymarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East anglia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We followed the recommendation from the owners of our holiday let in Broad Haven.For our last evening on holiday we booked at The Druidstone.We arrived in plenty of time and were happy to sit waiting for our meal with our drinks,over-looking the beautiful St Brides Bay. We were first tempted with divine rolls hot from the oven..mmmmm.Our food arrived beautifully presented,freshly cooked and the taste buds went wild. All of it was delicious,served by friendly staff. As the dining room got busier it filled with the golden setting sunlight over the bay.A true delight.I hope we will return to this unique restaurant again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanFanEastanglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haverfordwest
10.6 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
8.4 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Mariners
Hotel Mariners
#5 of 7 in Haverfordwest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
8.6 mi away
Warpool Court Hotel
Warpool Court Hotel
#3 of 6 in St. Davids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Druidstone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Druidstone

Property: The Druidstone
Address: Druidston Haven, Haverfordwest SA62 3NE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Haverfordwest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The Druidstone Hotel Haverfordwest
Druidstone Hotel Haverfordwest
The Druidstone Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing