We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“relaxing week away in a pet friendly cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lampeter, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
robert h
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“relaxing week away in a pet friendly cottage”
Reviewed January 28, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

we arrived on Saturday 20th jan and was met by Linda the owner who showed us around and had fresh eggs and brownies left for us. The cottage was very comfy, clean and very well equipped. The hot tub was amazing with great views down the valley which we chilled out in after out walking the dog each afternoon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albeback1
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Great place to stay ”
Reviewed September 9, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The old school is a lovely place to holiday and relax. On arrival the owners had left fresh flowers, fresh eggs and a homemade bara brith. The conversion has been done to a very good standard and is made even better with the addition of a hot tub overlooking the surrounding countryside. There are some great places to explore nearby including Lampeter, New Quay and Aberaeron. Very nice

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janderson...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed June 21, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We are halfway through our week long stay here with our 2 small dogs. I think by the time we go home the breathtaking views from the garden and hot tub might start to seem real, they are just too perfect and what us londoners only dream about. The house is amazing, everything you need and all good quality utensils, lots of space, games and dvds, sky TV too. Lynda and Tony the owners are friendly and helpful without being in your face but there if you need something. She had made us a bara brith which was delicious! and there were some free range eggs. The hot tub makes this place even more special, it's set at the perfect temperature and the massage jets are just right. The whole area has breath taking views and friendly people. If you stay here you must go to the y Talbot in Tregaron, the burger with cheese and bacon all local produce is amazing in fact all local produce is way more tasty than anything I've tasted lately in london.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 23, 2017
Thank you for your positive review regarding your recent stay with Sykes Cottages. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at The Old School in Llanfair Clydogau. We hope you choose to make a booking with Sykes Cottages again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kezz85
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely beautiful!!”
Reviewed June 10, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This cottage is absolutely stunning.
It has everything you need to feel at home. Beautiful views especially when the sun go down. The cottage is spotless and very modern.
The owner is just lovely. It's by far the best cottage we have stayed at.
The hottub was amazing it even has lights and a radio.Newquay is only a 25 min drive away.We will def book here again :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandy A
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“ What a find! AND now has hot tub installed”
Reviewed July 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We wanted a base where we could tour mid and South Wales from but afforded us some rest and relaxation This cottage provides everything you could wish for in a cottage in the country. We had a really fantastic week. It's so refreshing to find a clean well appointed and equipped cottage with good quality accessories. There was plenty of towels! Bathroom , hot tub and beach towels as well as dressing gown each. The description was very accurate. The back is a real sun trap and views from the hot tub/patio table of open fields with red kites flying above were superb. It was so peaceful. Just what we wanted. A little piece of heaven. The owners were very helpful but unobtrusive. The welcome parcel was really appreciated with home made Welsh tea bread . I loved being in this little bubble and definitely wasn't ready to return to normal life which is quite unusual for me!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 10, 2016
We are absolutely over the moon that you enjoyed your holiday at The Old School, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. Hearing you describe the property as a "little piece of heaven" is music to our ears, and we will be sure to pass your compliments along to the owners! We don't blame you for not wanting to return to normal life and hope that you return for another stay in this little bubble again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavida_fo...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs ”
Reviewed March 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2014

This is such a beautiful little get away. It's so peaceful and absolutely ideal for a quiet couple of days and you can even bring your dogs.
Myself and my husband have been more than once over the May Bank Holiday weekends for a quiet few days. The owners are lovely as is the lovely fruit loaf that awaits you on arrival.
It's very clean and modern inside with absolutely everything you would need to cook in the kitchen.
We will definitely be visiting again.
Thank you for having us :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share this lovely review with us all, we are over the moon that you enjoyed your break at The Old School. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a relaxing time there that you returned again! We certainly hope that you go back for another getaway very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dez-Amy W
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely Stunning”
Reviewed March 13, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A perfect home from home! With a beautiful setting and superb interior. ..The Old School is the best holiday accommodation our family has ever stayed in. We received a very warm welcome, with every essential provided. There is nothing we could fault...Perfect...Perfect ...Perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing