We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”
Review of Allenbrook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haverfordwest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allenbrook
Ranked #10 of 43 Haverfordwest B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed here overnight whilst walking the Pembrokeshire coast path. What a beautiful house, and what good hosts. The house is full of character and fascinating pieces of furniture. After a day's walking, a good soak in the bath was a real treat, and the room was clean and comfortable. Comments in the guest book, and indeed, comments from other reviewers on this site seem to be saying pretty much the same sort of thing.

It has been pointed out that Dale only has one pub, which is rather expensive, and a restaurant which is ever more pricey, but this is beyond the control of this particular establishment.

As I was leaving to resume the walk the next morning, I promised that I would recommend this place if I heard of anyone else walking the Pembrokeshire coast path. I will do so by word of mouth, but for now, I am happy to do so via this web-site. If you want a nice place to stay, this is it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobinEFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We loved our stay in this guest house. Friendly, no fuss hosts and delightful accommodation with amazing Welsh oak furniture and oriental capets and lovely grounds. Comfy beds and breakfast was good - we hope to return! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at Allenbrook on our walk along the Pembrokeshire Coastal Path.

We arrived quite early and rather damp and were given a lovely welcome to a beautiful house. We had a huge bedroom with wonderful views over the garden where the chickens, bantoms and peacocks roamed. There was a fabulous magnolia just outside the window and flowers blooming in the garden. It was almost a private wing of the house with a bathroom and loo on the corridor opposite the bedroom separated from the main house by a tapestry curtain. There was also the boiler room where we could dry our wet clothing. We had all the usual tea and coffee stuff - but a tea pot too, a nice, personal touch. It was all the personal touches which made this such a special place to stay.

The house itself is magnificent - a long building with beautiful furnishings - paintings, rugs, carpets and furniture. The grounds are spacious and interesting with lovely plants and interesting bits and pieces of sculpture (the dogs),

Our hosts, Elizabeth and John were welcoming, friendly, helpful and charming - nothing was too much trouble. When preparing to leave they offered to take us to our next stop (Marloes) as the weather was poor; when we declined this they offered to take our backpacks to our B&B in Marloes. All this at no extra cost! The bantoms were laying more eggs than they could eat so they gave us 6 hard boiled eggs to take with us - again no extra charge.

We accepted the baggage transfer offer and our bags were waiting for us at the B&B in Marloes and we had an easy walk to Marloes with a boat trip to Skomer en route.

Breakfast was fabulous - all freshly cooked and definitely very fresh eggs. Certainly set us up for our walk on the next stage of the Coastal Walk.

This was our No 1 place on our 15 day/12 B&Bs trip. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights on business, Allenbrook is a beautiful large house set in its own grounds. Owned a run by a lovely couple who can't do enough for you. The rooms are large clean and comfortable. I did enjoy waking up to the smell of breakfast being cooked to order. Dale has only one expensive pub however they do great food and some nice beer.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ouryard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Amazing accomodation within easy walking distance of the pub. the place is jammed with antiques and nicknacks but spotlessly clean.Delightful hosts. Elizabeth even volunteered to drive us to an easier start to our walk which was much appreciated.Breakfasts were excellent. We enjoyed watching the peacocks and chickens which were roaming the garden and always spotted the squirrel on sentry duty in the big tree at the entrance, E relaxing break

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were on a 3 week long distance walk of the Pembrokeshire coast and staying in b&b's along the way.Allenbrook was one of our favourites!The house and garden are very elegant,the house full of amazing antiques.The accomodation and room was top notch,having a whole wing of the house to ourselves.Mr. and Mrs. Webber breed guinea fowl and peacocks so you see them wandering around the extensive grounds.The owners are real characters and charming hosts.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms are winners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 152sharonac152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

This is more of an experience than a routine b&b stay. The house is fantastic and feels more like a stately home than a hotel. John and Elizabeth are the perfect hosts, the atmosphere is relaxing and for anyone interested in antiques and beautiful decor this would be a treat. I particularly enjoyed the peacocks displaying in the garden at breakfast. Im bringing my wife back for a stay later this year - heartily recommended

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r1chard311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Haverfordwest hotels
8.4 mi away
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
Silverdale Inn & Lodge
#1 of 3 in Johnston
111 reviews
10.5 mi away
Roch Castle Hotel
Roch Castle Hotel
#1 of 4 in Roch
326 reviews
11.7 mi away
Premier Inn Haverfordwest (North/A40) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Slebech Park
Slebech Park
#3 of 6 in Haverfordwest
523 reviews
15.8 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
468 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rectory Farm B&B
Rectory Farm B&B
#15 of 43 in Haverfordwest
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allenbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allenbrook

Address: Allenbrook Castle Way, Haverfordwest SA62 3RN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Haverfordwest
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Haverfordwest
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allenbrook is a four star Country House with a large garden adjacent to the shore in the Pembrokeshire village of Dale. It offers comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation for the discerning traveller and a self-catering cottage is also available nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allenbrook Haverfordwest, Wales - Pembrokeshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing