We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite”
Review of Garn Isaf

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garn Isaf
Ranked #4 of 44 Haverfordwest B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Having tried a few campsites in Cornwall and Pembrokeshire, we plumped for this site - mainly because it took dogs and there was a nearby harbour for launching our inflatable boat. It was refreshing when reading through the campsite facilities to see that this is one of the only campsites I have seen where you can actually have an open fire!
We had a great week - grandparents, 3 kids, dog, boat and parents of course! Ann was very welcoming and helpful. It's a small site, but enough room for kids to run about and make new friends and the facilities were clean and having free access to a fridge and freezer meant we always had cold beers in the evening! Other reviews I read before we went said the grass was a bit long, but hey your camping. It was cut twice whilst we were there....
We will definitely be going back next year!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Uk T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 131 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2012

Again our annual birding trip. Garn Isaf excellent as usual. Ann always welcoming with a pot of tea. The breakfasts are a delight.

Room Tip: if you have a dog, go for the room with direct access to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here in May, and we felt most welcome and comfortable. The owner was very friendly and helpful, and made the best breakfast we had in Wales! She helped us to find galleries, and gave tips on good loop walking trails in the area. The rooms are newly renovated to a very high standard, the lounge area is full of reading material, a wood stove and is the most comfortable spot one could wish for on a rainy (or sunny!) day. It is within easy walking distance to the Pembrokeshire trail. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone wishing to explore this most beautiful part of Wales!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We have stayed here on 4 occasions and have always appreciated the simple but luxurious rooms-designed for peace and relaxation, comfy beds, pure cotton bedlinen, underfloor heating, fluffy towels, spotless cleanliness.....the magnificent brekky - fresh fruit salad is always a treat!! Naturally followed by delicious full "Welsh" and thanks for the fried bread Anne! The welcome is warm and we feel as if we are visiting friends.
Lovely to have a dog-friendly B and B of this quality, and the guest lounge/conservatory is another bonus, comfortable and cosy-either in sun or particularly in rain, where you can curl up with a book or dvd, in front of the log burner and see the scenery change as the clouds roll in over the hills- cuppa by your side.....perfect!
Needless to say, excellent dog walks from just outside the front door-this is all-together an idyllic "get away" location, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Stayed here three nights in October and were pleased we chose this B&B. I booked the room because it had a king sized bed, but the room also had twin beds and a shower tucked around the corner, with a comfy sofa and two TVs. It would make an excellent room for a couple with two children as there is some privacy, however if you are very tall the low sloping ceilings might be a problem. The mattress on our bed was very comfortable.

The building is a modern conversion of an old Pembrokeshire farmhouse, with stone and wood floors, white walls and tasteful soft furnishings. There is a dining room with two small and two refectory tables, and a door off this room leads to a bright sitting area with squashy sofas, a log burning stove, a TV and bookshelves. This was a good room for spreading out our maps, and for watching the Rugby World Cup straight after breakfast. It was easy to make ourselves at home.

Breakfast was cooked to order, with cereals, a delicious fruit salad every morning and plain yogurt. There was plenty to eat, and it was well cooked.

Garn Isaf is situated a few hundred meters outside the small village of Abercastle, and I think you would need a car. We had to drive a few miles to the village of Porthgain to find our evening meal. We ate at The Shed, a good fish restaurant which serves upmarket fish and chips, and at The Sloop, a cosy traditional pub serving better than average bar meals. There are many small windy lanes, and only small villages in this part of the world. Perfect for getting away from it all.

This is an excellent base for exploring the wild and beautiful coast of north west Pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank anorthernlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Great guest house - made to feel really welcome right from the start - Room very comfortable and spotless - shower really lovely ... and great breakfast - Nothing was too much trouble. You can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The accomodation was very clean and well presented. Our hosts where very welcoming. The good hearty breakfast was first class just what was needed to set us up for the day .
Would highly recommend if you want to get away from it all break

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haverfordwest hotels
14.9 mi away
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
#1 of 3 in Johnston
110 reviews
7.8 mi away
Roch Castle Hotel
Roch Castle Hotel
#1 of 5 in Roch
320 reviews
7.7 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
515 reviews
12 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
0 mi away
Old Police House
Old Police House
#28 of 44 in Haverfordwest
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garn Isaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garn Isaf

Address: Abercastle, Haverfordwest SA62 5HJ, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Haverfordwest
Hotel Class:5 star — Garn Isaf 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Garn Isaf Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing