We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous family weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A fabulous family weekend”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

25 of us travelled from London to stay at The Falcondale for the weekend to celebrate the Christening of my daughter. We have held similar family events at luxury hotels across the UK and this was no disappointment, we were so pleased with the rooms, food and service, the staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a comfortable stay. We will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maribeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Falcondale for you families christening. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that we may be able to tempt you back soon.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    147
    42
    10
    7
See reviews for
68
513
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We had one night here and I can only urge you to stay for at least two. We were greeted by very friendly reception staff and given a jug of fresh milk on request for our brew in the room. The "hospitality tray" was excellent with a variety of teas, coffee, fresh ground coffee and a cafettiere and a sachet of hot chocolate together with two biscotti. The room (22) was very comfortable with a beautiful soft bed and crisp good quality linen. It was toasty warm as an additional electric heater was provided. my only complaint would be the bathroom ws cold as it had no heat. Towels were lovely and fluffy and everywhere was spotless.
Our evening taster menu was superb, just be warned even though it is 7 courses portion size is not small! See my separate refi on the restaurant.
After a great nights sleep with the only noise being early,or ing birdsong we had a great breakfast. Only complaint here was that the toast was rather cold and hard and could be cooked to order. we were still rather full from dinner but managed to sample the delicious sausages and bacon.
We had a walk around the grounds before we had to leave and would love to return in the summer to see it all in bloom as it is certainly a pretty location. I would love to have had another night to relax and enjoy another meal.
A great stay in a beautiful location made special by the comfort, good food and great staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mabel98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, the whole team here at The Falcondale greatly appreciates your time and effort.

We hope that next time we can entice you stay longer - escapes and offers can be found no our website.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We've been to Falcondale several times but this was the first 'event' we have been to and we thoroughly enjoyed it (and at £45 per person for canapes followed by a 4-course set menu with great wines to match, it was a real bargain). My favourite course was clams and red mullet on mash with fennel - light but with plenty of flavour. The beef short rib was beautifully cooked and not something you often see. Great food and service and a friendly atmosphere - everyone seemed to be thoroughly enjoying themselves. Well done to all at Falcondale!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eljin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
The evening of the 21st March was a great success, and we would like to thank you for your time in writing a lovely review.

The next event will be on the 21st June (which will also include some dancing) - full details can be found on our website. Look for "Midsummer Night's Delight".

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A student at Lampeter University, staying at the Falcondale were as if one was on holiday in a distant location. The food was excellent, as was the service, both of which were top of the table for customer satisfaction. Greeted by a lovely receptionist that was nought but warm in her approach to the guests, the overall stay was quiet, enjoyable and something that everyone should be able to do at some point in their lives.

Room Tip: Go for a room with the view of either the gardens or the fields behind the hotel. Lovely to hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seblefeuvre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We may not have been far from the university, but it sounds like you enjoyed yourselves during your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We hope that we can welcome you back again.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

First of all I cannot say how much we were impressed by the hotel from the start to the end.
The welcome was so friendly and the blankest, bowls and treats for the dogs was a wonderful gesture. The room was clean and tidy and very comfortable and we liked the little sitting room and the bed was so big. The meal we had on the Friday was out of this world best beef we have every had and I mean that. Every member of staff was very friendly and helpful at all times and made us feel welcome.Loved the grounds .As it was a special occasion for us 25 years of marriage – the hotel certainly made it a memorable event for us both.We have no hesitation in recommending your hotel to anyone and we certainly will be visiting again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Falcondale to celebrate your 25th wedding anniversary.

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we do hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It was just to be a birthday lunch until we read Trip Advisor reports on this hotel!!!! And our decision was the right one.

Arrived on Sunday a bit early for the room so had sandwiches - the dining room was packed - great sandwiches in the conservatory even tho the day was dull and dank - fantastic sandwiches served with a smile and a warm welcome - a bit pricey tho - nevertheless we enjoyed.

Our room, #23 was because of a recommendation on Trip Advisor - top of the shop - a very large room with views down the valley towards the town. Spotlessly clean (goes for the whole hotel) - the weather was very cold throughout our stay - the room temperature was Ok when we arrived supplemented by two electric oil heaters - the radiators never got hot - it got a bit chilly in the evening but when in the fantastic huge bed it was cosy.

The kitchen team are inspired and the a la carte evening meal was a delight - preceded with delicate, tasty hors doerves followed by chef's special a delightful light froth - our rmain courses presented in a nouvelle way were made from the finest ingredients made with care and attention to detail. Our dinner on the following evening (the menu choices were the same as the previous evening) the meal was exceptional. Clearly there is a great team in the kitchen led by someone who cares. The service at all meals was friendly and although not 'silver service' was very acceptable. Breakfast was enjoyable too but here perhaps a bit more attention to detail would improve the experience - juice jars empty - long wait for tea/coffee/toast . Lots of free newspapers everywhere and we have never seen so many high quality magazines everywhere.

First morning and the shower was just a dribble - a quick chat to the Management and hey presto we are in a fantastic suite one floor below - two showers and a sitting room! Excellent suite and same great views - oops next morning - great shower - leak in the lounge downstairs - no panic from the great team.

We were surprised that none of the bathrooms had heated towel rails or any heating - great fluffy towels.

After the food the greatest asset this hotel has is the staff, absolutely nothing is too much trouble.

The location is quite superb we could only imagine what it would be like on a bright sunny day - Welsh weather!

OK - so overall this is not a cheap place to eat and stay - it is not a four star hotel in many what but is is a five star when it comes to the things that make the difference - it gets the thumbs up from us. We will return and it will be interesting to see how they cope with a high maintenance building - high quality ambitious people and how to improve the weather!

Go on give it a try ...... you will not regret it.

And the fantastic suite we stayed in was XX

PS - our two miniature schnauzers were made as welcome as we were too!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you "peterha" for your extensive review. It is greatly appreciated by the whole team here at The Falcondale.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we certainly look forward to welcoming you (and Seren and Dylan) back soon.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Well worth a stay , went here to work in Lampeter the following day , it was a lovely clean quiet place and the food was 5 star , would love to have a night with my husband here pure relaxing .the hotel has lovely grounds.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snecky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for lovely review, it is greatly appreciated.

Take a look at our website for all the latest escapes and offers, where I'm sure you will find the perfect romantic break for you and your husband.

Look forward to welcoming you back.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
322 reviews
10.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
223 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
558 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
171 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Property: The Falcondale Hotel
Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing