We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our daughters wedding reception was held at The Falcondale on June 22nd. We cannot praise the owner Lisa and wedding manager Matthew enough,nothing had been too much trouble over the months leading up to the big day.Matthew managed the timings of the day immpeccably and unobtrusivly.The whole hotel was beautiful, especially the dining room,the gardens were stunning,the lawn was a natural stage for photos,food was gorgeous ,all locally sourced.The staff were all first class. Most of the guests were from England so the Falcondale did Wales proud.We all had a fantastic day.In every photo everyone is smiling.The families of the bride and groom stayed the night and again were very impressed with the luxurious rooms and wonderful breakfast. We would highly recommend the hotel and its staff to anyone considering a wedding or celebration.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Falcondale for your daughter's wedding, it was a great pleasure to have you and your guests here. Thank you also for your kind comments and review it is appreciated by the whole team.

We hope that we can welcome Victoria and Andrew back this time next year for their 1st wedding anniversary.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 733 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Such a lovely approach up the long drive to this intersting Italianate country house, surrounded by beautiful gardens and with the hills as a backdrop. We were welcomed by the charming young manager (whose name I have been struggling to remember but am really annoyed that I can't) who, despite the fact that we were late arriving and so well past the time for serving the tea and cakes (that were part of our package) insisted that we go straight into the lounge to have them - and very nice they were too. Then he showed us up to our room, which was a very nice large one with views across the garden and over to Lampeter, and had everything you would expect for a hotel of this calibre - my wife appreciated the nice big bath as she is not fond of showers. Our included meal that evening was the 7 course taster menu which was excellent - full marks to the chef and his team for some interesting and delicious food - we were glad that we had decided to book for dinner on our second night too, which did not dissappoint. My wife, who is diabetic, was pleased that they were only too happy to rustle up a superb fruit platter for her as a dssert. Nor did breakfast dissappoint - plenty of choice and beautifully cooked. The staff were all very friendly and helpful - which turns a good stay into a very good one. Do make sure you walk the grounds ALL round the house - there are some delightful woods behind which at the moment were full of rhododendrons, azaleas - and still some bluebells. Another lovely touch was that one of the owners was around (in a hands-on sort of way) on both the mornings we were there, chatting to all the guests.
I do wonder wether they will be able to stay ahead of the game in this day and age without a spa, but that would be a big capital outlay and sadly, Lampeter, although surrounded by some stunning countryside, does not really have anything going for it as a tourist destination and is sort of in the middle of nowhere. We really enjoyed our stay but I think it would need another good deal to tempt us back purely because of where it is located.
I'm now really cross that I still can't remember the young man's name as he so deserves personal thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: The rooms they class as 'better' rooms have excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ockbrooksider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your brilliant comments, it is very much appreciated by the whole team here at Falcondale.

The spa is an-going issue with the local council, which hasn't yet been resolved. Lampeter and its surroundings is quite literally "in the middle of nowhere", yet is a good base for exploring Cardigan Bay and the Cambrian Mountains.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I recently visited The Falcondale with a friend and 5 dogs! I must say we received a very warm welcome including the dogs, with bowls and a treat provided for each. The hotel is set in very well maintained grounds with plenty of space to exercise.
All the staff are first class and very helpful. One gentleman stayed on duty until after midnight (well after the time he should have finished), to assist me in getting medical advice following a fall.
The room was spacious and very clean and the food excellent. The tasting menu an experience.We had breakfast in the conservatory overlooking the garden which was a treat with the wonderful views of the landscape.
I can highly recommend this hotel for a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Falcondale for your getaway, it is very much appreciated, and thank you for your wonderful comments. We hope that we can welcome you back soon.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Located in stunning countryside on the edge of historic market town, Lampeter, this hotel was once a private mansion in the Italian style and staying feels like a true country house experience. We stayed in the mini suite (all the standard rooms were booked) and I wish we had been celebrating an event as it was luxurious! The food is light, tempting and utterly delicious, served with style in the stunning dining room. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The hotel provides picnics for touring lunches.

There is very limited internet, but this was not a problem staying for a short time, and was part of the "get away" feel. The grounds are at the head of a valley and very beautiful to walk in when it isn't raining!!! The hotel offers a loyalty card with discount and other special offers. It's not cheap, but you can get deals, and it is far and away the best place to stay in Lampeter and a very good base to explore the countreyside.

Room Tip: Ask what they have and book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanga78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is very much appreciated. The internet connection has been dodgy over the past couple of weeks, but I think whatever problem there was is now fixed.

We hope that we can welcome you back in the future, and maybe explore some more of the Welsh countryside and coastline.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed earlier this month during the fabulous spell of weather. The hotel was very comfortable with with sumptuous gardens. Each evening (we were there for four nights) started with drinks on the terrace watching the light change. The food was delicious and staff very helpful. We took a picnic provided by the hotel on two days and amonst other things, enjoyed the gold mines and the beaches.

Our little fur baby enjoyed his holiday too and took his first paddle ever at New Quay!

Try and get a package offer, we did and it was fantastic! The best staycation in a long time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire_Cyclist01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at The Falcondale for your staycation; and thank you for taking time out in making a review.

Our 4 day explorer package is ideal for a midweek break or long weekend, and offers great value with dinner, packed lunches and tickets to Llanerchaeron National Trust Property. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed this package.

We hope that we can welcome you (and your fur baby) back to the Falcondale soon.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We live in nearby Pembrokeshire and visited for one night with a Groupon voucher. We had n't heard anything about this hotel so what a lovely surprise we had when we drove up the long driveway. Not only is it a very imposing building outside but also it is quite unique inside with the splendour of the past on show and the grounds are very beautiful with all the rhododendrons in bloom. Our room was huge and well maintained with a view across the gardens and an amazing tree outside( wondered what it was). We struggled through the 7 course taster meal which was delicious, very filling and the presentation of each course was in itself a work of art. The staff were all friendly and polite which is not always the case in some of the big hotel chains. Will certainly recommend a visit to friends and family and I hope we can return for a longer stay to this first class hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Rita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We greatly appreciate you taking "time-out" of your busy lives to review us on Tripadvisor. Adam (our gardener) puts in a lot of effort to make the lawns, shrubs and woodland as picture perfect as possible. The rhododendrons and azaleas this year are particularly beautiful as due to the weather they've all bloomed at the same time.

Being that you are relatively near to us here at Falcondale, we hope that now you've found us we will be able to welcome you back on a regular basis.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Falcondale is located in a lovely rural situation on the outskirts of the rather nondescript town of Lampeter but less than 30 minutes drive from the pretty coastal town of Aberaeron on Cardigan Bay. So it is a good base for touring that part of west Wales.

The hotel itself is fine for a short break particularly if you take advantage of the special deals on offer through Groupon etc. My wife and I had a good value overnight stay which included an enjoyable 7 course tasting menu for dinner and full Welsh breakfast the following morning. Whilst we thought the tasting menu was interesting and imaginative, we would have felt short changed if we had paid the usual rate of £67-50 per person for the experience. It was definitely not worth that sort of money and the al a carte menu looked to be much better value.

The rooms are comfortable and well proportioned with all the amenities you might need, including a king sized bed. The staff are friendly and attentive and make you feel at home. All in all we enjoyed our stay and found it very easy to relax and unwind in the Falcondale.

Room Tip: Ask for a "better" room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for making time to write a review on Tripadvisor. Your comments (whether positive or negative) are a way for us to monitor and take action in areas as required. When comparing ourselves to other places of the same standard we believe we are on the lower end of the price scale, but still understand that to some people we can still appear to be expensive and so we will continue to monitor.

On the other hand, we are happy to hear that enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to unwind and relax in the manner that we hope all our guests are able to do.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
10.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
226 reviews
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
329 reviews
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
571 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
472 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range: $163 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing