We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Slate Mill Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mariners(Haverfordwest)
$114
$109
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel(Haverfordwest)(Great Value!)
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The County Hotel(Haverfordwest)
$86
$71
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Slebech Park(Haverfordwest)
$113
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Nelson(Milford Haven)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Druidstone(Haverfordwest)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cleddau Bridge Hotel(Pembroke Dock)
Hotels.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveler rating
34
10
6
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
10
6
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindividual pitchesb bshort drivedecent sizedavidcampsitestreamcampingfacilitiescampervancampersinternetbankspembrokeshiredogs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 56 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2010

We were delighted with David's hospitality, and hope to return, soon. Four of us stayed in a spacious two bed roomed apartment which had a central kitchen diner. The building conversion and fit-out has been nicely done, more boutique hotel than B&B, this is a chintz free zone. We also appreciated the half price for children, which makes a big difference.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEIL M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We called the owner on our drive to the lodge to let him know our approximate arrival time. He asked if we would like dinner, and we were delighted to accept, as this would save us the effort of looking for somewhere to eat on our way in. The lodge is a good 20 minute drive from any towns. The dinner was delicious and created from local food sources, including local asparagus and seafood. The meal for our two teenage daughters catered to their vegetarian request. (The do eat seafood and dairy.) We stayed for three nights, and ate breakfast (included) and dinner (cost added on) on two of the three nights. The owner and the women who helped him were all quite hospitable, welcoming, and cheerful. It was wonderful to go out for a day of adventure and come "home" to a gourmet meal and delightful company (referring to owner, help, and other guests). For the four of us, we had a suite of rooms with two bedrooms, kitchen, and bath. It was quite private and quiet. The location was perfect for us, as it was a short drive to the boat landing for a trip to Skommer Island to watch the puffins.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homegrowntomatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I emailed SML in April to book a room for 3 nights in July. I was offered the Gann apartment as "the Mill rooms were quite small and the Musselwick rooms were booked". I took the apartment on a B&B basis at £80 pn, sent off my deposit of £120. They acknowledged it by email and banked it that same day.
We were staying 8th-10th July, I emailed a few days before to advise arrival time and that we were looking forward to the stay in the apartment.
We drove from Cardiff down to the area and spent some time walking the coast path. Quite tired we turned up at 4pm to check in. A young girl, quite pleasant but with little English showed us to room 7, a very small Mill Room! I explained we were booked into the Gann apartment and she showed me the diary, with various amended entries and us in M7!
We waited in the lounge until the owner turned up a little later. He was apologetic and told us not to panic, he would look after us - the overbooking had come about because his Polish manager had doubled booked a number of people and had gone off on holiday and he had sacked her! Apparently he had a room triple booked for Saturday night (10th July)!!!
When asked why he had not contacted us, especially as I had emailed a few days previously he had nothing to say other than to suggest we stay and he would cook us a meal "gratis". I explained we had booked and expected the Gann apartment, paid £120 several months previously and this was not good enough. We decided to leave, took a cheque from him for the deposit and drove 2 1/2 hrs home.
This man made no effort to advise us of the problem! He let us prepare for our break, drive down, and then seem to hope that the offer of a free meal was recompense for putting us in the smallest room possible. The fact that we left and drove home shows our contempt for his attitude, I would not spend a single penny on his premises, he does not deserve to be in business if this is how he treats people. I feel very sorry for those treble booked and fully understand the previous poor review from someone who was messed around - at least they were advised beforehand.
If you have to book with this person then don't pay the full deposit, get it in writing exactly what room you will be in, phone before hand -anything to avoid being dumped somewhere you don't want to be.
An inefficient and callous attitude - those who have given good reviews must have won the lottery - we certainly didn't.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JockeyJer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We had two separate rooms above the dining room and stayed Bed & Breakfast. The breakfasts were good and service fine. The problem was the rooms, nicley fitted but so small you could get a cat in but not swing it! The wardrobe was a hook with a couple of wire coathangers and there was a lack of glasses in the equally small bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClevedonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

Communication with this establishment established availability of a certain type of room - The Musselwick which was booked and reserved.
We were then e-mailed telling us that we were being moved because a better booking had been received. I expressed disappointment about this and the owner wrote to us in a "Basil Fawlty" type tantrum,stating that they would not accept our booking and returning our deposit. No apology,no concern about inconveniencing customers,only concerned with maximising their profit.
The reviews on Trip Advisor look good - all we would say is......beware! You may get bounced to another room or even told you cannot stay. Risk disappointment if you want to but you have been warned.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Manuel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews