We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inner sanctum in the heart of Wales”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Falcondale Hotel was recommended by some friends as a city detox par excellence. Situated 30 minutes from Brecon or Aberystwyth the hotel is hidden away from Lampeter. The views are of the Welsh hills, silence is immediate and the second we went through the doors our bags were gently but forcefully removed. Not in the usual angle for a tip, more as the prelude to relaxation.

The Falcondale is not a chi chi boutique hotel. I think honest and unpretentious would be my best shot as a description. The owners have taken on a large fusty Victorian country house hotel and, rather than a lick of paint, installing management and sitting back, have built trade up over the last 13 years, re-investing in decorating and facilities as they can. We were greeted by them, served drinks by them and waited on by them.

The food was absolutely top draw. We had booked a gourmet meal with our stay, commencing with a complementary bottle of Prosecco and 5 divine courses of haute cuisine. The restaurant has a strong reputation with the locals due to it's fine food and fair pricing. Several families came in for Sunday lunch whilst we were there, the atmosphere was very convivial and by the way people were greeted it was repeat business.

The bedrooms are clean, neatly decorated and comfortable. Double glazed (not always evident in old Victorian piles) with a spacious en suite. Water pressure for the shower wasn't great but certainly wasn't bad, there was plenty of hot water. The bedrooms on the top floor are also animal friendly if you want to bring your dog for some chill time.

So to sum up the Falcondale delivered what our friends had promised. If you fancy peace and some good food give it a go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atkins888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa H, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Atkins888,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We really are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us - For us it is our "reason for being here" and making it feel like somewhere you can relax and call your home away from home is our aim. We are indeed dog-friendly and your 4-legged family member is welcome in most areas of the hotel- the restaurant is really the only exception, but if anyone would like to dine with their dog we can accommodate this in our conservatory. We hope you will be able to visit us again very soon.

Best regards
Lisa and all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 741 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here after booking it via groupon . The hotel is a beautiful building in beautiful grounds . The owners are doing a wonderful job refurbishing the hotel . Upon checking in we were greated by the manager who took us to our allocated room 19.

The room tastefully decorated and clean . It a lovely quite part of building . The bed was comfortable and toiletries were lovely .

We had afternoon tea booked but it was really a cream tea . Groupon needs to amend this. The scones were delicious and shortbread amazing . We sat overlooking the beautiful views .

The 7 course tasting menu was delicious . My husband doesn't like salmon or lamb and they offered alternatives . Overall the presentation and food delicious .

The canapés . Fresh bread. The salmon tasty. The lamb was amazing . Everything on the menu I couldn't fault . Compliments to the chef and the team .

Overall a brilliant stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel whether via groupon or not. Definitely worth the 4 stars

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timike30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Timike30 - Thank you so much for such a positive review, the team are delighted when our guests enjoy their stay with us. Also pleased that you liked room 19 which is such a pretty room with a 4-poster bed - although all our "Better" and "Best" rooms have their own individual character and it might be nice to try a room with an uninterrupted view down the valley when you stay with us next time - we look forward to welcoming you back hopefully very soon.
Best regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The Falcondale is a beautiful hotel with a warm and friendly welcome from staff. Set in the stunning Welsh countryside the scenery is spectacular in all weathers and there are lots of ways to enjoy the locality. Dinner was splendid: exquisitely presented and full of flavour. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay here, it has become our new favourite place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Owner at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Jenni O - Thank you very much for your review we are delighted you enjoyed both the hotel and the location. It really is a location where you can unwind and relax or go out and explore this unspoilt corner of Wales. We look forward to your return visit - you can check for a great bargain on our website under offers and escapes.
Best regards
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Dramatic setting with great views an the outside is impressive, but the rooms and furnishings are shabby and dated. Dinner and breakfast were fantastic. Room was spacious but worst mattress I've slept on in a long time. Service was great. Close to Lampeter and Breacon Beacons within reach. Took stunning drive through the Élan valley not far from here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time out and writing a review of us here at The Falcondale.

It is disappointing to read that you believe the hotel is "shabby and dated" as within the last year alone the public lounges, corridors and reception have all been painted. Admittedly, we do not have any "brand new" furniture as we believe this would look out of character - however the sofas and chairs were all re-covered a few years ago.

We normally get very good comments about our beds and mattresses, and so would like to know which room you stayed in so that we can investigate further.

We are very happy to hear that you liked our service and food offerings.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having viewed the reviews before booking, we had high expectations when making our two day visit,we were not disappointed.
A warm welcome awaited us and as we were early we enjoyed a drink in the comfy lounge followed by afternoon scones,biscuits and tea.
The evening 7 Course Starter Menu was excellent and the Welsh Beef on the second night even better.
We did spend more than we would normally on a two night break,however we really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend it.
The Staff were all helpful and attentive without being fussy and really helped to make our stay a "Memorable One - Thank You".

    • Value
    • Service
Thank ping12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Falcondale. All of us would like to thank you for your lovely review and hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just returned from another visit and delighted to find that in these difficult times this hotel has managed to keep up the outstanding service and food. Even after a long spell of dry weather the gardens looked just as beautiful as before. Have already booked for our next autumn visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brianforder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

It is always a pleasure to welcome the both of you to The Falcondale, and we were all very happy to be able to meet Sian (finally!).

We look forward to welcoming you back in Autumn.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was our second visit to The Falcondale and i must say it didn't disappoint. From the welcome we received on our arrival to leaving on the Sunday morning we could not have been better looked after. The food was again exceptional from the seven course taster menu we had on our first night to the wonderful cooked breakfast on both mornings. Rooms are beautifully appointed and luxuriously decorated and i would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone. We will certainly be returning again in the very near future.

Room Tip: upgrade to better room well worth the extra 20 quid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you very much for returning to us here at The Falcondale and thank you for your lovely review. It is greatly appreciated by the whole team here.

We hope that we will be able to tempt you back in the future.

Diolch, Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
332 reviews
10.7 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
229 reviews
10.8 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
525 reviews
20.4 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
369 reviews
16.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range: $138 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing