We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant change”
Review of The Harp Inn

The Harp Inn
Ranked #36 of 107 Restaurants in Haverfordwest
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have never eaten here before because they don't allow dogs but we wanted a meal on Sunday and as the weather was lovley we asked if we could sit outside for a meal with the dog. The staff were great, the lady behind the bar even asked us to keep the large tub she filled with water for the dog, "we have plenty and you can keep it int he car for tte future". it was a simple meal of fish and chips and chicken curry with a side of onion rings (Home made and almost as good as the ones at the Castle in Little Haven!) It was quick and tasty, maybe we will try the full Sunday lunch next time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fiona f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 159 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

We have been eating at The Harp Inn since 1988 and have always been impressed by the atmosphere, service, quality of the food, value for money and the friendliness of the staff and owners. Today was no exception but we were appalled by the attitude of a party of eight dining in the restaurant who appeared to have an agenda of being rude and complaining about anything and everything. People like that should stay at home. The owners of this restaurant should be proud of their reputation. We know a lot of people who like us keep going back time and time again. We will be back as will the vast majority of the customers. Forget the rude customers they would complain whatever.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I went there once, dressed "not to impress" and was looked down upon. The conversation I could hear from some of the regulars was unbelievably stuck up. I have no plans to set foot in the place again.

Thank Mintimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, Owner at The Harp Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

we have no control over our customers conversations ,and no dress code in our dining areas .customers regularly come to us in shorts and tea shirts which is perfectly fine
you rated us as a terrible but you have made no mention of your meal .just that other diners were stuck up and looked down on you
so to label our establishment as pretentious seems unfair as we most definitely are not

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We were on holiday in nearby Fishguard and were having difficulty finding a restaurant serving food later than 7pm on Sunday so started on the road to Haversfordwest hoping to find a place to eat. About half way there, we drove through Letterston and saw the Harp Inn with a sign outside staying that food was being served so quite by "accident" we had found food!!!. Well, it was the best "accident" ever!!! Our party of 5 was greeted by Becky who was so friendly & welcoming. We were immediately seated in the Conservatory Restaurant. The menu was diverse & extensive from classic comfort food to curries, to seafood to grilled meats & several vegetarian dishes. In addition, there are 5-6 daily specials on the chalkboard. The beef lasagne & green curry chicken were standouts. The food was absolutely delicious and plentiful. Desserts were exceptional!!!! Service was prompt and the ambiance of the restaurant was casual & relaxed. We so enjoyed ourselves that we came back twice more during our two week holiday.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Orient_Ex_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed at The Harp over the half-term break in May whilst visiting family in Pembrokeshire. The accommodation and facilities were very clean, impeccably decorated, located in beautiful surroundings and conveniently based for all our needs. The restaurant served exceptional food, incredibly good value for money with fantastic service throughout our stay. We have no hesitation in recommending The Harp if you needed B&B accommodation whether short or long stay.
Patrick Barnes & Yaso Shan

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Yaso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harp Inn also viewed

Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 
Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest
Letterston, Pembrokeshire
 
Wolf's Castle, Haverfordwest
Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Harp Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing