We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, great food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, great food and service”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed on a 3-night break with 2 evening meals included. We were well looked after from the moment we arrived. The (included) cream tea (lots of cakes!) was delicious and our room (9) was quiet and comfortable with a super view along the valley. The garden areas were impressive too - with rhododendrons in bloom. The staff recommended one of the short (3-mile) walks around the vicinity of the hotel one evening (leaflet provided), which was really good. We would also recommend their "Twm Town Trail" from Tregaron (similar length but hilly and not a town trail at all!) and a visit to the coast at Aberaeron. The evening meals were delicious - and plentiful. Overall we would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank candd19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa H, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Candd19,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed our Bank Holiday 3 night package, which gave you time to fully relax and recharge the batteries - as well as be a little indulgent.
We have availability for this break over the Summer bank holidays at the end of May and August.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Falcondale in the near future.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    141
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
65
496
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We all thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay in the Falcondale. We had underestimated our travel time and so arrived much later that we had anticipated but the staff were very understanding and made us feel very welcome. The main delight is that the hotel is dog friendly and our dog was overjoyed to find dog biscuits waiting for him in a bowl in the room when we arrived. The grounds and gardens surrounding the hotel are lovely and we were very lucky to have a bright and sunny early morning walk which started the day off perfectly. The birdsong all around was terrific. Thank you to everyone at the Falcondale!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa H, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Jane S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review - we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us. It is important to us that everyone is included in being spoilt when away including your 4-legged family member!!
- It is worth noting that we are only 15 minutes from the coast and that some of the beaches have dog friendly areas, but that from the end of September they can enjoy all the beaches until the following May.
We look forward to seeing you all again
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night on a Travel Zoo voucher, only wish it could have been longer. We received a very warm welcome at reception, and were shown to the lounge and served a glass of Prosecco while our bags were taken to our room. We had upgraded our room and it was well worth it, with beautiful views out over the surrounding countryside. The room was spacious and well appointed, the bed extremely comfortable. At dinner we were served the taster menu, by very pleasant staff, the meal was amongst the best I have ever eaten. Breakfast while excellent, would, I think be improved by the addition of fresh fruit, and perhaps some cold meats and cheeses, but this is only a minor thing. The staff, at all times were, friendly, courteous, and efficient. Highly recommended, I look forward to visiting in the future. Diolch yn fawr.

Room Tip: Room 9 has an excellent view over the countryside towards Llanbedr Pont Steffan ( Lampeter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
It was lovely to welcome you to The Falcondale, and are grateful to you for taking time out in writing a review. We hope that next time you'll be able to stay for longer.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay at Falcondale - everyone was very helpful and the word 'no' did not appear in their lexicon. My only proviso was that the tasting menu should not be undertaken by anyone who is not a confirmed trencherman. It is not really a 'tasting menu', rather a 7- course gargantuan feast. It was all excellent, but we felt it was just too much - we enjoyed the normal menu very much more. The kitchen team is excellent - not only does the food look appetising, it is full of flavour and beautifully seasoned; it is also brought to table as soon as it is cooked. Well done, guys - we shall be back.

Antony Moore.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antonymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you "antonymoore" for your lovely review of us here at The Falcondale.

We hope that we may be able to tempt you back at a later date.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

could not fault the food,rooms or service- all of a very high standard.

Took our dog and it was perfect for walks in the ground very dog friendly.
Will certainly recommend to friends particularly those who like superb
food and a very reasonable wine list .
Cant wait to go again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenr501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Falcondale, and again for staying an extra night.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed on Tuesday 15th April. My girlfriend and I got a very good deal to stay at this hotel. We paid just £139 and received a room for the night, breakfast and a 7-course taster menu for dinner. This represents very good value for money and I left here feeling that I had received a wonderful night away for very little outlay. Having checked the prices on the hotel's website, I think that the deal we received should have been about £305.

Once we had parked in the ample, free car-park, we were greeted very warmly and check-in swiftly. Our bags were taken to our room and we relaxed in the conservatory, sipping our complimentary prosecco. Initial impressions were very good. It is a lovely country house/mansion. Decor is tasteful and pleasant. Fittings, fixtures and furnishings are of high quality.

We were then taken to our room. As with the rest of the hotel, tastefully decorated and fitted. It was a small suite-style room with a wardrobe, dresser, couch, bed and bathroom. It consisted of a large, comfy bed, a lovely tea/coffee tray complete with herbal teas, hot chocolate and biscotti. The bathroom was well kept and had the brightest lights known to man (which can be dimmed) - helpful for applying make-up, or so I'm told. Bathrobes were fluffy!

We relaxed for the sunny afternoon in the garden with a chilled bottle of prosecco and played croquet. We also had a wander round the beautifully kept grounds. I could not have asked for a better afternoon.

At about half past 7, we popped down to the bar to have a pre-dinner drink. We were served swiftly and brought lovely canapes by a french (I think) waiter who explained what we had been brought to enjoy.

Dinner started and the food was excellent. It really was one of the best meals I have ever eaten. I would recommend the food here without hesitation and would consider returning (and pay full price) for the 7-course taster menu again. It was actually 9 courses really as there are canapes and pre-starters so you get even more than expected. We enjoyed a reasonably priced bottle of vivanco rose (£22) too. I can't stress enough how nice the food was. From the mushroom risotto, to the amazing poached pears, it was all exquisite.

After a good night's sleep, we returned downstairs in the morning for breakfast. Breakfast was, as with dinner, excellent. Fresh, tasty and cooked very well. Service at breakfast was brilliant. Prompt, friendly and couldn't have been bettered.

Now, the bad points... There are very few things to raise as criticisms. We were not expecting silver service, but the only thing that let this hotel down was that the service at dinner was surprisingly bad. The wait staff seemed very inexperienced at serving food and drinks. Not one of the 3 or 4 waiters or waitresses that served us food explained what it was we were about to enjoy. The plates were simply popped down in front of us without a word - apart from one waitress introduced the scallop dish as "Two scallops" as there were, indeed, two scallops on the plate along with tomatoes and some sort of sauce. After the wine was opened I was not offered to taste it first. The food was delivered so quickly that there was little time to rest between courses. Considering that there were 8 courses served to the table (including the pre-starter) and that we sat down to eat at 8pm, we had finished the final course at 9:20pm. We felt very rushed and didn't have time to savour the courses. No tea or coffee was offered (Even though I was stuffed, I wanted to try the petit fours).

Overall, we did enjoy our stay here and £139 for everything was excellent value for money considering the standard of hotel, food and service. However, if I had paid over £300 then I would have felt short-changed.

We can't afford to regularly spend a lot of money on nice hotels and meals but when we have spent around £300 (which is the price-point of our 'deal' we received at The Falcondale), we have received vastly better service and that is what let this hotel down.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattsand0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you "mattsando" for taking time out in writing your review. It is clear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and that the food was "excellent" throughout your stay.

It seems that on this occasion we let ourselves down on the service during your dinner, and can only apologise for this lack of attention. We believe that previous Tripadvisor comments shows that this was an exception. This is certainly something that we can now address and make the necessary improvements for the future.

Thank you again, Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband was at university in Lampeter in the 60s and hasn't been back to the area since then. So when we saw a Groupon deal for the Falcondale we took the opportunity to return. We very much enjoyed our two night stay and were made to feel very welcome. Our room was large and immaculately clean. Lots of lovely touches - catetiere coffee, a flyer with the daily weather forecast, good quality toiletries and the best selection of magazines in our room and in the hotel lounges that we have ever encountered - catering for every taste. My husband read all the recent copies of Grand Designs!
The food was wonderful - you had to savour every mouthful. Just a pity that the chef didn't come out to speak to us after all the compliments.
Even though we are unlikely to be back in this part of Wales, we will be recommending this hotel to our friends.
One tip - we loved visiting Aberaeron. Excellent Tourist Information and next door was the Harbour Master's where we had coffee.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room 21.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 22A3347D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, it is greatly appreciated.

The Groupon offer has now ended, but we have fabulous escapes and offers (and advanced purchase) available direct from our own website.

Our chefs are a little shy and don't like to come out of the kitchen too often, however we will be passing on your comments.

Diolch yn fawr, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
312 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
10.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
891 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
163 reviews
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Property: The Falcondale Hotel
Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing