We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Falcondale Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Falcondale for two nights on a Groupon offer. The traditional-style hotel is set within lovely gardens surrounded by trees, perfect for a short walk on a warm evening. We had the tasting menu on the first night, and this was imaginative and every course was cooked to perfection. If I had to find fault it was that the dessert was a little larger than necessary after several courses! The bedroom was spacious and comfortable, with nice little touches such as a reading light in the bedside table drawer for those who wish to read without disturbing their partner. There are several lounges in which to relax, and a conservatory with a lovely view over the countryside. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to mid-Wales. Quiet, relaxing, delightful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you sheena6 for choosing to stay at The Falcondale, and for your great review. It is greatly appreciated by the whole team.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back in the future.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
There are newer reviews for The Falcondale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 730 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

I had a great weekend - the room was very clean and comfortable - four poster bed and all the trimmings. The staff could not have been more helpful and attentive. The food was excellent. I had read on previous reviews about the quality of the Sunday Lunch, so I stayed on the Sunday until after lunch and it was well worth the wait.
Excellent roast beef - I could not have done it better myself.

Room Tip: I can certainly recommend 19 with the four-poster bed.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you Jane Williamson to The Falcondale last week, and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (as well as Sunday lunch).

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Diolch yn fawr,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a Groupon offer at the hotel, two nights stay, afternoon tea and the 7 course taster menu.

The hotel was literally in the middle of nowhere, with beautiful gardens surrounding the property. It was a very relaxing first afternoon just sat under a tree reading!

The room was great with an amazing view over the gardens and valleys with the sound of sheep and nothing else in the distance! The windows opened fully so you could sit on the window seat and relax....

There was a lovely hospitality tray on arrival, homemade biscotti and a variety of teas and coffees - the coffee was a cafetiere with proper filter coffee in an individual bag!

Cake and scones were lovely, served on the terrace and the staff couldn't have been more attentive.

The 7 course taster menu was brilliant, service was quick and efficient. The only complaint here is that the waitress couldn't tell me what the lovely sauce I was eating on on one course, so I will never know what I was eating now!

After a great nights sleep the breakfast buffet was amazing, quick service, perfectly poached eggs, and again great attention to detail - with recommendations for the day out and where to go.

The only minor complaint we had with the hotel itself was the finishing details with housekeeping after the first night. Little things could have made this the perfect trip, like putting the throw back on the bed, refilling the empty tissue box in the bathroom more of the little homemade biscuits etc. If these things were done it would have been a six star experience (!!).

Would go back every Summer in a heartbeat, it was a wonderful relaxing few days in the mountains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesCross1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you very much "Jamescross1981" for your review, it is greatly appreciated.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us (barring small niggles - which is already being addressed), and hope that we can welcome you back to the mountains of Wales in the future.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Falcondale Hotel.
It was our second visit and I hope it won't be our last!
If you want a relaxing time in a beautiful part of the South Wales countryside with excellent food, then this is the place to go.
The hotel is large and spacious, it has a lot of history and is decorated in a tasteful style. Our room was lovely with a stunning view of the surrounding countryside. There was a king size comfortable bed with good quality bedding and plenty of lighting. It was spotlessly clean , and showed attention to details, with the usual kettle etc there was a cafetiere with freshly ground coffee, a little night light, bathrobes, and extra bath accessories plus thick good quality bath sheets.
We had afternoon tea of delicious scones, jam, cream and shortbread biscuits and as we were celebrating a birthday we washed it down with some prosecco, whilst sitting in the consevatory overlooking the lush countryside.
In the evening we had the 7 course taster menu; canapes, asparagus soup. cheese souffle, poached egg and asparagus, sorbet, lamb and finally a dessert of icecream, panacotta and rhubarb, superb!
The hotel staff and the owner were so friendly and welcoming without being intrusive.
I was only sorry that we were staying for one night and I hope it won't be too long before we return.

Room Tip: Our room was excellent but if you ask for a superior room you can have a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magandjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Thank you "magandjohn1" for returning to The Falcondale, and for you fantastic comments.

To clarify - we have 4 of what we call our "best rooms", two of which have Juliet balconies, 1 has a four poster bed, another has a little sitting room, three have 6foot6 beds. So, all are a little bit different.

Next time you stay with us, maybe you should try a different room?

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just had one night at the Falcondale the hotel is beautiful in an amazing setting and the food delicious.Staff were friendly and helpful without being over powering.We left feeling like we had relaxed for a week, thankyou.Hope to return.

Room Tip: Room 12, to die for views, bed so comfy
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phrfarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We hope that we can provide another relaxing stay in the near future.

Diolch,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just spent a wonderful weekend for my wedding anniversary at this fantastic hotel . From our arrival we were made to feel at home , staff were attentive and very friendly . Room was great and view down valley was brilliant . Restaurant was wonderful , seven course taster menu was lovely .will be returning !!!!,

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Falcondale to spend your anniversary, and for your fabulous comments - it is very much appreciated by the whole team. We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Diolch,
Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We only had to phone this hotel to realise it would be imbued with quality and excellent service. The welcome was warm and encouranging with Mel at reception greeting us like old friends, nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious, with separate sitting room, and offered views of the long driveway and splendid gardens with rhododendrons and blue-bells in flower. During the night the silence was only broken by hooting of owls and the calling of sheep. The restaurant offered an excellent choice, the food equalling that of high class, expensive, London establishments, with service being extremely prompt, polite and informative. The hotel is dog friendly with plenty of long walks around the beautiful grounds, or into the village. For a couple wanting to peaceful break in the silence of the Welsh countryside, we cannot recommend this hotel enough as its location is secon to none!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the gardens is recommended, but most rooms seem to have a lovely view. Use the ma...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcondale_Hotel, Front Office Manager at The Falcondale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you david_e for your great feedback, it is greatly appreciated by the whole team. We are delighted that you enjoyed the quiet peaceful location and that you felt welcomed. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards,

Meleri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lampeter
10.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
225 reviews
9.7 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
329 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
568 reviews
17.0 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
510 reviews
17.1 mi away
The Cawdor
The Cawdor
#2 of 3 in Llandeilo
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falcondale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falcondale Hotel

Address: Falcondale Drive, Lampeter SA48 7RX, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Lampeter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lampeter
Price Range: $160 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Falcondale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falcondale hotel and 2AA rosette restaurant near the University town of Lampeter is only 30 minutes from the coastal villages of Cardigan Bay and hilly, marshy regions of the Cambrian Mountains. A wealth of walking, cycling, fishing, and open gardens within easy reach of this central location in Wales. Why not visit the local National Trust before sinking into a warm, comfy sofa in the lounge with a glass, or two, of wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Falcondale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lampeter
Lampeter Best Western
The Falcondale Hotel Lampeter, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing