We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful minibreak at the falcondale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful minibreak at the falcondale”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

we recently returned from a 2 night break (wednesday-friday last week) at the falcondale. We had been thinking about taking a break for some time, and decided to take the plunge at the falcondale. It did not disappoint- the staff are terrific and the whole place just exudes calm.

On arrival we were shown to the lounge with a drink while our bags were taken up to our room. One nice touch was that our name had been put on the door- makes it easier to find your room!

Our package included dinner with a bottle of wine on the first night, and the food was excellent. Breakfasts also good and so hearty you really didn't want much to eat the rest of the day. Our second night we ate in town to have a change.

On the advice of a friend, we upgraded to a 'better' room which was very spacious and comfy. we really felt at home and would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueInWalesUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you "SueInWalesUK" for choosing The Falcondale for your mini break, and thank you also for your lovely review. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope that we may be able to persuade you to come back in the future (take a look at our website for special offers).

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    146
    39
    10
    6
See reviews for
66
508
11
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This lovely Italianate style hotel was built and designed as a private house in 1859 which means that there are elegant and luxurious rooms which vary in size and outlook. The restaurant has been awarded 2AA rosettes and has an excellent reputation with all food being sourced locally including fish, meats and speciality cheeses.

I was lucky enough to win a one night stay for 2 guests to include dinner and breakfast in a competition run in a Welsh magazine.

We were greeted on arrival by friendly and helpful staff, and whilst we had a snack in the nicely appointed lounge area our bags were taken up to the room.

Our room number 23 was on the 2nd floor (there is a lift) and was huge. It had fantastic views looking on to the well kept gardens, with Lampeter church in the distance making a lovely outlook. The bed was a huge king size with Egyptian cotton sheets and was so comfortable we didn't want to get out next day! There was everything we needed including bathrobes for our use, and complimentary toiletries from Temple Spa products. There was a huge flat screen TV and a well supplied hospitality tray including ground coffee if you wanted it. The seating area consisted of a small settee and armchair for our comfort. Furnishings all to a high standard decorated tastefully giving the room a homely ambience.

Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, we had 5 courses which included half lobster as starter and delicious lamb all very well presented. We finished with coffee served in the lounge area sitting on sumptuous sofas you could get lost in.

After a good night's sleep, we had breakfast in the restaurant, loads of choice including home made jams and fruit and a hearty Welsh breakfast using the usual local produce.

The staff were so friendly and attentive and made our stay an enjoyable experience. It would be lovely to see this hotel decked out for Christmas. We left reluctantly although we were in no way rushed, making it more difficult to leave because of wet and windy weather!

Room Tip: All rooms are based on "Best", "Better" "Standard" or small rooms. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Congratulations on winning the competition, and thank you very much for your lovely review and comments. It is greatly appreciated.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future. The Christmas decorations will be going up at the beginning of December (its too soon before then!).

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Just spent a wonderful 3 day Mini Break at this "dog friendly" Hotel with my wife and our Guide Dog Puppy, who is in training. The Hotel is located in an elevated position overlooking a beautiful countryside estate and is approached via a long driveway. From the very moment we arrived, the staff could not be more welcoming and were fully committed to making our stay enjoyable. The room was clean and adequate for such a break, although wifi connection could not be established in the room. However, this wasn't a real issue as a satisfactory connection was made in the first floor lounge, main ground floor lounge and reception area. The Restaurant offers a menu of the highest quality and should meet the need of all guests. Would certainly recommend to all family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Falcondale for you mini break along with your dog and for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. Good luck with the remaining time you have with the guide dog training, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Wonderful Hotel with very friendly, helpful staff and a great restaurant. We went to the Falcondale on a Groupon deal and had a wonderful two night stay in a very pleasant room 19 with a half poster bed. The Hotel has fantastic views over the countryside, is beautifully decorated and has beautiful local walks. They provide a book of walks with tear out individual walks so we combined two local 4 and 3 mile walks with a half way stop at Lampeter. The dog really enjoyed his break. The 7 course tasting menu was one of the best we've had and dinner the following night just as excellent. One minor irritation was the music played in the hotel was very mournful and on our second day my wife's haddock at breakfast was undercooked and not really edible. Other than that it was an excellent hotel, worthy of it's AA Rosettes and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you Richard G for choosing the Falcondale for your Getaway break and also thank you for your lovely review. The whole team here appreciate your time in making your comments known.

We hope that we may be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westbury
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Driving up the long roadway to this hotel and then seeing it nestling in the trees, an ornate Italianate building, you know instantly you have made the right decision. Anyone wanting peace and solitude will not be disappointed. At night the only sound heard is owls hooting and a vixen barking.
The welcome at reception is excellent. A glass of Prosseco is offered in the lounge while our luggage is taken to our room.
Foodwise, breakfast is excellent and the staff so friendly. Dinner is also first class and more than adequate. Dogs are accepted and on this score there are plenty of walks in lovely woodland.
The room (11) was large, quiet, with very comfortable beds, and lovely views over the adjoining fields and woodland.
The only hiccups were, our newspapers were not delivered but a very helpful young man on reception phoned the village and the papers arrived in minutes. Same when the TV was found to be not working, he was there in minutes to sort it. So good friendly service, lovely people. We will be staying at this hotel again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the beautiful grounds are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review, it is greatly appreciated by the whole team here at The Falcondale. The issue with the TV has now been sorted, and shouldn't happen again.

We are looking forward to being able to welcome you back again soon.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Lovely hotel in its own extensive grounds. We stayed in a room 9 which looked out over the gardens and the valley. The view was fantastic. Large room with two armchairs. Excellent night's sleep thanks to the comfy bed, pillows and bedding. Little touches included a portable reading light, bathrobes and more. Exceptional food, especially the 7 course tasting menu! Quality of the breakfast couldn't be better. Friendly and accommodating staff made our stay a real treat

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you Chris S for making an effort in reviewing your stay with us here at The Falcondale, it is greatly appreciated. Thank you also for your lovely comments, we are very glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Diolch, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

There a very few choices in this part of Wales if you're looking for a quality hotel in great surroundings and it would be easy for the Falcondale team to rest on their laurels. Fortunately this proves not to be the case as we were made very welcome on arrival and enjoyed great service, with just a couple of exceptions, throughout our stay.

The rooms are luxurious. We'd booked two at different rates purely because of availability so it was interesting to compare value and I'd say the higher price is certainly worth it. This room was huge and looked down over the gardens and drive to the rolling hills behind. The other was more than adequate for space and very comfortable, but being directly over reception and without net curtains or similar it was a little limiting if you're used to walking in and out of a bathroom without a care. Unfortunately this meant that the light had to be off or curtains drawn for most of the time.

Although travelling around the areas during the days we ate breakfast here each morning and returned one night for dinner. I can't fault the breakfast - the buffet choices are many and the cooked breakfast was very nicely prepared with many variations available. The morning staff are particularly friendly too. The dinner menu was well crafted and although a little costly it was very enjoyable, especially in such a lovely setting.

The rare times I found things could have been better were down to gaps in the provision of service. Twice we were left at reception for some time with no one available despite ringing the bell (this was particularly frustrating for my companion who had trouble standing and just wanted her room key). And one evening in the lounge I waited nearly fifteen minutes for service and ended up having to play hunt the staff. This isn't appropriate for a hotel of this price and quality. That said, it was very much the exception - otherwise I found the whole team to be very friendly and keen to please.

One quick tip for drivers - approach from the A475 and come up Falcondale Drive to see the building in its beautiful setting. There is access from the A482 but we thought at one point that we'd end up on a farm! It makes such a difference for your arrival.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenziedmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you frenziedmonkey for taking time out in writing a review, it is greatly appreciated by the whole team here at The Falcondale.

We're not a 100% sure which rooms you were booked into - the bathrooms that have windows have frosted glass on the bottom half of the windows, while the remainder overlooks fields and woodlands. We don't believe that they require net curtains, but can understand your reservations about this.

We apologise that you were not able to find a member of the team on occasions during your stay. We will be addressing this issue with immediate affect.

Thank you for your lovely comments, and we hope that we can welcome you back to the Falcondale in the future.

Regards, Meleri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
320 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
10.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
897 reviews
10.9 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
165 reviews
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Property: The Falcondale Hotel
Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing